Integrated history and future of people on Earth (IHOPE): Building a community data base and testing the resilience - sustainability hypothesis across scales

Principal Investigators:

Robert Costanza, Lisa J. Graumlich, and Sander E. van der Leeuw

Understanding the reasons for the emergence, sustainability, decline, or collapse of human societies is a key prerequisite for creating a sustainable and desirable future. A central hypothesis is that the probability of societal collapse, or failure increases with loss of resilience in social-ecological systems. The proposed working group will assemble integrated environmental and human historical data at the global scale for comparative analysis and for a few key case study areas for dynamic analysis in order to help build this understanding. We... more

Participants and Meetings

Working Group Participants
ActivityDatesFurther Information
Working Group10th—13th November 2008Participant List  
Working Group23rd—26th September 2009Participant List  
Working Group15th—18th September 2010Participant List  

Participant Contact Information

Steve Aulenbachsaulenbach@neoninc.org
Simon Brewerbrewersi@gmail.comUniversity of Wyoming
Michael Burekmburek@ucar.eduNational Center for Atmospheric Research
Sarah Cornellsarah.cornell@bristol.ac.ukUniversity of Bristol
Robert Costanzarobert.costanza@anu.edu.auUniversity of Vermont
Carole Crumleycrumley@email.unc.eduUniversity of North Carolina
John Dearingj.dearing@soton.ac.ukUniversity of Southampton
Catherine Downycat.downy@bristol.ac.ukUniversity of Bristol
Carl Folkecarl.folke@beijer.kva.seStockholm University
Lisa J. Graumlichenvdean@uw.eduUniversity of Arizona
Michelle Hegmonmichelle.hegmon@asu.eduArizona State University
Kathy A. Hibbardkathy.hibbard@pnl.govNational Center for Atmospheric Research
Stephen T. Jacksonstjackson@usgs.govUniversity of Wyoming
Ida Kubiszewskiida.kub@gmail.comUniversity of Vermont
Rik Leemansrik.leemans@wur.nlWageningen University
Charles Redmancharles.redman@asu.eduArizona State University
Paul Sinclairpaul.sinclair@arkeologi.uu.seUppsala University
Sverker Sorlinsorlin@kth.seRoyal Institute of Technology
Will Steffenwill.steffen@anu.edu.auAustralian National University
Sander E. van der Leeuwvanderle@asu.eduArizona State University
David Christiandgchrist@mail.sdsu.edu
Cutler Clevelandcutler@bu.eduBoston University
Joel D. Gunnjdgunn@uncg.eduUniversity of North Carolina, Greensboro
Elinor Ostromostrom@indiana.eduIndiana University
Vernon Scarboroughscarbovl@ucmail.uc.eduUniversity of Cincinnati
David W. Schimeldavid.schimel@jpl.nasa.govNational Center for Atmospheric Research
Paul Wardep.warde@uea.ac.ukUniversity of East Anglia
Stephan Barthelstephan.barthel@beijer.kva.seStockholm University
David Clevelandcleveland@es.ucsb.eduUniversity of California, Santa Barbara
Scott Heckbertscott.heckbert@csiro.auCSIRO Sustainable Ecosystems

Products: Publications, Reports, Datasets, Presentations, Visualizations

TypeProducts of NCEAS Research
Journal Article Cornell, Sarah; Costanza, Robert; Sorlin, Sverker; van der Leeuw, Sander E. 2010. Developing a systematic 'science of the past' to create our future. Global Environmental Change. Vol: 20. Pages 426-427.
Report or White Paper Costanza, Robert; van der Leeuw, Sander E.; Hibbard, Kathy A.; Aulenbach, Steve; Brewer, Simon; Burek, Michael; Cornell, Sarah; Crumley, Carole; Dearing, John; Folke, Carl; Graumlich, Lisa J.; Hegmon, Michelle; Heckbert, Scott; Jackson, Stephen T.; Kubiszewski, Ida; Scarborough, Vernon; Sinclair, Paul; Sorlin, Sverker; Steffen, Will. 2010. Developing an integrated history and future of people on Earth (IHOPE): Research Plan. Pages 1-40.
Journal Article Costanza, Robert; van der Leeuw, Sander E.; Hibbard, Kathy A.; Aulenbach, Steve; Brewer, Simon; Burek, Michael; Cornell, Sarah; Crumley, Carole; Dearing, John; Folke, Carl; Graumlich, Lisa J.; Hegmon, Michelle; Heckbert, Scott; Jackson, Stephen T.; Kubiszewski, Ida; Scarborough, Vernon; Sinclair, Paul; Sorlin, Sverker; Steffen, Will. 2012. Developing an integrated history and future of people on earth (IHOPE). Current Opinion in Environmental Sustainability. Vol: 4. Pages 106-114.
Journal Article Kubiszewski, Ida; Cleveland, Cutler. 2007. The encyclopedia of earth. D-Lib Magazine. Vol: 13(7/8).
Journal Article van der Leeuw, Sander E.; Costanza, Robert; Aulenbach, Steve; Brewer, Simon; Burek, Michael; Cornell, Sarah; Crumley, Carole; Dearing, John; Downy, Catherine; Graumlich, Lisa J.; Heckbert, Scott; Hegmon, Michelle; Hibbard, Kathy A.; Jackson, Stephen T.; Kubiszewski, Ida; Sinclair, Paul; Sorlin, Sverker; Steffen, Will. 2011. Toward an integrated history to guide the future. Ecology and Society. Vol: 16(4). Pages art2-art2. (Online version)
"Integrated history and future of people on Earth (IHOPE): Building a community data base and testing the resilience - sustainability hypothesis across scales" is project ID: 12259