Distributed graduate seminar - The role of MPAs in ecosystem-based management: Examining the science and politics of an ocean conservation strategy

Principal Investigators:

Robert Pavia, and James Lindholm

Recent reports by the U.S. Commission on Ocean Policy and the Pew Oceans Commission recommend specific actions necessary to drive advances in ocean governance, including the use of marine protected areas (MPAs) as tools for ecosystem-based management. With coastal development, pollution, and resource extraction pressures on MPAs increasing, national and international efforts are focusing on developing MPAs in the context of the ecosystems, both terrestrial and marine, in which they occur.

We will conduct an NCEAS Distributed Graduate Seminar... more

We will conduct an NCEAS Distributed Graduate Seminar dedicated to clarifying the role of MPAs as tools for ecosystem-based management. The National Marine Sanctuary Program, one of the primary MPA management programs in U.S. Federal waters, will serve as a vehicle for this exploration. Graduate students from Hawaii to New Hampshire will examine how our growing scientific understanding of ecosystem processes within MPAs, and evolving ocean-observing capabilities, can allow us to manage MPAs as integral components of the ecosystems in which they reside. collapse

Participants and Meetings

Working Group Participants
ActivityDatesFurther Information
Meeting17th—18th June 2008Participant List  
Meeting7th—9th April 2009Participant List  

Participant Contact Information

Satie Airameairame@bren.ucsb.eduUniversity of California, Santa Barbara
Bradley W. Barrbrad.barr@noaa.govNational Oceanic and Atmospheric Administration (NOAA)
J. Stanley Cobbscobb@uri.eduUniversity of Rhode Island
Dave Fluhartyfluharty@u.washington.eduUniversity of Washington
Benjamin S. Halpernhalpern@bren.ucsb.eduUniversity of California, Santa Barbara
Heather Havenshhavens@marine.usf.eduUniversity of South Florida
Judith D. Lemusjlemus@hawaii.eduUniversity of Hawaii, Mānoa
Jo-Ann C. Leongjoannleo@hawaii.eduUniversity of Hawaii, Mānoa
James Lindholmjames_lindholm@csumb.eduCalifornia State University, Monterey Bay
Mark Lutherluther@marine.usf.eduUniversity of South Florida
Robert Paviabobpavia@uw.eduNational Oceanic and Atmospheric Administration (NOAA)
Alesia Readanread@gmail.comUniversity of New Hampshire
Edward S. Rutherforded.rutherford@noaa.govUniversity of Michigan
Sarah J. Teckteck@lifesci.ucsb.eduUniversity of California, Santa Barbara
Robert R. Warnerwarner@lifesci.ucsb.eduUniversity of California, Santa Barbara
Leslie Abramsonlabramson@bren.ucsb.eduUniversity of California, Santa Barbara
Catherine Bensoncsbenson@umich.eduUniversity of Michigan
Ellen Brodyellen.brody@noaa.govNOAA, National Marine Sanctuary Ann Arbor
Kimo Carvalhokimo.carvalho@noaa.govUniversity of Hawaii
Malia ChowMalia.Chow@noaa.govNational Oceanic and Atmospheric Administration (NOAA)
Chelsea Combest-Friedmancombec@u.washington.eduUniversity of Washington
Jen Dupontjdupont@mail.usf.eduUniversity of South Florida
Katherine Emerykatherine.emery@lifesci.ucsb.eduUniversity of California, Santa Barbara
Erik Franklinerik.franklin@hawaii.eduUniversity of Hawaii
Patty Jaremapatty.jarema@unh.eduUniversity of New Hampshire
Jennifer Johnsonferfina@umich.eduUniversity of Michigan
Stephen L. Katzsteve.katz@wsu.eduNOAA, National Marine Sanctuary Channel Islands
Brian Kellerbrian.keller@noaa.govNOAA, Office of National Marine Sanctuaries
Jeremy M. Kerrjeremy_kerr@csumb.eduCalifornia State University, Monterey Bay
Emily KleinEmily.Klein@unh.eduUniversity of New Hampshire
Ashley Knightashley_knight@csumb.eduCalifornia State University, Monterey Bay
Jamie Mooneymooney.jamieerin@gmail.comUniversity of Washington

Products: Publications, Reports, Datasets, Presentations, Visualizations

This working group has no products yet.
"Distributed graduate seminar - The role of MPAs in ecosystem-based management: Examining the science and politics of an ocean conservation strategy" is project ID: 12179