Ecosystem services on an urbanizing planet: What 2 billion new urbanites means for air and water

Principal Investigators:

Robert I. McDonald, and Peter J. Marcotullio

For the first time in history, a majority of people live in cities, and urbanization is expected to add almost 2 billion new urban residents by 2030. While there is growing awareness that cities affect almost every ecosystem on Earth 2-5 and are increasingly vulnerable to environmental change6, there are few global estimates of urbanization’s impact on key ecosystem services. This is particularly true for freshwater availability and clean air, which may be massively impacted by urbanization and may be key future vulnerabilities for urban residents.... more

Participants and Meetings

Working Group Participants
ActivityDatesFurther Information
Working Group17th—21st August 2009Participant List  
Working Group10th—12th February 2010Participant List  

Participant Contact Information

Jochen Albrechtjochen@hunter.cuny.eduCity University of New York (CUNY), Hunter College
Deborah Balkdeborah.balk@baruch.cuny.eduBaruch College
Marilyn Brownmarilyn.brown@pubpolicy.gatech.eduGeorgia Institute of Technology
Li-Fang ChangNational Taipei University
Ian Douglasian.douglas@manchester.ac.ukUniversity of Manchester
Thomas Elmqvistthomase@ecology.su.seStockholm University
Balazs Feketebfekete@ccny.cuny.eduCity College of New York
Nancy B. Grimmnbgrimm@asu.eduArizona State University
Jenny Gronwalljenny.gronwall@stockholmresilience.su.seStockholm University
Rebecca Halerlhale@asu.eduArizona State University
Shu-Li Huangshuli@mail.ntpu.edu.twNational Taipei University
Jeffrey Kenworthyj.kenworthy@curtin.edu.auCurtin University
Valentina Maravmara@ciesin.columbia.eduColumbia University
Peter J. Marcotulliopeter.marcotullio@hunter.cuny.eduCity University of New York (CUNY), Hunter College
Robert I. McDonaldrob_mcdonald@tnc.orgThe Nature Conservancy
Lilly Parshallllp15@columbia.eduColumbia University
Carmen Revengacrevenga@tnc.orgThe Nature Conservancy
Andrea P. Sarzynskiapsarzyn@gwu.eduGeorge Washington University
Niels Schulzschulz@iiasa.ac.atInternational Institute for Applied Systems Analysis (IIASA)
Pamela A. Greenpgreen@ccny.cuny.eduCity College of New York
Megan Toddmegan.todd@baruch.cuny.eduBaruch College

Products: Publications, Reports, Datasets, Presentations, Visualizations

TypeProducts of NCEAS Research
Journal Article Marcotullio, Peter J.; Albrecht, Jochen; Sarzynski, Andrea P. 2011. The geography of greenhouse gas emissions from within urban areas of India: A preliminary assessment. Journal of Resources, Energy, and Development. Vol: 8(1).
Journal Article Marcotullio, Peter J.; Sarzynski, Andrea P.; Albrecht, Jochen; Schulz, Niels. 2012. The geography of urban greenhouse gas emissions in Asia: A regional analysis. Global Environmental Research. Vol: 22(4). Pages 944-958. (Online version)
Journal Article Marcotullio, Peter J.; Sarzynski, Andrea P.; Albrecht, Jochen; Schulz, Niels; Garcia, Jake. 2013. The geography of global urban greenhouse gas emissions: An exploratory analysis . Climatic Change. Vol: 121. Pages 621-634.
Journal Article McDonald, Robert I.; Douglas, Ian; Revenga, Carmen; Hale, Rebecca; Grimm, Nancy B.; Gronwall, Jenny; Fekete, Balazs. 2011. Global urban growth and the geography of water availability, quality, and delivery. Ambio. Vol: 40(5). Pages 437-446.
Journal Article McDonald, Robert I.; Green, Pamela A.; Balk, Deborah; Fekete, Balazs; Revenga, Carmen; Todd, Megan; Montgomery, Mark. 2011. Urban growth, climate change, and freshwater availability. Proceedings of the National Academy of Sciences. Vol: 108(15). Pages 6312-6317.
Presentations McDonald, Robert I. 2011. Urbanisation and ecosystem services. World Water Week, Stockholm, August 2011.
Presentations McDonald, Robert I. 2012. Urban growth, climate change, and freshwater ecosystem services. Ecological Society of America annual meeting, Portland, OR, August 2012.
"Ecosystem services on an urbanizing planet: What 2 billion new urbanites means for air and water" is project ID: 12455