Evaluating responses of freshwater ecosystems to experimental water management

Principal Investigators:

Christopher P. Konrad, and Julian D. Olden

The availability of fresh water to meet the demands of a growing human population and simultaneously ensure ecosystem integrity has emerged as one of the world’s primary resource issues (Postel and Richter, 2003; Alcamo et al. 2008). Water management for people and ecosystems remains an open scientific question (Acreman and Dunbar 2004, Arthington et al.2006) that is being answered with experimental approaches to releasing water from dams and other control structures for ecological benefits in rivers, floodplains, and estuaries. Flow experiments... more

Participants and Meetings

Working Group Participants
ActivityDatesFurther Information
Working Group1st—3rd June 2009Participant List  
Working Group9th—11th September 2009Participant List  
Working Group20th—22nd July 2010Participant List  

Participant Contact Information

Nina P. Hemphillnhemphill@usbr.govTrinity River Restoration Program
Christopher P. Konradcpkonrad@usgs.govUS Geological Survey (USGS)
David Lytlelytleda@oregonstate.eduOregon State University
Theodore Melistmelis@usgs.govUS Geological Survey (USGS)
Julian D. Oldenolden@u.washington.eduUniversity of Washington
John C. Schmidtjack.schmidt@usu.eduUtah State University
Erin Brayebray@bren.ucsb.eduUniversity of California, Santa Barbara
Joan Browderjoan.browder@noaa.govNational Oceanic and Atmospheric Administration (NOAA)
Mary Freemanmary@ttrout.ecology.uga.eduUniversity of Georgia
Keith B. Gidokgido@ksu.eduKansas State University
Paul S. Higginspaul.higgins@bchydro.comBC Hydro
Francine Hughesfrancine.hughes@anglia.ac.ukAnglia Ruskin University
Mark J. Kennardm.kennard@griffith.edu.auGriffith University
Josh Kormanjkorman@shaw.caEcometric Research
Meryl Mimsmmims@u.washington.eduUniversity of Washington
Mark Pyronmpyron@bsu.eduBall State University
Christopher T. RobinsonChristopher.Robinson@eawag.chEawag Aquatic Research
John G. Williamsjohn.g.williams@noaa.govNOAA, Northwest Fisheries Science Center
Laura E. McMullenmcmullel@science.oregonstate.eduOregon State University

Products: Publications, Reports, Datasets, Presentations, Visualizations

TypeProducts of NCEAS Research
Presentations Konrad, Christopher P.; Olden, Julian D. 2010. Global review of large-scale flow experiments. American Geophysical Union Fall Meeting, December 2010. San Francisco, CA.
Presentations Konrad, Christopher P. 2010. Global review of large-scale flow experiments. US Geological Survey Chief Hydrologist's Seminar, Januray 2010. Reston, VA.
Journal Article Konrad, Christopher P.; Olden, Julian D.; Lytle, David; Melis, Theodore; Schmidt, John C.; Bray, Erin; Freeman, Mary; Gido, Keith B.; Hemphill, Nina P.; Kennard, Mark J.; McMullen, Laura E.; Mims, Meryl; Pyron, Mark; Robinson, Christopher T.; Williams, John G. 2011. Large-scale flow experiments for managing river systems. BioScience. Vol: 61(12). Pages 948-959.
Journal Article Olden, Julian D.; Konrad, Christopher P.; Melis, Theodore; Kennard, Mark J.; Freeman, Mary; Mims, Meryl; Bray, Erin; Gido, Keith B.; Hemphill, Nina P.; Lytle, David; McMullen, Laura E.; Pyron, Mark; Robinson, Christopher T.; Schmidt, John C.; Williams, John G. 2014. Are large-scale flow experiments informing the science and management of freshwater ecosystems?. Frontiers in Ecology and the Environment. Vol: 12. Pages 176-185.
"Evaluating responses of freshwater ecosystems to experimental water management" is project ID: 12374