Data management and analysis tools supporting adaptive management in South African parks

Principal Investigators:

Matthew B. Jones, O. J. Reichman, and Mark P. Schildhauer

Kruger National Park is faced with a challenge common to many research stations where dozens of loosely coordinated monitoring and experimental projects are underway at any time. The main challenge is how to effectively collect, present, and preserve this highly variable collection of scientific data for collaborative and integrative analyses. The Andrew W. Mellon Foundation has supported a partnership between Kruger National Park and the National Center for Ecological Analysis and Synthesis (NCEAS) over the past two years to address this informatics... more

Participants and Meetings

Working Group Participants
ActivityDatesFurther Information
Training Workshop28th April—2nd May 2008Participant List  

Participant Contact Information

Kim Bernardkim@saeon.ac.zaSouth African Environmental Observation Network
Callie Bowdishbowdish@nceas.ucsb.eduNational Center for Ecological Analysis and Synthesis (NCEAS)
Avinash Chuntharpursatavinash@saeon.ac.zaSouth African Environmental Observation Network
Michael Daigledaigle@nceas.ucsb.eduUniversity of California, Santa Barbara
Kevin Drurykevin.drury@bethelcollege.eduUniversity of California, Santa Barbara
Wayne GoschenSouth African Environmental Observation Network
Matthew B. Jonesjones@nceas.ucsb.eduUniversity of California, Santa Barbara
Judith KrugerJudithW@sanparks.orgSouth African National Parks
Ben Leinfelderleinfelder@nceas.ucsb.eduUniversity of California, Santa Barbara
Mark P. Schildhauerschild@nceas.ucsb.eduUniversity of California, Santa Barbara
Nicola Stevensnikki@saeon.ac.zaSouth African Environmental Observation Network

Products: Publications, Reports, Datasets, Presentations, Visualizations

TypeProduct of NCEAS Research
Journal Article Drury, Kevin; Candelaria, J. Fabian. 2008. Using model identification to analyze spatially explicit data with habitat, and temporal, variability. Ecological Modelling. Vol: 214. Pages 305-315.
"Data management and analysis tools supporting adaptive management in South African parks" is project ID: 12193