Ecological stoichiometry and the spatial distributions and temporal dynamics of arthropods

Principal Investigators:

Diane W. Davidson, and William F. Fagan

Stoichiometry, the study of the balance of multiple elements in living systems, is increasingly recognized as an integrative axis within ecology and across biological disciplines. We seek to characterize a series of little-explored links between stoichiometry and the spatial distributions and temporal dynamics of arthropods. These issues lie at the interface of macroecology and macrophysiology. We focus on four arthropod groups where different stoichiometric mechanisms likely help determine species-level spatial distributions and/or temporal dynamics.... more

Participants and Meetings

Working Group Participants
ActivityDatesFurther Information
Working Group9th—15th May 2006Participant List  
Graduate Student1st June 2006—31st January 2007Participant List  
Working Group12th—16th February 2007Participant List  

Participant Contact Information

Pedro Barbosapbarbosa@umd.eduUniversity of Maryland, College Park
Keith Eshlemaneshleman@al.umces.eduUniversity of Maryland Center for Environmental Science
William F. Faganbfagan@glue.umd.eduUniversity of Maryland, College Park
Peter Hambä University
Yun State University
Yang Kuangkuang@asu.eduArizona State University
Andrew M. Liebholdaliebhold@gmail.comUSDA Forest Service
Eric Lindelind@umd.eduUniversity of Maryland, College Park
Holly M. Martinsonhmartins@umd.eduUniversity of Maryland, College Park
Akiko Satakeasatake@princeton.eduPrinceton University
Katie Schneiderktschneider@gmail.comUniversity of Maryland, College Park
Hao State University
Steven Cookcook@biology.utah.eduUniversity of Utah
Diane W. Davidsondavidson@biology.utah.eduUniversity of Utah
Terrence McGlynnterry.mcglynn@gmail.comUniversity of San Diego
Todd M. Palmertmpalmer@zoo.ufl.eduUniversity of Florida

Products: Publications, Reports, Datasets, Presentations, Visualizations

TypeProducts of NCEAS Research
Journal Article Fagan, William F.; Frithjof, Lutscher; Schneider, Katie. 2007. Population and community consequences of spatial subsidies derived from central-place foraging. American Naturalist. Vol: 107. Pages 902-915.
Data Set Fagan, William F. 2008. Detritivory: stoichiometry of a neglected trophic level data. (Online version)
Data Set Fagan, William F. 2008. Ecological stoichiometry and the spatial distributions and temporal dynamics of arthropods. (Online version)
Journal Article Hambäck, Peter; Gilbert, James; Schneider, Katie; Martinson, Holly M.; Kolb, Gundula; Fagan, William F. 2009. Effects of body size, trophic mode and larval habitat on Diptera stoichiometry: A regional comparison. Oikos. Vol: 118. Pages 615-623. (Online version)
Journal Article Martinson, Holly M.; Schneider, Katie; Gilbert, James; Hines, Jessica E.; Hambäck, Peter; Fagan, William F. 2008. Detritivory: Stoichiometry of a neglected trophic level. Ecological Research. Vol: 23. Pages 487-491.
"Ecological stoichiometry and the spatial distributions and temporal dynamics of arthropods" is project ID: 10421