Biodiversity, conservation and ecosystem services in managed landscapes

Principal Investigators:

Fabrice DeClerck, Heidi Asbjornsen, Juliann E. Aukema, Karen Garrett, Thomas R. Gordon, John Lambrinos, Margaret M. Mayfield, Stacy Philpott, Kimberly N. Russell, and John Tyndall

This Distributed Graduate Seminar (DGS) aims to synthesize current ecological information on the role that biodiversity in agricultural landscapes (agrobiodiversity) plays in providing ecosystem services. In recent years numerous studies aimed at examining the importance of agroecosystems to the conservation of biodiversity have been published. These studies focus on identifying the types of agricultural landscapes, and landscape components that support the greatest levels of biodiversity (Dale, Pearson et al. 1994; Daily, Ehrlich et al. 2001; Horner-Devine,... more

Participants and Meetings

Working Group Participants
ActivityDatesFurther Information
Meeting29th—30th November 2006Participant List  
Meeting14th—18th May 2007Participant List  

Participant Contact Information

Ashley Conrad-Saydahaconrad-saydah@bren.ucsb.eduUniversity of California, Santa Barbara
Fabrice DeClerckf.declerck@cgiar.orgCentro Agronómico Tropical de Investigación y Enseñanza
Karen Garrettkgarrett@ksu.eduKansas State University
Thomas R. Gordontrgordon@ucdavis.eduUniversity of California, Davis
John Lambrinoslambrinj@hort.oregonstate.eduOregon State University
Margaret M. Mayfieldm.mayfield@uq.edu.auUniversity of California, Santa Barbara
Stacy Philpottsphilpot@ucsc.eduUniversity of Toledo
Kimberly N. Russellkrussell@njit.eduAmerican Museum of Natural History
Carolina Alcázar Caicedocalcazar@catie.ac.crCentro Agronómico Tropical de Investigación y Enseñanza
Heidi Asbjornsenhasbjorn@iastate.eduIowa State University
Juliann E. Aukemajaukema@gmail.comUniversity of California, Santa Barbara
Steven J. Chocsteven.choc@utoledo.eduUniversity of Toledo
Daniel T. Daltondaltond@hort.oregonstate.eduOregon State University
Leo Douglaslrd2107@columbia.eduColumbia University
Dan Flynndff2101@columbia.eduColumbia University
Melanie Gogol-Prokuratmgprokurat@ucdavis.eduUniversity of California, Davis
Jason Kreitlerjkreitler@bren.ucsb.eduUniversity of California, Santa Barbara
Peter Lammersplammers@iastate.eduIowa State University
Amy Lerneralerner@umail.ucsb.eduUniversity of California, Santa Barbara
Sara Lopussaralopus@gmail.comUniversity of California, Davis
Kumar P. Mainalikpmainali@gmail.comUniversity of Toledo
Elizabeth Nicholsesn2004@columbia.eduColumbia University
Matthew N. Rousemrouse@ksu.eduKansas State University
Michael Russellrusselmi@hort.oregonstate.eduOregon State University
Jonathan Schrammjschramm@rci.rutgers.eduState University of New Jersey, Rutgers
Nicholas Simpsonfungi@ksu.eduKansas State University
Oliver Soongosoong@bren.ucsb.eduUniversity of California, Santa Barbara
Juan Carlos Suarezjsuarez@catie.ac.crCentro Agronómico Tropical de Investigación y Enseñanza
Mustafa Tufekcioglumtufekci@iastate.eduIowa State University
John Tyndalljtyndall@iastate.eduIowa State University

Products: Publications, Reports, Datasets, Presentations, Visualizations

TypeProducts of NCEAS Research
Journal Article Cheatham, Michelle; Rouse, Matthew N.; Esker, P. D.; Ignacio, S.; Pradel, W.; Raymundo, R.; Sparks, A. H.; Forbes, G. A.; Gordon, Thomas R.; Garrett, Karen. 2009. Beyond yield: Plant disease in the context of ecosystem services. Phytopathology.
Presentations DeClerck, Fabrice. 2009. Conservation of functional diversity in temperate and tropical agricultural landscapes: Patterns and mechanisms at farm and landscape scales. World Congress of Agroforestry , 23-28 August 2009, Nairobi Kenya.
Journal Article Flynn, Dan; Gogol-Prokurat, Melanie; Nogeire, Theresa; Molinari, Nicole; Richers, Barbara; Lin, Brenda; Simpson, Nicholas; Mayfield, Margaret M.; DeClerck, Fabrice. 2009. Loss of functional diversity under land use intensification across multiple taxa. Ecology Letters. Vol: 12. Pages 22-33.
Journal Article Philpott, Stacy; Soong, Oliver; Lowenstein, Jacob; Pulido, Astrid; Lopez, Diego Tobar; Flynn, Dan; DeClerck, Fabrice. 2009. Functional richness and ecosystem services: Bird predation on arthropods in tropical agroecosystems. Ecological Applications. Vol: 19(7). Ecological Society of America. Pages 1858-1867.
"Biodiversity, conservation and ecosystem services in managed landscapes" is project ID: 11923