Towards understanding marine biological impacts of climate change

Principal Investigators:

Anthony J. Richardson, and Elvira Poloczanska

This Working Group will provide the globally coherent view of marine biological changes in response to climate change that is currently lacking but so desperately needed. We will bring together marine experts specializing in diverse ecosystems and robust statistical analysis to address key questions concerning the vulnerability of marine systems to climate change: 1. What are the similarities and differences between marine and terrestrial systems in terms of types and rates of responses? 2. Which marine species, taxonomic groups and systems... more

Participants and Meetings

Working Group Participants
ActivityDatesFurther Information
Working Group14th—18th September 2009Participant List  
Working Group18th—22nd April 2010Participant List  
Working Group14th—18th October 2010Participant List  
Working Group10th—14th May 2011Participant List  
Working Group2nd—6th October 2011Participant List  
Meeting7th—7th October 2011Participant List  
Working Group29th April—3rd May 2012Participant List  

Participant Contact Information

Andrew Bakunabakun@rsmas.miami.eduUniversity of Miami
Keith Branderkbr@aqua.dtu.dkTechnical University of Denmark
Christopher J. Brownchris.brown@griffith.edu.auUniversity of Queensland
John F. Brunojbruno@unc.eduUniversity of North Carolina, Chapel Hill
Lauren B. Buckleylbuckley@uw.eduUniversity of North Carolina, Chapel Hill
Michael T. BurrowsMichael.Burrows@sams.ac.ukScottish Association of Marine Science
Carlos M. Duartecarlos.duarte@uwa.edu.auInstituto Mediterraneo de Estudios Avanzados
Mark Gibbonsmgibbons@uwc.ac.zaUniversity of the Western Cape
Benjamin S. Halpernhalpern@bren.ucsb.eduUniversity of California, Santa Barbara
Carrie V. Kappelkappel@nceas.ucsb.eduUniversity of California, Santa Barbara
Pippa J. Moorepim2@aber.ac.ukEdith Cowan University
Mary I. O'Connoroconnor@zoology.ubc.caUniversity of California, Santa Barbara
John M. Pandolfij.pandolfi@uq.edu.auUniversity of Queensland
Elvira Poloczanskaelvira.poloczanska@csiro.auCSIRO Marine and Atmospheric Research
Anthony J. Richardsonanthony.richardson@csiro.auUniversity of Queensland
Maria Sanchez-Camachomaria.sanchez@uib.esInstituto Mediterraneo de Estudios Avanzados
David S. Schoemandschoema@usc.edu.auUniversity of Ulster
Kimberly A. Selkoeselkoe@nceas.ucsb.eduUniversity of California, Santa Barbara
William J. Sydemanwsydeman@faralloninstitute.orgFarallon Institute for Advanced Ecosystem Research
Andrea G. Antonandroide@email.unc.eduUniversity of North Carolina, Chapel Hill
Camille Parmesanparmesan@mail.utexas.eduUniversity of Texas, Austin
Johnna Holdingjohnna.holding@gmail.comInstituto Mediterraneo de Estudios Avanzados
Wolfgang Kiesslingwolfgang.kiessling@mfn-berlin.deHumboldt-University Berlin
Franklin Schwingfranklin.schwing@noaa.govNOAA, National Marine Fisheries Service (NMFS)
Ove Hoegh-Guldbergoveh@uq.edu.auUniversity of Queensland
Peter Brewerbrpe@mbari.orgMonterey Bay Aquarium Research Institute
William SkirvingWilliam.Skirving@noaa.govNOAA, Center for Satelite Applications and Research

Products: Publications, Reports, Datasets, Presentations, Visualizations

TypeProducts of NCEAS Research
Presentations Brown, Christopher J.; Poloczanska, Elvira; Brander, Keith; Bruno, John F.; Buckley, Lauren B.; Burrows, Michael T.; Duarte, Carlos M.; Halpern, Benjamin S.; Kappel, Carrie V.; Moore, Pippa J.; O'Connor, Mary I.; Pandolfi, John M.; Parmesan, Camille; Schoeman, David S.; Sydeman, William J.; Richardson, Anthony J. 2011. A global imprint of climate change on marine biological systems. The 2nd International Marine Conservation Congress, May 2011. Victoria Convention Centre. Victoria, British Columbia, Canada.
Journal Article Brown, Christopher J.; Schoeman, David S.; Sydeman, William J.; Brander, Keith; Buckley, Lauren B.; Burrows, Michael T.; Duarte, Carlos M.; Moore, Pippa J.; Pandolfi, John M.; Poloczanska, Elvira; Venables, William; Richardson, Anthony J. 2011. Quantitative approaches in climate change ecology. Global Change Biology. Vol: 17(12). Pages 3697-3713.
Journal Article Burrows, Michael T.; Schoeman, David S.; Buckley, Lauren B.; Moore, Pippa J.; Poloczanska, Elvira; Brander, Keith; Brown, Christopher J.; Bruno, John F.; Duarte, Carlos M.; Halpern, Benjamin S.; Holding, Johnna; Kappel, Carrie V.; Kiessling, Wolfgang; O'Connor, Mary I.; Pandolfi, John M.; Parmesan, Camille; Schwing, Franklin; Sydeman, William J.; Richardson, Anthony J. 2011. The pace of shifting climate in marine and terrestrial ecosystems. Science Magazine. Vol: 334(6056). Pages 652-655. (Online version)
Journal Article Burrows, Michael T.; Schoeman, David S.; Richardson, Anthony J.; Molinos, Jorge Garcia; Hoffmann, A.; Buckley, Lauren B.; Moore, Pippa J.; Brown, Christopher J.; Bruno, John F.; Duarte, Carlos M.; Halpern, Benjamin S.; Hoegh-Guldberg, Ove; Kappel, Carrie V.; Kiessling, Wolfgang; O'Connor, Mary I.; Pandolfi, John M.; Parmesan, Camille; Sydeman, William J.; Ferrier, Simon; Williams, Kristen J.; Poloczanska, Elvira. 2014. Geographical limits to species-range shifts are suggested by climate velocity . Nature. Vol: 507. Pages 492-495.
Journal Article O'Connor, Mary I.; Holding, Johnna; Kappel, Carrie V.; Duarte, Carlos M.; Brander, Keith; Brown, Christopher J.; Bruno, John F.; Buckley, Lauren B.; Burrows, Michael T.; Halpern, Benjamin S.; Kiessling, Wolfgang; Moore, Pippa J.; Pandolfi, John M.; Parmesan, Camille; Poloczanska, Elvira; Schoeman, David S.; Sydeman, William J.; Richardson, Anthony J. 2015. Strengthening confidence in the climate change impact science. Global Ecology and Biogeography. Vol: 24(1). Pages 64-76.
Journal Article Parmesan, Camille; Duarte, Carlos M.; Poloczanska, Elvira; Richardson, Anthony J.; Singer, Michael. 2011. Overstretching attribution. Nature Climate Change. Vol: 1(1). Pages 2-4.
Journal Article Parmesan, Camille; Burrows, Michael T.; Duarte, Carlos M.; Poloczanska, Elvira; Richardson, Anthony J.; Schoeman, David S.; Singer, Michael. 2013. Beyond climate change attribution in conservation and ecological research. Ecology Letters. Vol: 16. Pages 58-71.
Journal Article Poloczanska, Elvira; Brown, Christopher J.; Sydeman, William J.; Kiessling, Wolfgang; Schoeman, David S.; Moore, Pippa J.; Brander, Keith; Bruno, John F.; Buckley, Lauren B.; Burrows, Michael T.; Duarte, Carlos M.; Halpern, Benjamin S.; Holding, Johnna; Kappel, Carrie V.; O'Connor, Mary I.; Pandolfi, John M.; Parmesan, Camille; Schwing, Franklin; Thompson, Sarah Ann; Richardson, Anthony J. 2013. Global imprint of climate change on marine life. Nature Climate Change. Vol: 3. Pages 919-925. (Online version)
Presentations Richardson, Anthony J.; Poloczanska, Elvira; Brander, Keith; Brown, Christopher J.; Bruno, John F.; Buckley, Lauren B.; Burrows, Michael T.; Duarte, Carlos M.; Gibbons, Mark; Halpern, Benjamin S.; Kappel, Carrie V.; Moore, Pippa J.; O'Connor, Mary I.; Pandolfi, John M.; Parmesan, Camille; Sanchez-Camacho, Maria; Schoeman, David S.; Sydeman, William J. 2010. Marine climate change impacts: Out of sight but not out of mind. 2010 International Climate Change Adaptation Conference. Gold Coast, Australia.
Journal Article Richardson, Anthony J.; Brown, Christopher J.; Brander, Keith; Bruno, John F.; Buckley, Lauren B.; Burrows, Michael T.; Duarte, Carlos M.; Halpern, Benjamin S.; Hoegh-Guldberg, Ove; Holding, Johnna; Kappel, Carrie V.; Kiessling, Wolfgang; Moore, Pippa J.; O'Connor, Mary I.; Pandolfi, John M.; Parmesan, Camille; Schoeman, David S.; Schwing, Franklin; Sydeman, William J.; Poloczanska, Elvira. 2012. Climate change and marine life. Biology Letters. (Online version)
"Towards understanding marine biological impacts of climate change" is project ID: 12449