Developing best practices for testing landscape effects on gene flow: Distributed Graduate Seminar

Principal Investigators:

Helene H. Wagner, and Lisette Waits

A key objective of landscape genetics is to study how landscape modification and habitat fragmentation affect organism dispersal and gene flow across the landscape. Landscape genetics requires highly interdisciplinary, yet specialized professionals, and makes intensive use of spatial analysis tools such as remote sensing, GIS software and spatial statistics that have not historically been a component of training programs for population geneticists. Even when students receive disciplinary training in several of the involved fields of landscape genetics,... more

Participants and Meetings

Working Group Participants
ActivityDatesFurther Information
Meeting23rd—26th March 2009Participant List  
Meeting24th—28th May 2010Participant List  

Participant Contact Information

Niko Balkenholnbalken@gwdg.deUniversity of Idaho
Samuel A. Cushmanscushman@fs.fed.usUSDA Forest Service
Rodney Dyerrjdyer@vcu.eduVirginia Commonwealth University
Rolf Holdereggerrolf.holderegger@wsl.chSwiss Federal Institute for Forest, Snow and Research (WSL)
Erin L. Landgutherin.landguth@umontana.eduUniversity of Montana
Stephanie Manelstephanie.manel@ujf-grenoble.frUniversité Aix-Marseille
Jennifer Mooremoore.jennifer@gmail.comUniversity of Alaska
Melanie A. Murphymelanie.murphy@uwyo.eduColorado State University
Yessica Ricoyessica.rico@utoronto.caUniversity of Toronto
David Tallmondavid.tallmon@uas.alaska.eduUniversity of Alaska
Helene H. Wagnerhelene.wagner@utoronto.caUniversity of Toronto
Lisette Waitslwaits@uidaho.eduUniversity of Idaho
Matthew Balazikbalazikmt@vcu.eduVirginia Commonwealth University
Sarah Bisbingsarah.bisbing@colostate.eduColorado State University
Christopher Blairchristopher.blair@utoronto.caUniversity of Toronto
Helen Bothwellhelen.bothwell@nau.eduNorthern Arizona University
Jasmin Bregybregyj@ethz.chETH Zurich
Dominique Buehlerdominique.buehler@wsl.chETH Zurich
Pasan S. Dissanayakepasan.samarasin@gmail.comUniversity of Toronto
Sarah Emelemel@wsu.eduWashington State University
Bradley Fedyfedyb@usgs.govUS Geological Survey (USGS)
Mike Garvinmrgarvin@alaska.eduUniversity of Alaska
Colleen Higginshigginscb@vcu.eduVirginia Commonwealth University
John Lovelljohn.t.lovell@colostate.eduColorado State University
Sylvain Maillardmaillard@gmail.comUniversité Joseph Fourier
Ilona Naujokaitis-Lewisilona.naujo.lewis@gmail.comUniversity of Toronto
Sheri Shiflettshiflettsa@vcu.eduVirginia Commonwealth University
Stephen Spearsfspear@uidaho.eduUniversity of Idaho
Nina Overgaard Therkildsennit@aqua.dtu.dkTechnical University of Denmark
Tzeidle Wassermantnw23@nau.eduNorthern Arizona University
Dana Weigeldweigel@vandals.uidaho.eduUniversity of Idaho

Products: Publications, Reports, Datasets, Presentations, Visualizations

TypeProducts of NCEAS Research
Journal Article Blair, Christopher; Weigel, Dana; Balazik, Matthew; Keeley, Annika T.H.; Walker, Faith M.; Landguth, Erin L.; Cushman, Samuel A.; Murphy, Melanie A.; Waits, Lisette; Balkenhol, Niko. 2012. A simulation-based evaluation of methods for inferring linear barriers to gene flow. Molecular Ecology Resources. Vol: 12. Pages 822-833. (Online version)
Journal Article Bothwell, Helen; Bisbing, Sarah; Therkildsen, Nina Overgaard; Crawford, Lindsay; Alvarez, Nadir; Holderegger, Rolf; Manel, Stephanie. 2012. Identifying genetic signatures of selection in a non-model species, alpine gentian (Gentiana nivalis L.), using a landscape genetic approach. Conservation Genetics. Pages 1-15. (Online version)
Dissertation or Thesis Buehler, Dominique. 2011. Adaptive genetic variation and gene flow potential in the alpine plant Arabis alpina. University of Zurich. Pages 124.
Journal Article Graves, Tabitha A.; Wasserman, Tzeidle; Ribeiro, Milton Cezar; Landguth, Erin L.; Spear, Stephen; Balkenhol, Niko; Higgins, Colleen; Fortin, Marie-Josée; Cushman, Samuel A.; Waits, Lisette. 2012. The influence of landscape characteristics and home-range size on the quantification of landscape-genetics relationships. Vol: 27(2). Pages 253-266. (Online version)
Journal Article Holderegger, Rolf; Buehler, Dominique; Gugerli, Felix; Manel, Stephanie. 2010. Landscape genetics of plants. Trends in Planet Science. Vol: 15(12). Pages 675-683. (Online version)
Journal Article Landguth, Erin L.; Fedy, Bradley; Oyler-McCance, Sara J.; Garey, Andrew L.; Emel, Sarah; Mumma, Matthew; Wagner, Helene H.; Fortin, Marie-Josée; Cushman, Samuel A. 2012. Effects of sample size, number of markers, and allelic richness on the detection of spatial genetic pattern. Molecular Ecology Resources. Vol: 12(2). Pages 276-284. (Online version)
Journal Article Landguth, Erin L.; Balkenhol, Niko. 2012. Relative sensitivity of neutral versus adaptive genetic data for assessing population differentiation. Conservation Genetics. Vol: 13. Pages 1421-1426. (Online version)
Presentations Naujokaitis-Lewis, Ilona; Rico, Yessica; Lovell, John; Fortin, Marie-Josée; Murphy, Melanie A. 2011. Testing network theory assumptions with empirical data: Sensitivity analysis of spatial landscape genetic network models. US-IALE Symposium, Portland Oregon, 6 April 2011.
Journal Article Naujokaitis-Lewis, Ilona; Rico, Yessica; Lovell, John; Fortin, Marie-Josée; Murphy, Melanie A. 2012. Implications of incomplete networks on estimation of landscape genetic connectivity. Conservation Genetics. Pages 1-12. (Online version)
Journal Article Oyler-McCance, Sara J.; Fedy, Bradley; Landguth, Erin L. 2012. Sample design effects in landscape genetics. Conservation Genetics. Pages 1-11. (Online version)
Journal Article Rico, Yessica; Juergen Boehmer, Hans; Wagner, Helene H. 2012. Determinants of actual functional connectivity for calcareous grassland communities linked by rotational sheep grazing. Landscape Ecology. Vol: 27(2). Pages 199-209. (Online version)
Journal Article Wagner, Helene H.; Fortin, Marie-Josée. 2012. A conceptual framework for the spatial analysis of landscape genetic data. Conservation Genetics. Pages 1-9. (Online version)
Journal Article Wagner, Helene H.; Murphy, Melanie A.; Holderegger, Rolf; Waits, Lisette. 2012. Developing an interdisciplinary, distributed graduate course for twenty-first century scienctists. BioScience. Vol: 62(2). Pages 182-188. (Online version)
"Developing best practices for testing landscape effects on gene flow: Distributed Graduate Seminar" is project ID: 12358