Envisioning a sustainable global seafood market and restored marine ecosystems

Principal Investigators:

Larry B. Crowder, and Martin D. Smith

Ecologists, conservationists, and economists agree that many of the world’s wild-capture fisheries are overfished, overcapitalized, and continue to decline. At the same time, global demand for fish protein is growing rapidly. Aquaculture provides an increasing share of the world’s edible fish protein, but there are potentially adverse environmental effects of large-scale aquaculture production. Wild-capture fisheries and aquaculture together comprise the global seafood market. Though the deleterious impacts of fisheries and aquaculture on... more

Participants and Meetings

Working Group Participants
ActivityDatesFurther Information
Working Group11th—13th March 2009Participant List  
Working Group16th—20th September 2009Participant List  
Working Group4th—6th January 2010Participant List  
Working Group2nd—5th November 2010Participant List  
Working Group29th—31st August 2011Participant List  

Participant Contact Information

James Andersonjla@uri.eduUniversity of Rhode Island
Molly D. Andersonmolly@foodsystems-integrity.comFood Systems Integrity
Frank Aschefrank.asche@uis.noUniversity of Stavanger
Theodore Bestorbestor@wjh.harvard.eduHarvard University
Carrie Brownsteincarrie.brownstein@wholefoods.comWhole Foods Market
Kristin Cardencarden@lifesci.ucsb.eduUniversity of California, Santa Barbara
Larry B. Crowderlarry.crowder@stanford.eduDuke University
Benjamin S. Halpernhalpern@bren.ucsb.eduUniversity of California, Santa Barbara
Dane Klingerdhklinger@stanford.eduStanford University
Aaron McNevinaaron.mcnevin@wwfus.orgWorld Wildlife Fund
Roz Naylorroz@stanford.eduStanford University
Cathy Roheimcrw@uri.eduUniversity of Rhode Island
Raphael Sagarinrafe@email.arizona.eduDuke University
Kimberly A. Selkoeselkoe@nceas.ucsb.eduUniversity of California, Santa Barbara
Geoffrey G. Shestergshester@oceana.orgMonterey Bay Aquarium Research Institute
Martin D. Smithmarsmith@duke.eduDuke University
Dale Squiresdale.squires@noaa.govNOAA, Southwest Fisheries Science Center
Ussif Rashid Sumailar.sumaila@fisheries.ubc.caUniversity of British Columbia
Mary Turnipseedmary.turnipseed@moore.orgDuke University
Peter Tyedmerspeter.tyedmers@dal.caDalhousie University
Kristen Dubaykld12@duke.eduDuke University
Atle Guttormsenatle.guttormsen@umb.noNorwegian University of Life Sciences
Ahmed Khanahmedk@mun.caMemorial University of Newfoundland
Lisa Liguorilisa.avigdor@gmail.comUniversity of Georgia, Marine Extension Service
Mary I. O'Connoroconnor@zoology.ubc.caUniversity of California, Santa Barbara
Luis Bourillonlbourillon@cobi.org.mxComunidad y Biodiversidad A.C. (COBI)
Ratana Chuenpagdeeratanac@mun.caMemorial University of Newfoundland
Gary Gereffiggere@soc.duke.eduDuke University
Joonkoo Leejoonkoo.lee@duke.eduDuke University
Ethan Lucasethanylucas@yahoo.comUniversity of California, Santa Barbara
Wilf Swartzw.swartz@fisheries.ubc.caUniversity of British Columbia

Products: Publications, Reports, Datasets, Presentations, Visualizations

TypeProducts of NCEAS Research
Journal Article Klinger, Dane; Turnipseed, Mary; Anderson, James; Asche, Frank; Crowder, Larry B.; Guttormsen, Atle; Halpern, Benjamin S.; O'Connor, Mary I.; Sagarin, Raphael; Selkoe, Kimberly A.; Shester, Geoffrey G.; Smith, Martin D.; Tyedmers, Peter. 2012. Moving beyond the fished or farmed dichotomy. Marine Policy. (Online version)
Journal Article Smith, Martin D.; Roheim, Cathy; Crowder, Larry B.; Halpern, Benjamin S.; Turnipseed, Mary; Anderson, James; Asche, Frank; Bourillon, Luis; Guttormsen, Atle; Khan, Ahmed; Liguori, Lisa; McNevin, Aaron; O'Connor, Mary I.; Squires, Dale; Tyedmers, Peter; Brownstein, Carrie; Carden, Kristin; Klinger, Dane; Sagarin, Raphael; Selkoe, Kimberly A. 2010. Sustainability and global seafood. Science. Vol: 327. AAAS. Pages 784-786.
"Envisioning a sustainable global seafood market and restored marine ecosystems" is project ID: 12321