Tidal wetland carbon sequestration and greenhouse gas emissions model

Principal Investigators:

John C. Callaway, Steve Crooks, Abe Doherty, and Pat Megonigal

Wetlands are important in global carbon cycling because they accumulate carbon in wood and soil organic matter, but they also emit methane, CH444, a potent greenhouse gas (GHG) (Bridgham et al. 2006). Tidal wetlands are a potentially effective sink for carbon through accretionary processes both in response to sea-level rise or via restoration (Chmura et al. 2003, Duarte et al. 2005, Crooks et al. 2009). Tidal wetlands also have low methane emissions, making restoration of these wetlands a promising technique for reducing greenhouse gas emissions.... more

Participants and Meetings

Working Group Participants
ActivityDatesFurther Information
Working Group24th—27th March 2010Participant List  
Working Group15th—18th September 2010Participant List  
Working Group13th—16th September 2011Participant List  

Participant Contact Information

Richard F. Ambroserambrose@ucla.eduUniversity of California, Los Angeles
Omar I. Azizoabdulaz@fiu.eduUS Geological Survey (USGS) EROS Center
John C. Callawaycallaway@usfca.eduUniversity of San Francisco
Christopher Craftccraft@indiana.eduIndiana University
Steve Crooksscrooks@esassoc.comPhilip Williams And Associates, Ltd.
Abe DohertyAbe.Doherty@resources.ca.govCalifornia Coastal Conservancy
Stephen Faulknersfaulkner@usgs.govUS Geological Survey (USGS) National Wetlands Research Center
Jason Kellerjkeller@chapman.eduChapman University
Shuguang Liusliu@usgs.govUS Geological Survey (USGS)
Pat Megonigalmegonigalp@si.eduSmithsonian Environmental Research Center
Sian Mooneysianmooney@boisestate.eduBoise State University
James Morrismorris@biol.sc.eduUniversity of South Carolina
Enrique Reyesreyese@ecu.eduEast Carolina University
Lisa M. Schilelschile@berkeley.eduUniversity of California, Berkeley
Lisamarie Windham-Myerslwindham@usgs.govUS Geological Survey (USGS)
Kathryn Bickel Goldmankathryn@climateactionreserve.orgClimate Action Reserve
Kim Diana Connollykimconno@buffalo.eduState University of New York (SUNY), Buffalo

Products: Publications, Reports, Datasets, Presentations, Visualizations

TypeProducts of NCEAS Research
Journal Article Aziz, Omar I.; Mantua, Nathan J.; Myers, Kate. 2011. Potential climate change impacts on thermal habitats of Pacific salmon Oncorhynchus spp in the North Pacific Ocean and adjacent seas. Canadian Journal of Fisheries and Aquatic Sciences. Vol: 68(9). Pages 1660-1680. (Online version)
Journal Article Schile, Lisa M.; Callaway, John C.; Morris, James; Stralberg, Diana; Parker, V.; Kelly, Maggi. 2014. Modeling tidal marsh distribution with sea-level rise: Evaluating the role of vegetation, sediment, and upland habitat in marsh resiliency. PLoS ONE. Vol: 9. Pages e88760-null.
"Tidal wetland carbon sequestration and greenhouse gas emissions model" is project ID: 12503