Synthetic macroecological models of species diversity

Principal Investigators:

Nicholas J. Gotelli, Robert K. Colwell, and Carsten Rahbek

A major unsolved problem in macroecology and biogeography is the origin and maintenance of species richness gradients. Biogeographers are currently divided into three major camps: those who favor historical or phylogenetic mechanisms, those who favor explanations based principally on geographic patterns of contemporary environmental variables, and those who advocate the incorporation of null model approaches. In the existing catalog of simple null models, species¿ geographic ranges are randomized within a bounded domain, producing a middomain effect... more

Participants and Meetings

Working Group Participants
ActivityDatesFurther Information
Working Group6th—8th October 2006Participant List  
Working Group5th—7th October 2007Participant List  
Working Group11th—13th October 2008Participant List  

Participant Contact Information

Hector T. Aritaarita@ecologia.unam.mxUniversidad Nacional Autónoma de México (UNAM)
Robert K. Colwellrobert.colwell@uconn.eduUniversity of Connecticut
Sean R. Connollysean.connolly@jcu.edu.auJames Cook University
David J. Curriedcurrie@uOttawa.caUniversity of Ottawa
Nicholas J. Gotellingotelli@uvm.eduUniversity of Vermont
Gary R. Gravesgravesg@si.eduSmithsonian Institution
Walter Jetzwalter.jetz@yale.eduUniversity of California, San Diego
Kathleen Lyonslyonss2@si.eduOld Dominion University
Anne E. Magurranaem1@st-andrews.ac.ukUniversity of St. Andrews
Christy M. McCainchristy.mccain@colorado.eduUniversity of California, Santa Barbara
Carsten Rahbekcrahbek@bi.ku.dkUniversity of Copenhagen
Thiago Fernando L. Rangelrangel.tf@gmail.comUniversity of Connecticut
Campbell O. Webbcwebb@oeb.harvard.eduHarvard University
Michael R. Willigmichael.willig@uconn.eduUniversity of Connecticut
Anne Chaochao@stat.nthu.edu.twInstitute of Statistics
Robert Dunnrob_dunn@ncsu.eduNorth Carolina State University
Jessica L. Greenjlgreen@uoregon.eduUniversity of Oregon
John A. Grytnesjohn.grytnes@bot.uib.noUniversity of Bergen
Yi-Huei Jiangyihueijiang@gmail.comNational Tsing Hua University
Tom S. Romdaltsromdal@bi.ku.dkUniversity of Copenhagen
Jorge Soberon Mainerojsoberon@ku.eduUniversity of Kansas
Marti J. Andersonm.j.anderson@massey.ac.nzUniversity of Auckland

Products: Publications, Reports, Datasets, Presentations, Visualizations

TypeProducts of NCEAS Research
Journal Article Chao, Anne; Colwell, Robert K.; Lin, Chih-Wei; Gotelli, Nicholas J. 2009. Sufficient sampling for asymptotic minimum species richness estimators. Edited by F. He Ecology. Vol: 90(4). Pages 1125-1133.
Journal Article Colwell, Robert K.; Rangel, Thiago Fernando L. 2010. A stochastic, evolutionary model for range shifts and richness on tropical elevational gradients under Quaternary glacial cycles. Philosophical Transactions of the Royal Society B: Biological Sciences. Vol: 365. Pages 3695-3707. (Online version)
Book Chapter Connolly, Sean R. 2009. Macroecological theory and the analysis of species richness gradients. Edited by Witman, J.; Roy, K. Marine Macroecology. University of Chicago Press. Chicago. Pages 279-309.
Journal Article Gotelli, Nicholas J.; Anderson, Marti J.; Arita, Hector T.; Chao, Anne; Colwell, Robert K.; Connolly, Sean R.; Currie, David J.; Dunn, Robert; Graves, Gary R.; Green, Jessica L.; Grytnes, John A.; Jiang, Yi-Huei; Jetz, Walter; Lyons, Kathleen; McCain, Christy M.; Magurran, Anne E.; Rahbek, Carsten; Rangel, Thiago Fernando L.; Soberon Mainero, Jorge; Webb, Campbell O.; Willig, Michael R. 2009. Patterns and causes of species richness: A general simulation model for macroecology. Ecology Letters. Vol: 12. Pages 873–886.
Journal Article Gotelli, Nicholas J.; Chao, Anne; Colwell, Robert K.; Hwang, Wen-Han; Graves, Gary R. 2012. Specimen-based modeling stopping rules and the extinction of the Ivory-Billed Woodpecker. Conservation Biology. Vol: 26(1). Pages 47-56. (Online version)
"Synthetic macroecological models of species diversity" is project ID: 10941