Measuring ecological, economic and social values of coastal habitats to inform ecosystem-based management of land-sea (EBM)

Principal Investigators:

Elise F. Granek, Shankar Aswani-Canela, Edward B. Barbier, Evamaria W. Koch, and David M. Stoms

The recent Australia cyclone and the 2005 Caribbean hurricane season, coupled with the 2004 tsunami in the Indian Ocean, have stimulated interest in protective services provided by near-shore estuarine, wetland and mangrove habitats. The popular press now links the loss of human life and property to the degradation of interface ecosystems. These events provide a unique opportunity to quantify the value of protective services provided by near-shore vegetated habitats and compare them with economic gains from habitat conversion (e.g. forestry, shrimp... more

Participants and Meetings

Working Group Participants
ActivityDatesFurther Information
Working Group22nd—26th January 2007Participant List  
Working Group17th—21st September 2007Participant List  
Working Group4th—8th February 2008Participant List  
Working Group22nd—26th September 2008Participant List  
Working Group18th—21st March 2010Participant List  

Participant Contact Information

Shankar Aswani-Canelas.aswani@ru.ac.zaUniversity of California, Santa Barbara
David Baelbael0001@umn.eduUniversity of Minnesota
Edward B. Barbierebarbier@uwyo.eduUniversity of Wyoming
Lori A. Cramerlcramer@oregonstate.eduOregon State University
Mark Erdmannmverdmann@attglobal.netConservation International
Elise F. Granekgraneke@pdx.eduPortland State University
Sally Hackerhackers@science.oregonstate.eduOregon State University
Benjamin S. Halpernhalpern@bren.ucsb.eduUniversity of California, Santa Barbara
Carrie V. Kappelkappel@nceas.ucsb.eduUniversity of California, Santa Barbara
Christopher J. Kennedyckenned1@uwyo.eduUniversity of Wyoming
Evamaria W. KochUniversity of Maryland Center for Environmental Science
Stephen Polaskypolasky@umn.eduUniversity of Minnesota, Twin Cities
Jurgenne H. Primaveranykjprim@smartbro.netSoutheast Asian Fisheries Development Center
Denise J. Reeddjreed@uno.eduUniversity of New Orleans
Brian R. Sillimanbrs@ufl.eduUniversity of Florida
David M. Stomsstoms@bren.ucsb.eduUniversity of California, Santa Barbara
Eric Wolanskie.wolanski@aims.gov.auAustralian Institute of Marine Science
Nyawira Muthiganmuthiga@wcs.orgWildlife Conservation Society Kenya
Gerardo Perilloperillo@criba.edu.arInstituto Argentino de Oceanografia
Sarah Freedfreeds@pdx.eduPortland State University

Products: Publications, Reports, Datasets, Presentations, Visualizations

TypeProducts of NCEAS Research
Journal Article Aswani-Canela, Shankar; Christie, Patrick J.; Muthiga, Nyawira; Mahon, Robin; Primavera, Jurgenne H.; Cramer, Lori A.; Barbier, Edward B.; Granek, Elise F.; Kennedy, Christopher J.; Wolanski, Eric; Hacker, Sally. 2012. The way forward with ecosystem-based management in tropical contexts: Reconciling with existing management systems. Marine Policy. Vol: 36(1). Pages 1-10. (Online version)
Journal Article Barbier, Edward B.; Koch, Evamaria W.; Silliman, Brian R.; Hacker, Sally; Wolanski, Eric; Primavera, Jurgenne H.; Granek, Elise F.; Polasky, Stephen; Aswani, Shankar; Cramer, Lori A.; Stoms, David M.; Kennedy, Christopher J.; Bael, David; Kappel, Carrie V.; Perillo, Gerardo; Reed, Denise J. 2008. Coastal ecosystem-based management with nonlinear ecological functions and values. Science. Vol: 319. Pages 321-323. (Online version)
Journal Article Barbier, Edward B.; Koch, Evamaria W.; Silliman, Brian R.; Hacker, Sally; Wolanski, Eric; Primavera, Jurgenne H.; Granek, Elise F.; Polansky, Stephen; Aswani, Shankar; Cramer, Lori A.; Stoms, David M.; Kennedy, Christopher J.; Bael, David; Kappel, Carrie V.; Perillo, Gerardo; Reed, Denise J. 2008. Vegetation's role in coastal protection - Response. Science. Vol: 320. Pages 177.
Journal Article Granek, Elise F.; Polasky, Stephen; Kappel, Carrie V.; Reed, Denise J.; Stoms, David M.; Koch, Evamaria W.; Kennedy, Christopher J.; Cramer, Lori A.; Hacker, Sally; Barbier, Edward B.; Aswani, Shankar; Ruckelshaus, Mary; Perillo, Gerardo; Silliman, Brian R.; Muthiga, Nyawira; Bael, David; Wolanski, Eric. 2010. Ecosystem services as a common language for coastal ecosystem-based management. Conservation Biology. Vol: 24(1). Pages 207-216. (Online version)
Presentations Granek, Elise F.; Ruckelshaus, Mary. 2011. Ecosystem services as a common language for coastal management: A case study of the Puget Sound Partnership. Resilience 2011: Resilience, Innovation and Sustainability: Navigating the complexities of global change, March 2011, Tempe, AZ.
Journal Article Koch, Evamaria W.; Barbier, Edward B.; Silliman, Brian R.; Reed, Denise J.; Perillo, Gerardo; Hacker, Sally; Granek, Elise F.; Primavera, Jurgenne H.; Muthiga, Nyawira; Polasky, Stephen; Halpern, Benjamin S.; Kennedy, Christopher J.; Kappel, Carrie V.; Wolanski, Eric. 2009. Non-linearity in ecosystem services: Temporal and spatial variability in coastal protection. Frontiers in Ecology and the Environment. Vol: 7(1). Pages 29-37.
Journal Article Stoms, David M. 2010. Change in urban land use and associated attributes in the upper San Francisco estuary, 1990-2006. San Francisco Estuary and Watershed Science. Vol: 8(3). San Francisco Estuary and Watershed Science, John Muir Institute of the Environment, UC Davis.
"Measuring ecological, economic and social values of coastal habitats to inform ecosystem-based management of land-sea (EBM)" is project ID: 11341