Distributed Graduate Seminar: Finding common ground in marine conservation and management

Principal Investigators:

Ray Hilborn, and Boris Worm

There is increasing concern among scientists, resource managers, and the general public about the current state of marine fisheries and their supporting ecosystems. Recent scientific progress on this topic has been partly overshadowed by significant controversy on how to assess marine resources and how to address current problems in ocean management. Marine ecologists and fisheries scientists often tend to favor contrasting approaches, and we observe that these schools of thought have polarized over time. We now recognize this situation as counterproductive... more

Participants and Meetings

A group photo is coming soon.
ActivityDatesFurther Information
Meeting2nd—4th May 2009Participant List  

Participant Contact Information

Ricardo O. Amorosoricardoamoroso@yahoo.comCentro Nacional Patagónico (CENPAT)
Sean C. Andersonsean@dal.caDalhousie University
Richard Bellbrell@gso.uri.eduUniversity of Rhode Island
Trevor A. Branchtbranch@uw.eduUniversity of Washington
Jeremy Colliejcollie@gso.uri.eduUniversity of Rhode Island, Narragansett
Kiersten Curtikcurti@gso.uri.eduUniversity of Rhode Island, Narragansett
Maria Lourdes Estallesmariluestalles@gmail.comCentro Nacional Patagónico (CENPAT)
Gavin Faygfay@u.washington.eduUniversity of Washington
Ray Hilbornrayh@uw.eduUniversity of Washington
Jason Krumholzjkrumholz@gso.uri.eduUniversity of Rhode Island, Narragansett
Coilin Mintomintoc@mathstat.dal.caDalhousie University
Ana Maria Parmaparma@cenpat.edu.arCentro Nacional Patagónico (CENPAT)
Gabriela E. Penalozagescati@cenpat.edu.arCentro Nacional Patagónico (CENPAT)
Malin L. Pinskypinsky@princeton.eduStanford University
Daniel Ricardricardd@mathstat.dal.caDalhousie University
Suresh Sethisasethi@u.washington.eduUniversity of Washington
Katyana Vert-Prekatyana.vertpre@hotmail.frUniversity of Washington
William Whitmorewwhitmore@mail.uri.eduUniversity of Rhode Island, Narragansett
Boris Wormbworm@dal.caDalhousie University

Products: Publications, Reports, Datasets, Presentations, Visualizations

TypeProducts of NCEAS Research
Journal Article Branch, Trevor A.; Watson, Reg; Fulton, Elizabeth A.; Jennings, Simon; McGilliard, Carey R.; Pablico, Grace T.; Ricard, Daniel; Tracey, Sean R. 2010. The trophic fingerprint of marine fisheries. Nature. Vol: 468. Pages 431-435. (Online version)
Journal Article Branch, Trevor A.; Jensen, Olaf P.; Ricard, Daniel; Ye, Yimin; Hilborn, Ray. 2011. Contrasting global trends in marine fishery status obtained from catches and from stock assessments. Conservation Biology. Vol: 25(4). Pages 777-786. (Online version)
Journal Article Collie, Jeremy; Minto, Coilin; Worm, Boris; Bell, Richard. 2013. Predation on prerecruits can delay rebuilding of depleted cod stocks. Bulletin of Marine Science. Vol: 89(1). Pages 107-122.
Journal Article Cope, Jason M.; Punt, Andre. 2009. Length-based reference points for data-limited situations: Applications and restrictions. Marine and Coastal Fisheries-Dynamics, Management, and Ecosystem Science. Vol: 1. Pages 169-186.
Journal Article Hutchings, Jeffrey A.; Minto, Coilin; Ricard, Daniel; Baum, Julia K.; Jensen, Olaf P. 2010. Trends in the abundance of marine fishes. Canadian Journal of Fisheries and Aquatic Sciences. Vol: 67(8). Pages 1205-1210.
Journal Article Pinsky, Malin L.; Jensen, Olaf P.; Ricard, Daniel; Palumbi, Stephen R. 2011. Unexpected patterns of fisheries collapse in the world's oceans. Proceedings of the National Academy of Sciences. Vol: 108. Pages 8317-8322. (Online version)
Journal Article Ricard, Daniel; Branton, R. M.; Clark, Donald W.; Hurley, Peter. 2010. Extracting groundfish survey indices from the ocean biogeographic information system (OBIS): An example from Fisheries and Oceans Canada. ICES Journal of Marine Science. Vol: 67(4). Pages 638-645.
Journal Article Sethi, Suresh; Branch, Trevor A.; Watson, Reg. 2010. Global fishery development patterns are driven by profit but not trophic level. Proceedings of the National Academy of Sciences. Vol: 107(27). Pages 12163-12167.
Journal Article Worm, Boris; Hilborn, Ray; Baum, Julia K.; Branch, Trevor A.; Collie, Jeremy; Costello, Christopher; Fogarty, Michael J.; Fulton, Elizabeth A.; Hutchings, Jeffrey A.; Jennings, Simon; Jensen, Olaf P.; Lotze, Heike K.; Mace, Pamela M.; McClanahan, Timothy R.; Minto, Coilin; Palumbi, Stephen R.; Parma, Ana Maria; Ricard, Daniel; Rosenberg, Andrew A.; Watson, Reg; Zeller, Dirk. 2009. Rebuilding Global Fisheries. Science. Vol: 325. Pages 578-585.
"Distributed Graduate Seminar: Finding common ground in marine conservation and management " is project ID: 12307