INTEROP: A Community-driven scientific observations network to achieve interoperability of environmental and ecological data

Principal Investigators:

Mark P. Schildhauer

Advances in environmental science increasingly depend on information from multiple disciplines to tackle broader and more complex questions about the natural world. Such advances, however, are hindered by data heterogeneity, which impedes the ability of researchers to discover, interpret, and integrate relevant data that have been collected by others. A number of earth science disciplines, however, are recognizing the interoperability benefits of describing data at the level of observation and measurement, rather than at the level of the data... more

Participants and Meetings

Working Group Participants
ActivityDatesFurther Information
Working Group9th—10th April 2009Participant List  
Working Group7th—9th October 2009Participant List  
Working Group18th—20th April 2011Participant List  
Postdoctoral Fellow15th February—30th August 2013Participant List  
Meeting2nd—6th March 2015Participant List  
Working Group1st—5th June 2015Participant List  
Working Group28th June—2nd July 2015Participant List  

Participant Contact Information

Luis Bermudezlbermudez@opengeospatial.orgSoutheastern Universities Research Association
Shawn Bowersbowers@gonzaga.eduUniversity of California, Davis
Philip Dibnerpdibner@ogcii.orgOpen Geospatial Consortium Interoperability Institute (OGCii)
Corinna Griescgries@wisc.eduArizona State University
Matthew B. Jonesjones@nceas.ucsb.eduUniversity of California, Santa Barbara
Mark P. Schildhauerschild@nceas.ucsb.eduUniversity of California, Santa Barbara
Nicolas Bertrandnsb@ceh.ac.ukCentre for Ecology and Hydrology
Benno Blumenthalbenno@iri.columbia.eduColumbia University
Huiping Caohcao@cs.nmsu.eduArizona State University
Simon Coxsimon.cox@csiro.auJRC Institute for Environment and Sustainability
Judith B. Cushingjudyc@evergreen.eduEvergreen State College
Peter Foxpfox@cs.rpi.eduRensselaer Polytechnic Institute
Damian Gesslerdgessler@iplantcollaborative.orgUniversity of Arizona
Jeff Horsburghjeff.horsburgh@usu.eduUtah State University
Steve Kellingstk2@cornell.eduCornell University
Jessie Kennedyj.kennedy@napier.ac.ukNapier University
Ben Leinfelderleinfelder@nceas.ucsb.eduUniversity of California, Santa Barbara
Bertram Ludaescherludaesch@cs.ucdavis.eduUniversity of California, Davis
Joshua S. Madinjoshua.madin@bio.mq.edu.auMacquarie University
Deborah McGuinnessdlm@cs.rpi.eduRensselaer Polytechnic Institute
Chris Mungallcjmungall@lbl.govLawrence Berkeley National Laboratory
Margaret O'Brienmargaret.obrien@ucsb.eduUniversity of California, Santa Barbara
Robert G. Raskinraskin@seastar.jpl.nasa.govJet Propulsion Laboratory of the National Aeronautics and Space Administration (NASA)
Alan Rectorrector@cs.man.ac.ukUniversity of Manchester
Wade Sheldonsheldon@arches.uga.eduUniversity of Georgia
David W. Valentinedwvalentine@ucsd.eduUniversity of California, San Diego
Stu Weibelweibel@oclc.orgOnline Computer Library Center (OCLC)
Andrew Woolfandrew.woolf@stfc.ac.ukScience and Technology Facilities Council
Cynthia Chandlercchandler@whoi.eduWoods Hole Oceanographic Institution
Ruth Duerrrduerr@nsidc.orgUniversity of Colorado, Boulder
Christopher Jonescjones@nceas.ucsb.eduUniversity of California, Santa Barbara
Carl Lagozeclagoze@gmail.comCornell University
Hilmar Lapphlapp@nescent.orgDuke University
Andrew Maffeiamaffei@whoi.eduWoods Hole Oceanographic Institution
Peter McCartneypmccartn@nsf.govNational Science Foundation
Mark Parsonsparsonsm@nsidc.orgUniversity of Colorado, Boulder
David Tarbotondavid.tarboton@usu.eduUtah State University
David A. Vieglaisvieglais@ku.eduUniversity of Kansas
Campbell O. Webbcwebb@oeb.harvard.eduArnold Arboretum of Harvard University
Stephan Zednikzednis@rpi.eduRensselaer Polytechnic Institute
Ben Adamsb.adams@auckland.ac.nzUniversity of Auckland
Pier Luigi Buttigiegp.buttigieg@gmail.comMax-Planck Institute for Marine Microbiology
John Deckjdeck88@gmail.com
Robert Guralnickrobgur@gmail.comUniversity of Colorado, Boulder
Werner Kuhnwerner.kuhn@gmail.comUniversity of California, Santa Barbara
Adam Shepherdashepherd@whoi.eduWoods Hole Oceanographic Institution
Ramona L Wallsrlwalls2008@gmail.comUniversity of Arizona
John Wieczorekgtuco.btuco@gmail.comUniversity of California, Berkeley
Christopher Filstrupfilstrup@iastate.eduIowa State University
Richard P. Hooperrhooper@cuahsi.orgConsortium of Universities for the Advancement of Hydrologic Science, Inc. (CUAHSI)
Jan Martin Keiljan-martin.keil@uni-jena.deFriedrich Schiller University of Jena
Friederike Klanfriederike.klan@uni-jena.deFriedrich Schiller University of Jena
Birgitta König-RiesBirgitta.Koenig-Ries@uni-jena.deFriedrich Schiller University of Jena
Jean-Francois Lapierrejfrancoislapierre@gmail.comMichigan State University
Paulo Pinheira da Silvapaulo@abztraction.comUniversity of Texas, El Paso

Products: Publications, Reports, Datasets, Presentations, Visualizations

TypeProducts of NCEAS Research
Book Chapter Cao, Huiping; Bowers, Shawn; Schildhauer, Mark P. 2012. Database support for enabling data-discovery queries over semantically-annotated observational data. Edited by Hameurlain, Abdelkader; Kung, Josef; Wagner, Ronald; Liddle, Stephan; Schewe, Klaus-Dieter; Zhou, Xiaofang. Transactions on Large-Scale Data-and Knowledge-Centered Systems VI. Springer Berlin Heidelberg. New York. Pages 198-228.
Journal Article Laporte, Marie-Angelique; Mougenot, Isabelle; Garnier, Eric. 2012. ThesauForm-Traits: A web based collaborative tool to develop a thesaurus for plant functional diversity research. Ecological Informatics. Vol: 11. Pages 34-44. (Online version)
Journal Article Leinfelder, Ben; Bowers, Shawn; O'Brien, Margaret; Jones, Matthew B.; Schildhauer, Mark P. 2011. Using semantic metadata for discovery and integration of heterogeneous ecological data. Edited by Jones, Matthew B. and Gries, Corianna In Proceedings of the Environmental Information Management Conference 2011 (EIM 2011). Pages 92-97.
"INTEROP: A Community-driven scientific observations network to achieve interoperability of environmental and ecological data" is project ID: 12440