A synthetic approach to the science of ecosystem-based management of coastal marine ecosystems (EBM)

Principal Investigators:

Fiorenza Micheli, and Andrew A. Rosenberg

We will develop a modeling and data integration framework for EBM and apply that framework to a case study from coastal California. By bringing experts in the modeling of natural and human systems together with policy specialists, the working group will develop a policy relevant modeling approach that includes the dynamics of social, biophysical and economic components of the ecosystem and critical feedbacks among them, and an explicit risk assessment component. Then, in collaboration with scientists and managers knowledgeable about the coastal... more

Participants and Meetings

Working Group Participants
ActivityDatesFurther Information
Postdoctoral Fellow25th January 2006—7th February 2009Participant List  
Working Group29th January—1st February 2006Participant List  
Graduate Student1st April—31st August 2006Participant List  
Sabbatical Fellow23rd May—20th September 2006Participant List  
Working Group13th—17th September 2006Participant List  
Working Group27th—30th January 2007Participant List  
Working Group18th—21st June 2007Participant List  
Working Group27th—28th November 2007Participant List  

Participant Contact Information

Carrie V. Kappelkappel@nceas.ucsb.eduUniversity of California, Santa Barbara
Kenneth Broadkbroad@rsmas.miami.eduUniversity of Miami
Daniel R. Brumbaughdbrumbaugh@amnh.orgNOAA, National Marine Fisheries Service (NMFS)
Christopher Costellocostello@bren.ucsb.eduUniversity of California, Santa Barbara
Ronald Eastmanreastman@clarku.eduClark University
Michael J. Fogartymichael.fogarty@noaa.govNOAA, National Marine Fisheries Service (NMFS)
Steven D. Gainesgaines@bren.ucsb.eduUniversity of California, Santa Barbara
Benjamin S. Halpernhalpern@bren.ucsb.eduUniversity of California, Santa Barbara
Salvador Lluch Cotaslluch@cibnor.mxCentro de Investigaciones Biológicas del Noroeste (CIBNOR)
Marc Mangelmsmangel@ucsc.eduUniversity of California, Santa Cruz
Rebecca Martonermartone@stanford.eduStanford University
Susanne Menzels.menzel@fisheries.ubc.caUniversity of York
Fiorenza Michelimicheli@stanford.eduStanford University
G. Chato Osiogiacomo-chato.osio@jrc.ec.europa.euUniversity of New Hampshire
Andrew A. RosenbergUniversity of New Hampshire
James N. Sanchiricojsanchirico@ucdavis.eduResources for the Future
Geoffrey G. Shestergshester@oceana.orgStanford University
David A. Siegeldavey@icess.ucsb.eduUniversity of California, Santa Barbara
Ana Spaldingaspaldin@ucsc.eduUniversity of California, Santa Cruz
Irit Altmanialtman@cisunix.unh.eduUniversity of New Hampshire
Bernardo R. Broitmanbernardo.broitman@gmail.comUniversity of California, Santa Barbara
James R. Watsonjrwatson@princeton.eduUniversity of California, Santa Barbara
Sarah J. Teckteck@lifesci.ucsb.eduUniversity of New Hampshire
Kai M.A. Chankaichan@ires.ubc.caUniversity of British Columbia

Products: Publications, Reports, Datasets, Presentations, Visualizations

TypeProducts of NCEAS Research
Journal Article Baskett, Marissa L.; Nisbet, Roger M.; Kappel, Carrie V.; Mumby, Peter J.; Gaines, Steven D. 2010. Conservation management approaches to protecting the capacity for corals to respond to climate change: A theoretical comparison. Global Change Biology. Vol: 16(4). Pages 1229-1246.
Journal Article Kappel, Carrie V.; Halpern, Benjamin S.; Martone, Rebecca; Micheli, Fiorenza; Selkoe, Kimberly A. 2009. In the zone: Comprehensive ocean protection. Issues in Science and Technology. (Online version)
Journal Article Lenihan, Hunter S.; Micheli, Fiorenza. 2000. Biological effects of shellfish harvesting on oyster reefs: resolving a fishery conflict by ecological experimentation. Fishery Bulletin. Vol: 98(1). Pages 86-95.
Journal Article Menzel, Susanne; Kappel, Carrie V.; Broitman, Bernardo R.; Micheli, Fiorenza; Rosenberg, Andrew A. 2013. Linking human activity and ecosystem condition to inform marine ecosystem based management. Aquatic Conservation-Marine and Freshwater Ecosystems. Pages 1-9. (Online version)
"A synthetic approach to the science of ecosystem-based management of coastal marine ecosystems (EBM)" is project ID: 10681