Meta-analysis in ecology: Lessons, challenges and future

Principal Investigators:

Julia Koricheva, and Jessica Gurevitch

Meta-analysis represents a set of statistical methods for quantitative research synthesis developed in medicine and social sciences in late 1970s and introduced to ecology in early 1990s. It provides a more objective and informative alternative to narrative reviews and "vote-counting" approaches traditionally used for research synthesis in ecology. Despite its great potential in addressing both basic and applied research questions, the progress in meta-analytic applications in ecology is still hindered by the limited availability of meta-analytic... more

Participants and Meetings

Working Group Participants
ActivityDatesFurther Information
Working Group5th—8th May 2006Participant List  
Working Group2nd—5th November 2006Participant List  
Working Group28th April—1st May 2007Participant List  
Working Group9th—13th February 2008Participant List  

Participant Contact Information

Isabelle M. Coteimcote@sfu.caSimon Fraser University
Peter Curtiscurtis.7@osu.eduOhio State University
Jessica Gurevitchjgurvtch@life.bio.sunysb.eduState University of New York (SUNY), Stony Brook
Larry Hedgesl-hedges@northwestern.eduNorthwestern University
Michael Jennionsmichael.jennions@anu.edu.auAustralian National University
Julia Korichevajulia.koricheva@rhul.ac.ukRoyal Holloway, University of London
Marc J. Lajeunessemjl63@cornell.eduCornell University
Joseph Laujlau1@tufts-nemc.orgTufts Medical Center/New England Medical Center
Christopher J. Lortiechris@christopherlortie.infoUniversity of Nevada, Reno
Kerrie Mengersenk.mengersen@qut.edu.auQueensland University of Technology
Ransom A. MyersDalhousie University
Michael S. Rosenbergmsr@asu.eduArizona State University
Christopher Schmidcschmid@tufts-nemc.orgTufts Medical Center/New England Medical Center
Hannah Rothsteinhannah_rothstein@baruch.cuny.eduBaruch College
Gavin Stewartg.stewart@bangor.ac.ukUniversity of Birmingham

Products: Publications, Reports, Datasets, Presentations, Visualizations

TypeProducts of NCEAS Research
Book Koricheva, Julia; Gurevitch, Jessica; Mengersen, Kerrie. 2013. Handbook of Meta-Analysis in Ecology and Evolution. Edited by Koricheva, Julia; Gurevitch, Jessica; Mengersen, Kerrie Princeton University Press. Princeton. Pages 1-498.
Journal Article Lajeunesse, Marc J. 2009. Meta-analysis and the comparative phylogenetic method. American Naturalist. Vol: 174(3). Pages 369-381. (Online version)
"Meta-analysis in ecology: Lessons, challenges and future" is project ID: 10584