Cultural ecosystem services from marine and coastal systems: Counting the intangibles (EBM)

Principal Investigators:

Anne D. Guerry, and Kai M.A. Chan

The field of ecosystem service science has begun to align economic incentives with conservation outcomes by identifying and valuing a more compete set of the services provided to humans by ecosystems than is traditionally considered in decision-making processes. Ecosystem services are the provision of things and experiences by ecosystems for people. The ecologists and economists working in this field have primarily focused on measuring, mapping, and valuing provisioning and regulating services; cultural services are always mentioned, but the integrated... more

Participants and Meetings

Working Group Participants
ActivityDatesFurther Information
Working Group24th—26th August 2009Participant List  
Working Group23rd—25th February 2010Participant List  
Working Group8th—10th February 2011Participant List  
Working Group4th—7th October 2011Participant List  

Participant Contact Information

Wiktor L. AdamowiczVic.Adamowicz@ales.ualberta.caUniversity of Alberta
Patricia Balvanerapattybalvanera@gmail.comUniversidad Nacional Autónoma de México (UNAM)
Xavier Basurtoxavier.basurto@duke.eduIndiana University
Ann Bostromabostrom@u.washington.eduUniversity of Washington
Gregory N. Bratmangbratman@stanford.eduUniversity of California, Santa Barbara
Kai M.A. Chankaichan@ires.ubc.caUniversity of British Columbia
Ratana Chuenpagdeeratanac@mun.caMemorial University of Newfoundland
Gretchen Dailygdaily@leland.stanford.eduStanford University
Rachelle K. Gouldrgould@stanford.eduStanford University
Anne D. Guerryanne.guerry@stanford.eduStanford University
Benjamin S. Halpernhalpern@bren.ucsb.eduUniversity of California, Santa Barbara
Neil J.K. Hannahsnehannah@ksbe.eduKamehameha Schools
Sarah C. Klains.klain@gmail.comUniversity of British Columbia
Jordan Levinelevine.jordan.s@gmail.comUniversity of British Columbia
Bryan Nortonbryan.norton@pubpolicy.gatech.eduGeorgia Institute of Technology
Mary Ruckelshausmary.ruckelshaus@stanford.eduNOAA, Northwest Fisheries Science Center
Roly Russellrolyrussell@gmail.comOregon State University
Debra M. Satzdsatz@stanford.eduStanford University
Heather Tallishtallis@tnc.orgStanford University
Ulalia Woodsideulwoodsi@ksbe.eduKamehameha Schools
Fikret Berkesberkes@cc.umanitoba.caUniversity of Manitoba
Terre Satterfieldsatterfd@interchange.ubc.caUniversity of British Columbia
Jordan Tamjordan.tam@gmail.comUniversity of British Columbia

Products: Publications, Reports, Datasets, Presentations, Visualizations

TypeProducts of NCEAS Research
Presentations Chan, Kai M.A. 2011. Can ecosystem services improve decision-making? Values, cultural services, and a proposed framework. EcoLunch, NCEAS, Santa Barbara, CA, Oct 2011.
Presentations Chan, Kai M.A. 2011. Can ecosystem services research improve decision-making? Values, cultural services, and a proposed framework. Ecology Centre Seminar Series, University of Queensland, Brisbane, Australia, November 2011.
Presentations Chan, Kai M.A. 2011. Can ecosystem services research improve decision-making? Values, cultural services, and a proposed framework. Natural Capital Project seminar series, Stanford University, Stanford, CA, May 2011.
Presentations Chan, Kai M.A. 2011. Where are ‘cultural’ and ‘social’ in ecosystem services? A framework for constructive engagement. Resource and Environmental Management Seminar Series, Simon Fraser University, Burnaby, BC, September 2011.
Presentations Chan, Kai M.A. 2012. Not impossible: Integrating ecological considerations and cultural values into decision-making. Ecological Society of America, Portland, OR, August 2012.
Presentations Chan, Kai M.A. 2012. Not impossible: Integrating ecological considerations and cultural values into decision-making . Ecological Society of America annual meeting, August 2012; Portland, OR.
Journal Article Chan, Kai M.A.; Satterfield, Terre; Goldstein, Joshua. 2012. Rethinking ecosystem services to better address and navigate cultural values. Ecological Economics. Vol: 74. Pages 8-18. (Online version)
Presentations Chan, Kai M.A. 2012. The tangible—and intangible—values of nature. Fulbright Public Lecture and Bren Community Colloquim, UCSB, Santa Barbara, CA, January 2012.
Presentations Chan, Kai M.A. 2012. The tangible—and intangible—values of nature. Olajos-Goslow Lecture in Environmental Science and Policy, Northern Arizona University, Flagstaff, AZ, Feb 2012.
Journal Article Chan, Kai M.A.; Guerry, Anne D.; Balvanera, Patricia; Klain, Sarah C.; Satterfield, Terre; Basurto, Xavier; Bostrom, Ann; Chuenpagdee, Ratana; Gould, Rachelle K.; Halpern, Benjamin S.; Hannahs, Neil J.K.; Levine, Jordan; Norton, Bryan; Ruckelshaus, Mary; Russell, Roly; Tam, Jordan; Woodside, Ulalia. 2012. Where are cultural and social in ecosystem services? A framework for constructive engagement. BioScience. Vol: 62(8). Pages 744-756. (Online version)
Presentations Chan, Kai M.A. 2013. Can ecosystem services research improve decision-making? Values, cultural services, and a proposed framework. US National Oceanic and Atmospheric Administration (NOAA), Northwest Fisheries Science Center (NWFSC) Monster Jam; February 2013; Seattle, WA.
Presentations Chan, Kai M.A. 2013. Can ES research improve decision-making? The role of cultural services, and a framework for engagement. Helmholtz-Centre for Environmental Research - UFZ, Environmental Research Seminar; May 2013; Leipzig, Germany.
Presentations Chan, Kai M.A. 2013. Crossing the great divide: Interdisciplinary collaboration in conservation. Columbia University, Institute for Social and Economic Research and Policy (ISERP) Seminar; April 2013, New York, NY.
Presentations Chan, Kai M.A. 2013. Not impossible: Integrating ecological considerations and cultural values into decision-making. North Pacific Marine Science Organization (PICES) Marine Ecosystem Services symposium; Oct 2013; Nanaimo, BC, Canada .
Presentations Chan, Kai M.A. 2013. Not impossible: Integrating ecological considerations and cultural values into decision-making. Thompson Rivers University, Environmental Sciences Seminar Series; Sep 2013; Kamloops, BC, Canada.
Journal Article Gould, Rachelle K.; Ardoin, Nicole M.; Woodside, Ulalia; Satterfield, Terre; Hannahs, Neil J.K.; Daily, Gretchen. 2014. The Forest has a story: Cultural ecosystem services in Kona, Hawaii. Ecology and Society. Vol: 19(3). Pages 55.
Journal Article Gould, Rachelle K.; Klain, Sarah C.; Ardoin, Nicole M.; Satterfield, Terre; Woodside, Ulalia; Hannahs, Neil J.K.; Daily, Gretchen; Chan, Kai M.A. in press. A Protocol for Eliciting Nonmaterial Values Through a Cultural Ecosystem Services Frame. Conservation Biology.
Presentations Guerry, Anne D. 2012. Cultural Ecosystem Services: Just warm fuzzies or critical for decision-making. Ecological Society of America annual meeting, Portland, OR, August 2012. Portland, OR.
Dissertation or Thesis Klain, Sarah C. 2010. Navigating marine ecosystem services and values.
Presentations Klain, Sarah C. 2011. Navigating ocean values, January 10-14. International Association for Sustaining the Commons. Hyderabad, India .
Journal Article Klain, Sarah C.; Chan, Kai M.A. 2012. Navigating coastal values: Participatory mapping of ecosystem services for spatial planning. Ecological Economics. Vol: 82. Pages 104-113. (Online version)
Journal Article Klain, Sarah C.; Satterfield, Terre; Chan, Kai M.A. 2014. What matters and why? Ecosystem services and their bundled qualities. Ecological Economics. Vol: 107. Pages 310-320.
Journal Article Russell, Roly; Guerry, Anne D.; Balvanera, Patricia; Gould, Rachelle K.; Basurto, Xavier; Chan, Kai M.A.; Klain, Sarah C.; Levine, Jordan; Tam, Jordan. 2013. Humans and nature: How knowing and experiencing nature affect well-being. Annual Review of Environment and Resources. Vol: 38. Pages 473-502. (Online version)
Journal Article Satz, Debra M.; Gould, Rachelle K.; Chan, Kai M.A.; Guerry, Anne D.; Norton, Bryan; Satterfield, Terre; Halpern, Benjamin S.; Levine, Jordan; Woodside, Ulalia; Hannahs, Neil J.K.; Basurto, Xavier; Klain, Sarah C. 2013. The challenges of incorporating cultural ecosystem services into environmental assessment. Ambio. Pages 1-10. (Online version)
"Cultural ecosystem services from marine and coastal systems: Counting the intangibles (EBM)" is project ID: 12464