Tools and fresh approaches for species abundance distributions

Principal Investigators:

Brian McGill, Rampal S. Etienne, and Jessica L. Green

The species abundance distribution (SAD) is a central pattern in ecology and of great importance for basic and applied management questions. Yet, surprisingly little progress has been made in identifying the mechanisms responsible for this fundamental pattern. We identify seven obstacles that have slowed progress in this field of research. We propose a working group that will develop a standardized database of SADs and computer code for analyzing SADs. The working group will publish these for the scientific community at large and also use them to... more

Participants and Meetings

Working Group Participants
ActivityDatesFurther Information
Working Group23rd—30th October 2006Participant List  
Working Group15th—19th October 2007Participant List  
Working Group6th—10th October 2008Participant List  

Participant Contact Information

David Alonsod.alonso@rug.nlUniversity of Michigan
Marti J. Andersonm.j.anderson@massey.ac.nzUniversity of Auckland
Habtamu Kassa Benechah.kassa.benecha@rug.nlUniversity of Groningen/Rijksuniversiteit Groningen
Maria DornelasMaria.Dornelas@jcu.edu.auUnknown
Brian J. Enquistbenquist@email.arizona.eduUniversity of Arizona
Rampal S. Etienner.s.etienne@rug.nlUniversity of Groningen/Rijksuniversiteit Groningen
John S. GrayUniversity of Oslo
Jessica L. Greenjlgreen@uoregon.eduUniversity of California, Merced
Fangliang Hefhe@ualberta.ca
Allen H. Hurlberthurlbert@bio.unc.eduUniversity of California, Santa Barbara
Anne E. Magurranaem1@st-andrews.ac.ukUniversity of St. Andrews
Pablo A. Marquetpmarquet@bio.puc.clPontificia Universidad Católica de Chile
Brian A. Maurermaurerb@msu.eduMichigan State University
Brian McGillmail@brianmcgill.orgMcGill University
Han Olffh.olff@biol.rug.nlUniversity of Groningen/Rijksuniversiteit Groningen
Annette Ostlingaostling@umich.edu
Mutsunori Tokeshitokeshi@ambl-ku.jpKyushu University
Karl I. Uglandkarl.ugland@bio.uio.noUniversity of Oslo
Ethan P. Whiteepwhite@biology.usu.eduUniversity of Arizona
Volker Bahnvolker.bahn@wright.eduMcGill University
Xinsheng HuXinsheng.Hu@afhe.ualberta.caUniversity of Alberta
Helene Morlonmorlon.helene@gmail.comUniversity of Oregon
Salvador Pueyospueyo@ub.eduUniversity of Barcelona
Candan U. Soykancsoykan@mail.sdsu.eduArizona State University
Tommaso Zilliotommaso.zillio@afhe.ualberta.caUniversity of Alberta
David Storchstorch@cts.cuni.czCharles University

Products: Publications, Reports, Datasets, Presentations, Visualizations

TypeProducts of NCEAS Research
Journal Article Alonso, David; Ostling, Annette; Etienne, Rampal S. 2008. The implicit assumption of symmetry and the species abundance distribution. Ecology Letters. Vol: 11. Pages 93-105.
Journal Article Dornelas, Maria; Moonen, Anna Camilla; Magurran, Anne E.; Bàrberi, Paolo. 2009. Species abundance distributions reveal environmental heterogeneity in modified landscapes. Journal of Applied Ecology. Vol: 46. Pages 666-672. (Online version)
Journal Article Dornelas, Maria; Phillip, Dawn A.T.; Magurran, Anne E. 2011. Abundance and dominance become less predictable as species richness decreases. Global Ecology and Biogeography. Vol: 20. Pages 832-841. (Online version)
Journal Article Henderson, Peter A.; Magurran, Anne E. 2010. Linking species abundance distributions in numerical abundance and biomass through simple assumptions about community structure. Proceedings of the Royal Society B: Biological Sciences. Vol: 277(1687). Pages 1561-1570. (Online version)
Journal Article Magurran, Anne E.; Henderson, Jade. 2010. Temporal turnover and the maintenance of diversity in ecological assemblages. Philosophical Transactions of the Royal Society B: Biological Sciences. Vol: 365(1558)+. Pages 3611-3620. (Online version)
Journal Article McGill, Brian; Etienne, Rampal S.; Gray, John S.; Alonso, David; Anderson, Marti J.; Benecha, Habtamu Kassa; Dornelas, Maria; Enquist, Brian J.; Green, Jessica L.; He, Fangliang; Hurlbert, Allen H.; Magurran, Anne E.; Marquet, Pablo A.; Maurer, Brian A.; Ostling, Annette; Soykan, Candan U.; Ugland, Karl I.; White, Ethan P. 2007. Species abundance distributions: Moving beyond single prediction theories to integration within an ecological framework. Ecology Letters. Vol: 10. Pages 995-1015.
Journal Article Morlon, Helene; White, Ethan P.; Etienne, Rampal S.; Green, Jessica L.; Ostling, Annette; Alonso, David; Enquist, Brian J.; He, Fangliang; Hurlbert, Allen H.; Magurran, Anne E.; Maurer, Brian A.; McGill, Brian; Olff, Han; Storch, David; Zillio, Tommaso. 2009. Taking species abundance distributions beyond individuals. Ecology Letters. Vol: 12(6). Pages 488-501.
Journal Article O'Dwyer, James; Lake, Jeffrey K.; Ostling, Annette; Savage, Van M.; Green, Jessica L. 2009. An integrative framework for stochastic, size-structured community assembly. Proceedings of the National Academy of Sciences. Vol: 106(15). Pages 6170-6175. (Online version)
Journal Article Soykan, Candan U.; Lewison, Rebecca L. 2015. Using community-level metrics to monitor the effects of marine protected areas on biodiversity. Conservation Biology. Vol: 29(3). Pages 775-783.
Journal Article Thibault, Katherine M.; White, Ethan P.; Hurlbert, Allen H.; Ernest, S. K. Morgan. 2011. Multimodality in the individual size distributions of bird communities. Global Ecology and Biogeography. Vol: 20. Pages 145-153. (Online version)
"Tools and fresh approaches for species abundance distributions" is project ID: 11121