Governance feasibility of marine ecosystem-based management: A comparative analysis (EBM)

Principal Investigators:

Patrick J. Christie, and Richard Pollnac

The EBM Feasibility NCEAS working group has three main goals: 1) assessing how to modify governance structures to facilitate effective ecosystem-based management (EBM) in developing and developed world contexts; 2) generating practical ecological and social indicators for EBM, and 3) producing analyses and planning materials useful for scientists, EBM practitioners, and policy makers around the world. It will draw together disparate, socio-ecological datasets from the Philippines, Southwestern Africa, the Caribbean, and Hawaii Island to assess EBM... more

Participants and Meetings

Working Group Participants
ActivityDatesFurther Information
Working Group17th—20th November 2006Participant List  
Working Group25th—27th June 2007Participant List  
Working Group17th—19th November 2007Participant List  
Working Group25th—27th September 2008Participant List  
Training Workshop11th—12th December 2009Participant List  

Participant Contact Information

Marina Albertimalberti@u.washington.eduUniversity of Washington
Nygiel B. Armadanbarmada@mozcom.comFisheries Improved for Sustainable Harvest Project
Michael W. Beckmbeck@tnc.orgThe Nature Conservancy
Claudia Capitinicapitini@u.washington.eduUniversity of Washington
Patrick J. Christiepatrickc@u.washington.eduUniversity of Washington
Kevern Cochranekevern.cochrane@fao.orgFood and Agriculture Organization of the United Nations
Liza Eisma-Osorioliza_eismaosorio@yahoo.comCoastal Conservation and Education Foundation
Dave Fluhartyfluharty@u.washington.eduUniversity of Washington
Mark Hixonhixonm@science.oregonstate.eduOregon State University
Gordon K. Lowrylowry@hawaii.eduUniversity of Hawaii, Mānoa
Robin Mahonrmahon@caribsurf.comUniversity of the West Indies
Patrick McConneypatrick.mcconney@cavehill.uwi.eduUniversity of the West Indies
Richard Pollnacpollnacrb@yahoo.comUniversity of Rhode Island
Robert S. Pomeroyrobert.pomeroy@uconn.eduUniversity of Connecticut, Avery Point
Brian Tissottissot@wsu.eduWashington State University, Vancouver
Alan T. Whitealan_white@tnc.orgTetra Tech EM, Inc.
Atanacio T. Almoceraaalmocera@yahoo.comUniversity of the Philippines in the Visayas
Kate Mulvaneykatemulvaney@mail.uri.eduUniversity of Rhode Island
Diana Pietridianap@u.washington.eduUniversity of Washington
Karis Puruncajaskarist@u.washington.eduUniversity of Washington
Leila S. Sievanenleilas@u.washington.eduUniversity of Washington
Theresa Blackblack4@u.washington.eduUniversity of Washington
Steven Waltersswalt826@u.washington.eduUniversity of Washington
Ian Duttonidutton@tnc.orgThe Nature Conservancy
Cirse Gonzalezcirseg@u.washington.eduUniversity of Washington
Jill Harrisj1h1@u.washington.eduUniversity of Washington
Anna Varneyannav4@u.washington.eduUniversity of Washington
Jennifer K. Balchjennifer.balch@colorado.eduUniversity of California, Santa Barbara
Nancy Baronnbaron@compassonline.orgCommunication Partnership for Science and the Sea (COMPASS)
Margaret Connorsconnors@nceas.ucsb.eduUniversity of California, Santa Barbara
Chad Englishcenglish@compassonline.orgCommunication Partnership for Science and the Sea (COMPASS)
William M. Grahammonty.graham@usm.eduDauphin Island Sea Laboratory
Elise F. Granekgraneke@pdx.eduPortland State University
Sally Hackerhackers@science.oregonstate.eduOregon State University
Benjamin S. Halpernhalpern@bren.ucsb.eduUniversity of California, Santa Barbara
Stephanie E. Hamptons.hampton@wsu.eduUniversity of California, Santa Barbara
Christopher Joycecjoyce@npr.orgNational Public Radio
Carrie V. Kappelkappel@nceas.ucsb.eduUniversity of California, Santa Barbara
Christopher J. Kennedyckenned1@uwyo.eduUniversity of Wyoming
Sarah C. Klains.klain@gmail.comUniversity of British Columbia
Carissa J. of Queensland
Emily KnightStanford University
Evamaria W. KochUniversity of Maryland Center for Environmental Science
Jordan Levinelevine.jordan.s@gmail.comUniversity of British Columbia
Elizabeth Neeleyeneeley@compassonline.orgUniversity of Washington
Mary I. O'Connoroconnor@zoology.ubc.caUniversity of California, Santa Barbara
Hugh P. of Queensland
Jai Ranganathanranganathan@nceas.ucsb.eduUniversity of California, Santa Barbara
Jameal Samhourijameal.samhouri@noaa.govNOAA, National Marine Fisheries Service (NMFS)
Kimberly A. Selkoeselkoe@nceas.ucsb.eduUniversity of California, Santa Barbara
Janna Shackeroffjanna.shackeroff@noaa.govUnknown
Erik Stokstadestoksta@aaas.orgAmerican Association for the Advancement of Science, AAAS
Heather Tallishtallis@tnc.orgStanford University
M. Timothy Tinkerttinker@usgs.govUS Geological Survey (USGS) Santa Cruz Field Station
Michael Toddmichael.todd@miller-mccune.comPacific Standard (formally Miller-McCune Magazine)
Allison Winterawinter@eenews.netE & E Publishing, LLC

Products: Publications, Reports, Datasets, Presentations, Visualizations

TypeProducts of NCEAS Research
Journal Article Armada, Nygiel B.; White, Alan T.; Christie, Patrick J. 2009. Managing fisheries resources in Danajon Bank, Bohol, Philippines: An ecosystem-based approach . Coastal Management. Vol: 37(3-4). Pages 308 - 330.
Data Set Christie, Patrick J.; White, Alan T.; Pollnac, Richard. 2007. Marine EBM Governance Data. (Abstract) (Online version)
Journal Article Christie, Patrick J.; Pollnac, Richard; Oracion, Enrique G.; Sabonsolin, Agnes; Diaz, Roxie; Pietri, Diana. 2009. Back to basics: An empirical study demonstrating the importance of local-level dynamics for the success of tropical marine ecosystem-based management . Coastal Management. Vol: 37(3-4). Pages 349-373.
Journal Article Christie, Patrick J.; Pollnac, Richard; Fluharty, Dave; Hixon, Mark; Lowry, Gordon K.; Mahon, Robin; Pietri, Diana; Tissot, Brian; White, Alan T.; Armada, Nygiel B.; Eisma-Osorio, Liza. 2009. Tropical marine EBM feasibility: A synthesis of case studies and comparative analyses. Coastal Management. Vol: 37(3). Pages 374-385.
Journal Article Cochrane, Kevern; Augustyn, C. J.; Fairweather, T.; Japp, David; Kilongo, K.; Iitembu, J.; Moroff, N.; Roux, J. P.; Shannon, L. J.; Van Zyl, B.; Vaz Velho, F. 2009. Benguela current large marine ecosystem: Governance and management for an ecosystem approach to fisheries in the region. Coastal Management. Vol: 37(3-4). Pages 235 - 254.
Journal Article Eisma-Osorio, Liza; Amolo, Rizaller C.; Maypa, Aileen P.; White, Alan T.; Christie, Patrick J. 2009. Scaling up local government initiatives toward ecosystem-based fisheries management in Southeast Cebu Island, Philippines. Coastal Management. Vol: 37(3-4). Pages 291 - 307.
Journal Article Fanning, L.; Mahon, Robin; McConney, Patrick. 2009. Focusing on living marine resource governance: The Caribbean large marine ecosystem and adjacent areas project . Coastal Management. Vol: 37(3-4). Pages 219 - 234.
Book Laffoley, Dan; White, Alan T.; Kilarski, Stacey; Gleason, Mary; Smith, Scott; Llewellyn, Ghislaine; Day, Jon; Hillary, Annie; Wedell, Victoria; Pee, Daphine. 2008. Establishing Resilient Marine Protected Area Networks-Making it Happen. IUCN world Commission on Protected Areas, NOAA, and TNC. Washington DC. Pages 118.
Journal Article Lowry, Gordon K.; White, Alan T.; Christie, Patrick J. 2009. Scaling up to networks of marine protected areas in the Philippines: Biophysical, legal, institutional, and social considerations. Coastal Management. Vol: 37(3-4). Pages 255 - 273 .
Journal Article Pietri, Diana; Christie, Patrick J.; Pollnac, Richard; Diaz, Roxie; Sabonsolin, Agnes. 2009. Information diffusion in two marine protected area networks in the central Visayas region, Philippines. Coastal Management. Vol: 37(3-4). Pages 331 - 348.
Journal Article Pollnac, Richard; Christie, Patrick J. 2009. Introduction: Scaling up to ecosystem-based management--Case studies and comparative analysis. Coastal Management. Vol: 37(3-4). Pages 215 - 218.
Journal Article Pollnac, Richard; Christie, Patrick J.; Cinner, Joshua E.; Dalton, Tracey; Daw, Tim M.; Forrester, Graham E.; Graham, Nicholas A. J.; McClanahan, Timothy R. 2010. Marine Reserves Special Feature: Marine reserves as linked social-ecological systems. Proceedings of the National Academy of Sciences. Vol: 107(43). Pages 18262-18265. (Online version)
Journal Article Pollnac, Richard; Seara, Tarsila. 2011. Factors influencing success of marine protected areas in the Visayas, Philippines as related to increasing protected area coverage. Environmental Management. Vol: 47. Pages 584-592. (Online version)
Journal Article Tissot, Brian; Walsh, William J.; Hixon, Mark. 2009. Hawaiian islands marine ecosystem case study: Ecosystem- and community-based management in Hawaii. Coastal Management. Vol: 37(3-4). Pages 255 - 273.
"Governance feasibility of marine ecosystem-based management: A comparative analysis (EBM)" is project ID: 11281