Engaging undergraduate students in ecological investigations using large, public datasets: Distributed Graduate Seminar

Principal Investigators:

Teresa Mourad, Wendy K. Gram, and Bruce Grant

The Ecological Society of America (ESA), in close partnership with NEON Inc., will facilitate a distributed seminar to focus on examining effective student activities and assessment strategies for using large public datasets in the classroom. The rapidly increasing availability and quantity of publicly accessible large scale datasets present an outstanding opportunity for minority-serving and small undergraduate institutions to introduce their students to a new digital age of ecology and environmental science. The teaching activities to be developed,... more

Participants and Meetings

Working Group Participants
ActivityDatesFurther Information
Meeting13th—17th July 2009Participant List  
Graduate Student1st January—30th June 2010Participant List  
Meeting11th—12th April 2011Participant List  

Participant Contact Information

Barbara Abrahambarbara.abraham@hamptonu.eduHampton University
Alexander D.W. Acholonuchiefacholonu@yahoo.comAlcorn State University
Steve Aulenbachsaulenbach@neoninc.orgNational Ecological Observatory Network, Inc. (NEON)
Marnie Carrollmkcarroll@dinecollege.eduDine College
Denny Fernandez del Visogamezdenny.fernandez@upr.eduUniversity of Puerto Rico, Humacao
Wendy K. Gramwgram@neoninc.orgNational Ecological Observatory Network, Inc. (NEON)
Bruce Grantbwgrant@widener.eduWidener University
Stephanie E. Hamptons.hampton@wsu.eduUniversity of California, Santa Barbara
John F. Hermancejohn_hermance@brown.eduBrown University
Tom A. Langentlangen@clarkson.eduClarkson University
Margaret Lowmancanopymeg@gmail.comNew College of Florida
Jose Luis Machadojmachad1@swarthmore.eduSwarthmore College
Teresa Mouradteresa@esa.orgEcological Society of America
Amelia Nudingamelia.nuding@gmail.comUniversity of California, Santa Barbara
Tiyi Brewsterbrewsttn@clarkson.eduClarkson University
Michael J. Colganmjcolgan@mail.widener.eduWidener University
Daniel Inghamdaniellatham.ingham@my.hamptonu.eduHampton University
Janice G. Lozada-Delgadojanice.lozada@upr.eduUniversity of Puerto Rico, Humacao
Katherine Restoreskatherine@hotmail.comUniversity of Puerto Rico, Humacao
Natasha Robinsonnatasha.robinson@my.hamptonu.eduHampton University
Josephine Rodriguezjjr5x@uvawise.eduUniversity of California, Santa Barbara
Rachael Rodriguezrodrigr@clarkson.eduClarkson University
Amy M. Thompsonamthomson@mail.widener.eduWidener University

Products: Publications, Reports, Datasets, Presentations, Visualizations

TypeProducts of NCEAS Research
Journal Article Langen, Tom A.; Mourad, Teresa; Grant, Bruce; Gram, Wendy K.; Abraham, Barbara; Fernandez, Denny; Carroll, Marnie; Nuding, Amelia; Balch, Jennifer K.; Rodriguez, Josephine; Hampton, Stephanie E. 2015. Using large public datasets in the undergraduate ecology classroom. Frontiers in Ecology and the Environment. Vol: 12. Pages 362-363.
Data Set Nuding, Amelia. 2010. EPA wadeable stream assessment data. (Online version)
"Engaging undergraduate students in ecological investigations using large, public datasets: Distributed Graduate Seminar" is project ID: 12460