Linking carbon storage in terrestrial ecosystems with other climate forcing agents: A synthesis allowing for effective carbon dioxide stabilization policies

Principal Investigators:

James T. Randerson, Josep G. Canadell, and Robert B. Jackson

Reforestation, afforestation, and avoided deforestation mitigation options influence climate at local to global scales by mechanisms in addition to their effect on stabilizing atmospheric carbon dioxide levels. In some cases, for example, climate forcing from concurrent changes in albedo, evapotranspiration, and aerosols may have a larger impact regionally and globally than the net effects of greenhouse gases, yet these mechanisms are not accounted for in current policy frameworks such as the Kyoto Protocol. We propose a series of three meetings,... more

Participants and Meetings

Working Group Participants
ActivityDatesFurther Information
Working Group22nd—24th January 2008Participant List  
Working Group27th—29th January 2009Participant List  
Working Group26th—27th January 2010Participant List  

Participant Contact Information

Ray G. Andersonray.anderson@ars.usda.govUniversity of California, Irvine
Roni Avissaravissar@rsmas.miami.eduDuke University
Dennis Baldocchibaldocchi@berkeley.eduUniversity of California, Berkeley
Gordon Bonanbonan@cgd.ucar.eduUniversity Corporation for Atmospheric Research
Ken Caldeirakcaldeira@globalecology.stanford.eduCarnegie Institution
Josep G. Canadellpep.canadell@csiro.auCommonwealth Scientific and Industrial Research Organisation (CSIRO)
Ruth S. DeFriesrd2402@columbia.eduUniversity of Maryland
Robert Dickinsonrobted@eas.gatech.eduUniversity of Arizona
Noah Diffenbaughdiffenbaugh@stanford.eduPurdue University
Christopher B. Fieldcfield@globalecology.stanford.edu
Bruce A. Hungatebruce.hungate@nau.eduNorthern Arizona University
Robert B. Jacksonjackson@duke.eduDuke University
Lara M. Kuepperslkueppers@ucmerced.eduUniversity of California, Merced
Beverly E. Lawbev.law@oregonstate.eduOregon State University
Diane Patakidpataki@uci.eduUniversity of California, Irvine
James T. Randersonjranders@uci.eduUniversity of California, Irvine
George Ban-Weissgeorgebw@stanford.eduStanford University
Kevin Gurneykgurney@purdue.eduPurdue University
Forrest M. Hoffmanforrest@climatemodeling.orgOak Ridge National Laboratory
Sebastiaan Luyssaertsebastiaan.luyssaert@ua.ac.beUniversity of Antwerp
Thomas L. O'Hallorantohalloran@sbc.eduOregon State University
Martin Otteotte@duke.eduDuke University
Long Caolongcao@stanford.eduCarnegie Institution
Yaqiong LuUnknown
Julia Pongratzpongratz@stanford.eduCarnegie Institution
Abigail Swannaswann@atmos.berkeley.eduUniversity of California, Berkeley
Kaiguang Zhaozhaokg@tamu.eduTexas A and M University

Products: Publications, Reports, Datasets, Presentations, Visualizations

TypeProducts of NCEAS Research
Journal Article Anderson, Ray G.; Canadell, Josep G.; Randerson, James T.; Jackson, Robert B.; Hungate, Bruce A.; Baldocchi, Dennis; Ban-Weiss, George; Bonan, Gordon; Caldeira, Ken; Cao, Long; Diffenbaugh, Noah; Gurney, Kevin; Kueppers, Lara M.; Law, Beverly E.; Luyssaert, Sebastiaan; O'Halloran, Thomas L. 2011. Biophysical considerations in forestry for climate protection. Frontiers in Ecology and the Environment. Vol: 9. Pages 174-182. (Online version)
Journal Article Baldocchi, Dennis; Ma, Siyan. 2013. How will land use affect air temperature in the surface boundary layer? Lessons learned from a comparative study on the energy balance of an oak savanna and annual grassland in California, USA. Tellus Series B-Chemical and Physical Meteorology. Vol: 65. Pages 19994.
Journal Article Jackson, Robert B.; Randerson, James T.; Canadell, Josep G.; Anderson, Ray G.; Avissar, Roni; Baldocchi, Dennis; Bonan, Gordon; Caldeira, Ken; Diffenbaugh, Noah; Field, Christopher B.; Hungate, Bruce A.; Jobbagy, Esteban G.; Kueppers, Lara M.; Nosetto, Marcelo D.; Pataki, Diane. 2008. Protecting climate with forests. Environmental Research Letters. Vol: 3. Pages 044006.
Journal Article Lu, Yaqiong; Kueppers, Lara M. 2012. Surface energy partitioning over four dominant vegetation types across the United States in a coupled regional climate model (Weather Research and Forecasting Model 3-Community Land Model 3.5). Journal of Geophysical Research. Vol: 117. Pages D06111. (Online version)
Journal Article Zhao, Kaiguang; Jackson, Robert B. 2014. Biophysical forcings of land-use changes from potential forestry activities in North America. Ecological Monographs. Vol: 84(2). Pages 329-353.
"Linking carbon storage in terrestrial ecosystems with other climate forcing agents: A synthesis allowing for effective carbon dioxide stabilization policies" is project ID: 12182