Pyrogeography - fire's place in earth system science

Principal Investigators:

David Bowman, and Jennifer K. Balch

It is time to rethink the place of fire on Earth. Megafires are currently overwhelming human control, despite huge budgets and mature fire-fighting technologies. There is mounting evidence that, beyond immediate destruction of life and property, landscape fires have long-term effects on global carbon stocks, biodiversity, climate, world economies, and human health. Despite fire's pervasive influence in many disciplines, there is no uniting theory or paradigm concerning the role of biomass burning in Earth science. Moreover, fire has not been satisfactorily... more

Participants and Meetings

;
Working Group Participants
ActivityDatesFurther Information
Working Group19th—23rd April 2010Participant List  
Working Group26th September—1st October 2011Participant List  

Participant Contact Information

Paulo Artaxoartaxo@if.usp.brUniversidade de São Paulo
Jennifer K. Balchjennifer.balch@colorado.eduUniversity of California, Santa Barbara
Michael Birdmichael.bird@jcu.edu.auJames Cook University
William J. Bondwilliam.bond@uct.ac.zaUniversity of Cape Town
David Bowmandavid.bowman@utas.edu.auUniversity of Tasmania
Jean Carlsoncarlson@physics.ucsb.eduUniversity of California, Santa Barbara
Mark Cochranemark.cochrane@sdstate.eduSouth Dakota State University
Carla M. D'Antoniodantonio@es.ucsb.eduUniversity of California, Santa Barbara
Ruth S. DeFriesrd2402@columbia.eduColumbia University
John C. Doyledoyle@cds.caltech.eduCalifornia Institute of Technology
Sandy P. Harrisonsandy.harriosn@mq.edu.auUniversity of Bristol
Fay Johnstonfay.johnston@utas.edu.auUniversity of Tasmania
Jon Keeleyjon_keeley@usgs.govUS Geological Survey (USGS)
Meg A. Krawchukmeg_krawchuk@sfu.caUniversity of California, Berkeley
Christian Kullchristian.kull@arts.monash.edu.auUniversität Bern
John B. Marstonbrad.marston@brown.eduBrown University
Max A. Moritzmmoritz@berkeley.eduUniversity of California, Berkeley
I. Colin Prenticecolin.prentice@mq.edu.auUniversity of Bristol
Stephen J. Pynestephen.pyne@asu.eduArizona State University
Christopher Rooscroos@smu.eduUniversity of South Florida
Andrew C. Scotta.scott@gl.rhul.ac.ukRoyal Holloway, University of London
Navjot S. SodhiNational University of Singapore
Thomas W. Swetnamtswetnam@ltrr.arizona.eduUniversity of Arizona
Guido van der Werfguido.van.der.werf@falw.vu.nlVrije Universiteit
Sally Archibaldsarchibald@csir.co.zaCouncil for Scientific and Industrial Research (CSIR)
Michelle C. Mackmcmack@botany.ufl.eduUniversity of Florida
Jennifer R. Marlonjennmarlon@gmail.comUniversity of Wisconsin, Madison
Shaun Walbridgewalbridge@nceas.ucsb.eduUniversity of California, Santa Barbara
Christian Wellsecwells@usf.eduUniversity of South Florida
Grant Williamsongrant.williamson@utas.edu.auUniversity of Tasmania

Products: Publications, Reports, Datasets, Presentations, Visualizations

TypeProducts of NCEAS Research
Presentations Balch, Jennifer K. 2009. Pyrogeography. Chinese delegation to NCEAS, 28 October 2009.
Presentations Balch, Jennifer K. 2009. Pyrogeography: Fire's place in earth system science. Association for Fire Ecology 4th International Fire Ecology and Management Congress, 1 December 2009.
Journal Article Bond, William J.; Scott, Andrew C. 2010. Fire and the spread of flowering plants in the Cretaceous. New Phytologist. Vol: 188. Pages 1137-1150. (Online version)
Journal Article Bowman, David; Balch, Jennifer K.; Artaxo, Paulo; Bond, William J.; Carlson, Jean; Cochrane, Mark; D'Antonio, Carla M.; DeFries, Ruth S.; Doyle, John C.; Harrison, Sandy P.; Johnston, Fay; Keeley, Jon; Krawchuk, Meg A.; Kull, Christian; Marston, John B.; Moritz, Max A.; Prentice, I. Colin; Roos, Christopher; Scott, Andrew C.; Swetnam, Thomas W.; van der Werf, Guido; Pyne, Stephen J. 2009. Fire in the earth system. Science. Vol: 324. Pages 481-484.
Journal Article Bowman, David; Balch, Jennifer K.; Artaxo, Paulo; Bond, William J.; Cochrane, Mark; D'Antonio, Carla M.; DeFries, Ruth S.; Johnston, Fay; Keeley, Jon; Krawchuk, Meg A.; Kull, Christian; Mack, Michelle C.; Moritz, Max A.; Pyne, Stephen J.; Roos, Christopher; Scott, Andrew C.; Sodhi, Navjot S.; Swetnam, Thomas W. 2011. The human dimension of fire regimes on Earth. Journal of Biogeography. Vol: 38(12). Pages 2223-2236. (Online version)
"Pyrogeography - fire's place in earth system science" is project ID: 12226