A framework to assess ecosystem health in support of ecosystem-based management of coastal-marine systems (EBM)

Principal Investigators:

Karen L. McLeod, Larry B. Crowder, Michael J. Fogarty, and Andrew A. Rosenberg

Maintaining healthy, productive marine ecosystems is a recurrent theme in policy recommendations, management deliberations, and public sentiment. While healthy oceans are a broadly shared goal, distinct vital signs to gauge the state of oceans have not been widely implemented, yet are essential for effective policy-making. This working group will reduce hundreds of candidate indicators to a manageable set that will serve as critical monitoring and planning tools for effective marine ecosystem-based management. Specifically, we will bring together... more

Participants and Meetings

Working Group Participants
ActivityDatesFurther Information
Working Group20th—22nd January 2010Participant List  
Working Group3rd—5th October 2010Participant List  
Working Group14th—16th June 2011Participant List  
Working Group11th—13th January 2012Participant List  

Participant Contact Information

Daniel R. Brumbaughdbrumbaugh@amnh.orgAmerican Museum of Natural History
Larry B. Crowderlarry.crowder@stanford.eduDuke University
Kendra L. Dalykdaly@marine.usf.eduUniversity of South Florida
Michael J. Fogartymichael.fogarty@noaa.govNOAA, National Marine Fisheries Service (NMFS)
Steven D. Gainesgaines@bren.ucsb.eduUniversity of California, Santa Barbara
Benjamin S. Halpernhalpern@bren.ucsb.eduUniversity of California, Santa Barbara
Leah B. Karrerl.karrer@conservation.orgConservation International
Steven K. Katonasteven.katona1@gmail.comUnknown
Heather M. Leslieheather_leslie@brown.eduBrown University
Karen L. McLeodkaren.mcleod@compassonline.orgOregon State University
Stephen Polaskypolasky@umn.eduUniversity of Minnesota, Twin Cities
Andrew A. RosenbergUniversity of New Hampshire
Jameal Samhourijameal.samhouri@noaa.govNOAA, National Marine Fisheries Service (NMFS)
Paul Sandiferpaul.sandifer@noaa.govNational Oceanic and Atmospheric Administration (NOAA)
Janna Shackeroffjanna.shackeroff@noaa.govUnknown
William W. Stellewill.stelle@klgates.comK and L Gates, LLP
Kevin St. Martinkstmarti@rci.rutgers.eduState University of New Jersey, Rutgers
Heather Tallishtallis@tnc.orgStanford University
F. Stuart Chapinfschapiniii@alaska.eduUniversity of Alaska, Fairbanks
Braxton C. Davisdavisbc@dhec.sc.govSouth Carolina Department of Health and Environmental Control
Scott Doneysdoney@whoi.eduWoods Hole Oceanographic Institution
Catherine S. Longolongo@nceas.ucsb.eduUniversity of California, Santa Barbara
Elizabeth Neeleyeneeley@compassonline.orgUniversity of Washington
Jennifer K. O'Learyoleary.biology@gmail.comUniversity of California, Santa Barbara
Sarah E. Lesterlester@msi.ucsb.eduUniversity of California, Santa Barbara
Elizabeth R. Selige.selig@conservation.orgConservation International
Marla Ranellettiranelletti@nceas.ucsb.eduUniversity of California, Santa Barbara
Courtney E. Scarboroughscarborough@nceas.ucsb.eduUniversity of California, Santa Barbara

Products: Publications, Reports, Datasets, Presentations, Visualizations

TypeProducts of NCEAS Research
Presentations Halpern, Benjamin S.; McLeod, Karen L.; Longo, Catherine S.; Samhouri, Jameal. 2011. Fleshing out the Ocean Health Index: The conceptual framework for a single measure of ecosystem health. Int'l Marine Conservation Congress. 5/18/2011 . Victoria, Canada.
Presentations Kleisner, Kristin; Halpern, Benjamin S.; Longo, Catherine S.; Scarborough, Courtney E.; Samhouri, Jameal; Pauly, D. M. 2011. Exploring indicators of fishing pressures in the context of the OHI with a focus on correcting the Marine Trophic Index for geographic expansion. . Int'l Marine Conservation Congress, 18 May 2011. Victoria, Canada.
Presentations Samhouri, Jameal; Halpern, Benjamin S.; Longo, Catherine S.; McLeod, Karen L.; Fogarty, Michael J. 2011. Good, bad, better, worse: Establishing appropriate reference points for ocean health. Int'l Marine Conservation Congress, 18 May 2011. Victoria, Canada.
Journal Article Samhouri, Jameal; Lester, Sarah E.; Selig, Elizabeth R.; Halpern, Benjamin S.; Fogarty, Michael J.; Longo, Catherine S.; McLeod, Karen L. 2012. Sea sick? Setting targets to assess ocean health and ecosystem services. Ecosphere. Vol: 3(5). Pages art41-art41.
Journal Article Selig, Elizabeth R.; Longo, Catherine S.; Halpern, Benjamin S.; Best, Benjamin D.; Hardy, Darren; Elfes, Cristiane T.; Scarborough, Courtney E.; Kleisner, Kristin; Katona, Steven K. 2013. Assessing global marine biodiversity status within a coupled socio-ecological perspective. PLoS ONE. Vol: 8. Pages e60284-null. (Online version)
"A framework to assess ecosystem health in support of ecosystem-based management of coastal-marine systems (EBM)" is project ID: 12470