Developing an integrated botanical information network to investigate the ecological impacts of global climate change on plant biodiversity

Principal Investigators:

Brian J. Enquist, Brad Boyle, Richard Condit, Steven Dolins, and Robert K. Peet

Many of the major questions in ecology span enormous geographic and temporal scales, yet much ecological knowledge is still based on observations of individual investigators conducted at single locales, often covering scales of only a few hundred square meters. Understanding ecological patterns and predicting future changes, including those caused by human impact, necessitates a holistic approach covering large spatial scales, and this will only be achieved by identifying, retrieving, and synthesizing diverse data from distributed sources: heterogeneous... more

Participants and Meetings

Working Group Participants
ActivityDatesFurther Information
Working Group8th—12th December 2008Participant List  
Working Group8th—11th December 2009Participant List  
Working Group6th—10th December 2010Participant List  
Working Group24th—28th October 2011Participant List  
Working Group27th—30th November 2012Participant List  

Participant Contact Information

Sandy J. Andelmansandelman@conservation.orgConservation International
Brad Boylebboyle@email.arizona.eduUniversity of Arizona
Jeannine M. Cavender-Barescavender@umn.eduUniversity of Minnesota, Twin Cities
Richard Conditconditr@gmail.comSmithsonian Tropical Research Institute
Doug Dalyddaly@nybg.orgNew York Botanical Garden
Steven Dolinssdolins@bradley.eduBradley University
Brian J. Enquistbenquist@email.arizona.eduUniversity of Arizona
Karla Gendlergendlerk@iplantcollaborative.orgUniversity of Arizona
Peter Jorgensenpeter.jorgensen@mobot.orgMissouri Botanical Garden
Gabriela Lopez-Gonzalezg.lopez-gonzalez@leeds.ac.ukUniversity of Leeds
Yadvinder Malhiyadvinder.malhi@ouce.ox.ac.ukUniversity of Edinburgh
Brian McGillmail@brianmcgill.orgUniversity of Arizona
Naia Morueta-Holmemorueta.holme@biology.au.dkAarhus University
Robert K. Peetpeet@unc.eduUniversity of North Carolina, Chapel Hill
Oliver Phillipso.phillips@leeds.ac.ukUniversity of Leeds
Mark P. Schildhauerschild@nceas.ucsb.eduUniversity of California, Santa Barbara
Lindsey L. Sloatllsloat@email.arizona.eduUniversity of Arizona
Jens-Christian Svenningsvenning@biology.au.dkAarhus University
Nathan G. Swensonswensonn@msu.eduHarvard University
Hans ter Steegeh.tersteege@bio.uu.nlUniversiteit Utrecht
Barbara Thiersbthiers@nybg.orgNew York Botanical Garden
Corine Vriesendorpcvriesendorp@fieldmuseum.orgField Museum
Susan K. Wiserwisers@landcareresearch.co.nzLandcare Research
Barbara H. Dobrindobrinb@email.arizona.eduUniversity of Arizona
John C. Donoghuedonoghue@email.arizona.eduUniversity of Arizona
Zhenyuan Luluj@cshl.eduUSDA Agricultural Research Service (ARS)
Sheldon McKaymckays@email.arizona.eduUniversity of Arizona
Jeff E. Ottjeott@email.unc.eduUniversity of North Carolina, Chapel Hill
William Pielwilliam.piel@yale.eduYale University
Cyrille Viollecyrille.violle@cefe.cnrs.frUniversity of Arizona
Steve Goffsgoff@iplantcollaborative.orgUniversity of Arizona
Martha Narronarro@email.arizona.eduUniversity of Arizona
Irena Simovasimova@cts.cuni.czUnknown
Nick Spencerspencern@landcareresearch.co.nzLandcare Research
Jorge Ahumadaj.ahumada@conservation.orgUniversity of Hawaii
Kristine Engemann Jensenkristine_engemann@hotmail.comAarhus University
Eric H. Fegrausefegraus@conservation.orgConservation International
Nathan J.B. Kraftnkraft@umd.eduUniversity of British Columbia
Aaron Marcuse-Kubitzaaaronmk@nceas.ucsb.eduUniversity of California, Santa Barbara
Shashwati Ramtekesramteke@mail.bradley.eduBradley University
Jim Regetzregetz@nceas.ucsb.eduUniversity of California, Santa Barbara
Benjamin Blonderbblonder@gmail.comUniversity of Copenhagen
Naim Matascinmatasci@iplantcollaborative.orgiPlant Collaborative
Brody Sandelbrody.sandel@biology.au.dkAarhus University

Products: Publications, Reports, Datasets, Presentations, Visualizations

TypeProducts of NCEAS Research
Presentations Blonder, Benjamin; Nogués-Bravo, David; Rahbek, Carsten; Enquist, Brian J.; Boyle, Brad; Donoghue, John C.; Condit, Richard; Peet, Robert K.; Dolins, Steven; Schildhauer, Mark P.; Theirs, Barbara; McGill, Brian; Jorgensen, Peter; Narro, Martha; Regetz, Jim; Violle, Cyrille; Simova, Irena; Sloat, Lindsey L.; Piel, William; Kraft, Nathan J.B.; Svenning, Jens-Christian; Morueta-Holme, Naia; Spencer, Nick; Wiser, Susan K.; Ott, Jeff E.; Dobrin, Barbara H.; Andelman, Sandy J.; Engemann Jensen, Kristine. 2013. Assembly of plant communities in climate space. International Biogeography 6th Biennial Meeting, January 9-13, 2013, Miami, Florida.
Journal Article Blonder, Benjamin; Sloat, Lindsey L.; Enquist, Brian J.; McGill, Brian. 2014. Separating macroecological pattern and process: Comparing ecological, Economic, and Geological Systems. PLoS ONE. Vol: 9(11). Pages e112850.
Journal Article Engemann Jensen, Kristine; Enquist, Brian J.; Sandel, Brody; Boyle, Brad; Jorgensen, Peter; Morueta-Holme, Naia; Peet, Robert K.; Violle, Cyrille; Svenning, Jens-Christian. in press. Limited sampling hampers "big data" estimation of species richness in a tropical biodiversity hotspot. Ecology and Evolution.
Journal Article Lamanna, Christine; Blonder, Benjamin; Violle, Cyrille; Kraft, Nathan J.B.; Sandel, Brody; Simova, Irena; Donoghue, John C.; Svenning, Jens-Christian; McGill, Brian; Boyle, Brad; Buzzard, Vanessa; Dolins, Steven; Jorgensen, Peter; Marcuse-Kubitza, Aaron; Morueta-Holme, Naia; Peet, Robert K.; Piel, William; Regetz, Jim; Schildhauer, Mark P.; Spencer, Nick; Thiers, Barbara; Wiser, Susan K.; Enquist, Brian J. 2014. Functional trait space and the latitudinal diversity gradient. Proceedings of the National Academy of Sciences of the United States of America. Vol: 111(38). Pages 13745-13750.
Journal Article Morueta-Holme, Naia; McGill, Brian; Boyle, Brad; Jorgensen, Peter; Ott, Jeffrey E.; Peet, Robert K.; Simova, Irena; Sloat, Lindsey L.; Theirs, Barbara; Violle, Cyrille; Wiser, Susan K.; Dolins, Steven; Donoghue, John C.; Kraft, Nathan J.B.; Regetz, Jim; Schildhauer, Mark P.; Spencer, Nick; Svenning, Jens-Christian. 2013. Habitat area and climate stability determine geographical variation in plant species range sizes. Ecology Letters. Vol: 16. Pages 1446-1454.
Journal Article Peet, Robert K.; Lee, Michael T.; Jennings, Michael D.; Faber-Langendoen, Don. 2012. VegBank - a permanent, open-access archive for vegetation-plot data. Biodiversity and Ecology. Vol: 4. Pages 233-241. (Online version)
Journal Article Simova, Irena; Violle, Cyrille; Kraft, Nathan J.B.; Storch, David; Svenning, Jens-Christian; Boyle, Brad; Donoghue, John C.; Jorgensen, Peter; McGill, Brian; Morueta-Holme, Naia; Piel, William; Peet, Robert K.; Regetz, Jim; Schildhauer, Mark P.; Spencer, Nick; Thiers, Barbara; Wiser, Susan K.; Enquist, Brian J. in press. Shifts in trait means and variances in North American tree assemblages: Species richness patterns are loosely related to the functional space . Ecography.
Journal Article Violle, Cyrille; Reich, Peter B.; Pacala, Stephen W.; Enquist, Brian J.; Kattge, Jens. 2014. The emergence and promise of functional biogeography. Proceedings of the National Academy of Sciences of the United States of America. Vol: 111(38). Pages 13690-13696.
Journal Article Wiser, Susan K.; Spencer, Nick; De Caceres, Miquel; Kleikamp, Martin; Boyle, Brad; Peet, Robert K. 2011. Veg-X - An exchange standard for plot-based vegetation data. Journal of Vegetation Science. Vol: 22(4). Pages 598-609. (Online version)
"Developing an integrated botanical information network to investigate the ecological impacts of global climate change on plant biodiversity " is project ID: 12290