Benchmarking ecosystem response models with experimental data from long-term CO2 enrichment experiments

Principal Investigators:

Richard J. Norby, Paul J. Hanson, Yiqi Luo, Ram Oren, and I. Colin Prentice

Ecosystem models have been increasingly incorporated into earth system models to predict climatic and atmospheric dynamics. However, ecosystem models themselves are far from perfect and need continued improvement. We will advance this necessary model improvement using some of the longest and most comprehensive data sets on CO2 impacts on ecosystems from field experiments. Twelve ecosystem process and land surface models, which are being used for predicting terrestrial response to atmospheric and climatic change, will be parameterized with site and... more

Participants and Meetings

Working Group Participants
ActivityDatesFurther Information
Working Group27th—31st October 2008Participant List  
Working Group4th—7th May 2009Participant List  
Working Group13th—17th September 2010Participant List  

Participant Contact Information

Michael C. Dietzedietze@bu.eduUniversity of Illinois, Urbana Champaign
Paul J. Hansonhansonpj@ornl.govOak Ridge National Laboratory
Thomas Hicklerthomas.hickler@senckenberg.deLund University
Atul K. Jainjain1@uiuc.eduUniversity of Illinois, Urbana Champaign
Julian Jenkinsjulian.jenkins@unh.eduUniversity of New Hampshire
Anthony W. Kingkingaw@ornl.govOak Ridge National Laboratory
Yiqi Luoyluo@ou.eduUniversity of Oklahoma
Belinda E. Medlynbmedlyn@bio.mq.edu.auMacquarie University
Richard J. Norbyrjn@ornl.govOak Ridge National Laboratory
Ram Orenramoren@duke.eduDuke University
William J. Partonbillp@nrel.colostate.eduColorado State University
I. Colin Prenticecolin.prentice@mq.edu.auUniversity of Bristol
M. Lynn Tharptharpml@ornl.govCOMPSCI Consulting LLC
Peter E. Thorntonthorntonpe@ornl.govOak Ridge National Laboratory
Shusen Wangshuwang@nrcan.gc.caNatural Resources Canada
Victoria Wittigwittig@illinois.eduUniversity of Illinois, Urbana Champaign
Sönke Zaehlesoenke.zaehle@bgc-jena.mpg.deMax-Planck Institute for Biogeochemisty
Stephen Del Grossodelgro@nrel.colostate.eduUS Department of Agriculture (USDA)
David W. Kicklighterdkick@mbl.eduEcosystems Center
Ensheng Wengesweng@ou.eduUniversity of Oklahoma
Anthony P. Walkerwalkerap@ornl.govUniversity of Sheffield
Ying-Ping Wangyingping.wang@csiro.auCommonwealth Scientific and Industrial Research Organisation (CSIRO)
David Warlinddavid.warlind@nateko.lu.seLund University
Yuanhe Yangyhyang@ou.eduUniversity of Oklahoma

Products: Publications, Reports, Datasets, Presentations, Visualizations

TypeProducts of NCEAS Research
Presentations De Kauwe, Martin G.; Medlyn, Belinda E.; Dietze, Michael C.; Hanson, Paul J.; Hickler, Thomas; Jain, Atul K.; Luo, Yiqi; Norby, Richard J.; Oren, Ram; Parton, William J.; Prentice, I. Colin; Thornton, Peter E.; Walker, Anthony P.; Wang, Ying-Ping; Wang, Shusen; Warlind, David; Weng, Ensheng; Zaehle, Sönke. 2012. Water use and water use efficiency at elevated CO2: A model-data intercomparison at two contrasting temperate forest FACE sites. American Geophysical Union annual meeting, December 2012, San Francisco, CA.
Journal Article De Kauwe, Martin G.; Medlyn, Belinda E.; Zaehle, Sönke; Walker, Anthony P.; Dietze, Michael C.; Hickler, Thomas; Jain, Atul K.; Luo, Yiqi; Parton, William J.; Prentice, I. Colin; Smith, Benjamin; Thornton, Peter E.; Wang, Shusen; Wang, Ying-Ping; Warlind, David; Weng, Ensheng; Crous, Kristine Y.; Ellsworth, David S.; Hanson, Paul J.; Kim, Hyun-Seok; Warren, Jeffrey M.; Oren, Ram; Norby, Richard J. 2013. Forest water use and water use efficiency at elevated CO2: A model-data intercomparison at two contrasting temperate forest FACE sites. Global Change Biology. Vol: 19. Pages 1759-1779. (Online version)
Journal Article De Kauwe, Martin G.; Medlyn, Belinda E.; Zaehle, Sönke; Walker, Anthony P.; Dietze, Michael C.; Wang, Ying-Ping; Luo, Yiqi; Jain, Atul K.; El-Masri, Bassil; Hickler, Thomas; Warlind, David; Weng, Ensheng; Parton, William J.; Thornton, Peter E.; Wang, Shusen; Prentice, I. Colin; Asao, Shinichi; Smith, Benjamin; McCarthy, Heather; Iversen, Colleen M.; Hanson, Paul J.; Warren, Jeffrey M.; Oren, Ram; Norby, Richard J. 2014. Where does the carbon go? A model-data intercomparison of vegetation carbon allocation and turnover processes at two temperate forest free-air CO2 enrichment sites. New Phytologist. Vol: 203(3). Pages 883-899.
Journal Article Hickler, Thomas; Rammig, Anja; Werner, Christian. 2015. Modelling CO2 Impacts on Forest Productivity. Current Forestry Reports. Vol: 1. Pages 69-80.
Presentations Norby, Richard J. 2012. Model synthesis of data from free-air CO2 enrichment experiments. American Geophysical Union annual meeting, December 2012, San Francisco, CA.
Presentations Walker, Anthony P.; De Kauwe, Martin G.; Medlyn, Belinda E.; Dietze, Michael C.; Hanson, Paul J.; Hickler, Thomas; Jain, Atul K.; Luo, Yiqi; Norby, Richard J.; Oren, Ram; Parton, William J.; Prentice, I. Colin; Thornton, Peter E.; Wang, Ying-Ping; Wang, Shusen; Warlind, David; Weng, Ensheng; Zaehle, Sönke. 2011. FACE modelling in Tennessee & North Carolina. 3rd International iLEAPS Science Conference, September 2011, Garmisch-Partenkirschen, Germany.
Presentations Walker, Anthony P.; Zaehle, Sönke; Asao, Shinichi; De Kauwe, Martin G.; Dietze, Michael C.; Hanson, Paul J.; Hickler, Thomas; Jain, Atul K.; Luo, Yiqi; McCarthy, Heather; Medlyn, Belinda E.; Parton, William J.; Thornton, Peter E.; Wang, Shusen; Wang, Ying-Ping; Warlind, David; Weng, Ensheng; Oren, Ram; Norby, Richard J. 2012. Climatic drivers of variability in the response of NPP to elevated C02: A model-data comparison at two FACE sites in the south eastern US . American Geophysical Union Fall meeting, poster, December 2012, San Francisco, CA.
Presentations Walker, Anthony P.; De Kauwe, Martin G.; Dietze, Michael C.; Hanson, Paul J.; Hickler, Thomas; Jain, Atul K.; Luo, Yiqi; Norby, Richard J.; Oren, Ram; Parton, William J.; Thornton, Peter E.; Wang, Ying-Ping; Warlind, David; Weng, Ensheng; Zaehle, Sönke. 2013. A model-data synthesis of ecosystem responses to elevated CO2 at two FACE sites in the south eastern US. 4th NACP All Investigators meeting, February 2013, Albuquerque, NM.
Presentations Zaehle, Sönke. 2010. How robust are responses of carbon-nitrogen cycle models to increasing atmospheric CO2 and climatic changes?. AIMES Open Science Conference, May 2010, Edinburgh, UK.
Journal Article Zaehle, Sönke; Medlyn, Belinda E.; De Kauwe, Martin G.; Walker, Anthony P.; Dietze, Michael C.; Hickler, Thomas; Luo, Yiqi; Wang, Ying-Ping; El-Masri, Bassil; Thornton, Peter E.; Jain, Atul K.; Wang, Shusen; Warlind, David; Weng, Ensheng; Parton, William J.; Iversen, Colleen M.; Gallet-Budynek, Anne; McCarthy, Heather; Finzi, Adrien; Hanson, Paul J.; Prentice, I. Colin; Oren, Ram; Norby, Richard J. 2014. Evaluation of 11 terrestrial carbon-nitrogen cycle models against observations from two temperate Free-Air CO2 Enrichment studies. New Phytologist. Vol: 202. Pages 803-822.
"Benchmarking ecosystem response models with experimental data from long-term CO2 enrichment experiments" is project ID: 12253