Supporting decision making in the Coral Triangle Initiative: Prioritizing socially and economically viable projects and places for biodiversity conservation (EBM)

Principal Investigators:

Hugh P. Possingham, and Carissa J. Klein

The coral reefs of the Coral Triangle provide sanctuary for the highest concentration of marine biodiversity in the world and support the livelihoods and protein needs of millions of people. The health and productivity of these reefs are in serious decline from numerous threats, ranging from local threats such as over fishing and pollution, to the global threat of climate change. Local threats reduce the resilience of coral reefs to withstand global impacts from climate change, resulting in deterioration of reef structure and the ability of these... more

Participants and Meetings

Working Group Participants
ActivityDatesFurther Information
Working Group8th—10th December 2009Participant List  
Working Group5th—10th September 2010Participant List  
Working Group10th—13th May 2011Participant List  

Participant Contact Information

Maria Begerm.beger@uq.edu.auUniversity of Queensland
Joshua E. Cinnerjoshua.cinner@jcu.edu.auJames Cook University
Helen Foxhelen.fox@wwfus.orgWorld Wildlife Fund
Edward Gameegame@tnc.orgThe Nature Conservancy
Leah R. Gerberleah.gerber@asu.eduUniversity of California, Santa Barbara
Hedley Granthamh.grantham@uq.edu.auUniversity of Queensland
Abdul Halimahalim@tnc.orgThe Nature Conservancy
Benjamin S. Halpernhalpern@bren.ucsb.eduUniversity of California, Santa Barbara
Christina Hickschristina.c.hicks@googlemail.comJames Cook University
Leah B. Karrerl.karrer@conservation.orgConservation International
Carissa J. Kleinc.klein@uq.edu.auUniversity of Queensland
Richard Leckrleck@wwf.org.auWorld Wildlife Fund International
Fiorenza Michelimicheli@stanford.eduStanford University
Hugh P. Possinghamh.possingham@uq.edu.auUniversity of Queensland
Elizabeth R. Selige.selig@conservation.orgConservation International
Kimberly A. Selkoeselkoe@nceas.ucsb.eduUniversity of California, Santa Barbara
Mark Spaldingmspalding@tnc.orgThe Nature Conservancy
Annabelle Trinidadabbietrinidad@gmail.comConservation International
Vera N. Agostinivagostini@tnc.orgThe Nature Conservancy
Porfirio Alinopmalino@upmsi.phUniversity of the Philippines
Willie Atuwatu@tnc.orgThe Nature Conservancy
Travis Bovertravis.bover@environment.gov.auAustralian Government
Darmawandarmawan@indo.net.idCoral Triangle Initiative on Coral Reefs, Fisheries and Food Security
Leanne Fernandesleannef@earth2ocean.comUnknown
Alison Greenagreen@tnc.orgThe Nature Conservancy
Richard Hamiltonrhamilton@tnc.orgThe Nature Conservancy
James Hardcastlejhardcastle@tnc.orgThe Nature Conservancy
Robecca Juminrjumin@wwf.org.myWorld Wildlife Fund Malaysia
Stacy D. Jupitersjupiter@wcs.orgWildlife Conservation Society
Paul Lokaniplokani@tnc.orgThe Nature Conservancy
Azusa Makinoazusamakino@gmail.comUniversity of Queensland
Candice Mohancandice.mohan@environment.gov.au
Nor Aieni Hj. Mokhtarnoraieni@mosti.gov.myMinistry of Science, Technology and Innovation (MOSTI)
Stephen Oxleystephen.oxley@environment.gov.auAustralian Government
Eko Rudiantomrudiant@yahoo.comMinistry of Marine Affairs and Fisheries
Astrid Scholzajscholz@ecotrust.orgEcotrust
Danika Tagerdanikatager@gmail.comUniversity of Queensland
John Tanzerjmtanzer@bigpond.comEnvironmental Pathways and Solutions
Michael Bodebodem@unimelb.edu.auUniversity of Melbourne
Zach A. Ferdanazferdana@tnc.orgThe Nature Conservancy

Products: Publications, Reports, Datasets, Presentations, Visualizations

TypeProducts of NCEAS Research
Journal Article Klein, Carissa J.; Ban, Nathalie C.; Halpern, Benjamin S.; Beger, Maria; Game, Edward; Grantham, Hedley; Green, Alison; Klein, Travis J.; Kininmonth, Stuart; Treml, Eric; Wilson, Kerrie; Possingham, Hugh P. 2010. Prioritizing land and sea conservation investments to protect coral reefs. PLoS ONE. Vol: 5(8). Pages e12431.
Presentations Klein, Carissa J. 2010. Prioritizing land and sea investments to protect Coral Triangle reefs. Association for Tropical Biology and Conservation, July 2010. Indonesia.
Presentations Klein, Carissa J. 2011. Prioritizing land and sea investments to protect Coral Triangle reefs. International Marine Conservation Congress, May 2011. Canada.
Journal Article Klein, Carissa J.; Jupiter, Stacy D.; Selig, Elizabeth R.; Watts, Matthew E.; Halpern, Benjamin S.; Kamal, Muhammad; Roelfsema, Chris; Possingham, Hugh P. 2012. Forest conservation delivers highly variable coral reef conservation outcomes. Ecological Applications. Vol: 22. Pages 1246-1256. (Online version)
Presentations Klein, Carissa J. 2012. Forest conservation delivers highly variable outcomes for coral reef conservation. International Coral Reef Society, Cairns, Australia, July 2012.
Journal Article Klein, Carissa J.; Jupiter, Stacy D.; Watts, Matthew E.; Possingham, Hugh P. 2014. Evaluating the influence of candidate terrestrial protected areas on coral reef condition in Fiji. Marine Policy. Vol: 44. Pages 360-365. (Online version)
Journal Article Makino, Azusa; Klein, Carissa J.; Beger, Maria; Jupiter, Stacy D.; Possingham, Hugh P. 2013. Incorporating conservation zone effectiveness for protecting biodiversity in marine planning. PLoS ONE. Vol: 8(11). Pages e78986-e78986. (Online version)
Journal Article Makino, Azusa; Beger, Maria; Klein, Carissa J.; Jupiter, Stacy D.; Possingham, Hugh P. 2013. Integrated planning for land–sea ecosystem connectivity to protect coral reefs. Biological Conservation. Vol: 165. Pages 35-42. (Online version)
"Supporting decision making in the Coral Triangle Initiative: Prioritizing socially and economically viable projects and places for biodiversity conservation (EBM)" is project ID: 12463