When are matrix models useful for management? An empirical test across plant populations

Principal Investigators:

Elizabeth E. Crone, Martha Ellis, and Eric S. Menges

In the past three decades, the role of matrix-based demographic models in plant conservation has steadily increased. However, the reliability of these methods remains hotly debated. Most tests of model performance have relied on strict conditions for either the datasets being tested or the criteria used to judge accuracy of the results. This leads to a potential disconnect between the variety of ways in which models are used in practice and the limited set of conditions where their performance has been evaluated. Our working group brings together... more

Participants and Meetings

Working Group Participants
ActivityDatesFurther Information
Working Group13th—17th April 2009Participant List  
Working Group9th—13th November 2009Participant List  
Working Group27th February—3rd March 2010Participant List  
Working Group9th—13th November 2010Participant List  
Working Group9th—13th April 2011Participant List  

Participant Contact Information

Timothy Belltbell22@csu.eduChicago State University
Paulette Bierzychudekbierzych@lclark.eduLewis and Clark College
Elizabeth E. Croneelizabeth.crone@tufts.eduUniversity of Montana
Johan Ehrlénjohan.ehrlen@botan.su.seStockholm University
Martha Ellismartha.ellis@umontana.eduUniversity of Montana
Thomas N. Kayetom@appliedeco.orgInstitute for Applied Ecology
Tiffany M. Knighttknight@biology2.wustl.eduWashington University in St. Louis
Peter Lesicalesica.peter@gmail.comUniversity of Montana
Bruce D. Maxwellbmax@montana.eduMontana State University
Eric S. Mengesemenges@archbold-station.orgArchbold Biological Station
William F. Morriswfmorris@duke.eduDuke University
Gerard Oostermeijerj.g.b.oostermeijer@uva.nlUniversity of Amsterdam
Pedro F. Quintana-Ascenciopquintan@mail.ucf.eduUniversity of Central Florida
Amanda Stanleyamanda@appliedeco.orgUnknown
Tamara Ticktinticktin@hawaii.eduUniversity of Hawaii, Mānoa
Teresa Valverdeteresa.valverde@ciencias.unam.mxUniversidad Nacional Autónoma de México (UNAM)
Jennifer L. Williamsjwilliams@nceas.ucsb.eduUniversity of California, Santa Barbara

Products: Publications, Reports, Datasets, Presentations, Visualizations

TypeProducts of NCEAS Research
Data Set Crone, Elizabeth E. 2010. Literature review on the use of matrix population models for plants. (Online version)
Journal Article Crone, Elizabeth E.; Menges, Eric S.; Ellis, Martha; Bell, Timothy; Bierzychudek, Paulette; Ehrlén, Johan; Kaye, Thomas N.; Knight, Tiffany M.; Lesica, Peter; Morris, William F.; Oostermeijer, Gerard; Quintana-Ascencio, Pedro F.; Stanley, Amanda; Ticktin, Tamara; Valverde, Teresa; Williams, Jennifer L. 2011. How do plant ecologists use matrix population models?. Ecology Letters. Vol: 14. Pages 1-8.
Journal Article Crone, Elizabeth E.; Ellis, Martha; Morris, William F.; Stanley, Amanda; Bell, Timothy; Bierzychudek, Paulette; Ehrlén, Johan; Kaye, Thomas N.; Knight, Tiffany M.; Lesica, Peter; Oostermeijer, Gerard; Quintana-Ascencio, Pedro F.; Ticktin, Tamara; Valverde, Teresa; Williams, Jennifer L.; Doak, Daniel F.; Ganesan, Rengaian; Mceachern, Kathyrn; Thorpe, Andrea S.; Menges, Eric S. 2013. Ability of matrix models to explain the past and predict the future of plant populations. Conservation Biology. Vol: 27. Pages 968-978.
Journal Article Pardini, Eleanor A.; Drake, John M.; Chase, Jonathan M.; Knight, Tiffany M. 2009. Complex population dynamics and control of the invasive biennial alliaria petiolata (garlic mustard). Ecological Applications. Vol: 19(2). Pages 387–397.
"When are matrix models useful for management? An empirical test across plant populations " is project ID: 12320