Developing curricula and model systems for sustainability science

Principal Investigators:

Jeannine M. Cavender-Bares, and Stephen Polasky

Sustaining the systems that support life while meeting human needs represents one of the greatest challenges that we face in the 21st century. Sustainability science is a use-inspired science aimed at addressing this challenge. We propose a two-year distributed graduate seminar across six institutions to address core concepts in sustainability science and to develop model systems for advancement of theory and tools for sustainable management. The collaboration will benefit from interaction and synthesis across institutions and disciplines, the hallmark... more

Participants and Meetings

Working Group Participants
ActivityDatesFurther Information
Meeting30th—31st August 2010Participant List  
Meeting14th—16th October 2011Participant List  
Meeting20th—23rd April 2012Participant List  

Participant Contact Information

Sara Avilasavila@princeton.eduPrinceton University
David Baelbael0001@umn.eduUniversity of Minnesota
Patricia Balvanerapattybalvanera@gmail.comUniversidad Nacional Autónoma de México (UNAM)
Karina Benessaiahkbenessa@asu.eduArizona State University
Jeannine M. Cavender-Barescavender@umn.eduUniversity of Minnesota, Twin Cities
Bistra Dilkinabistra@cs.cornell.eduCornell University
Carla P. Gomesgomes@cs.cornell.eduCornell University
James Heffernanjheffer@fiu.eduFlorida International University
Juan C. Hernandez Barriosjuan.carlos.hb@gmail.comUniversidad Nacional Autónoma de México (UNAM)
Elizabeth Kingegking@uga.eduPrinceton University
Ann P. Kinzigkinzig@asu.eduArizona State University
Stephen Polaskypolasky@umn.eduUniversity of Minnesota, Twin Cities
Billie L. Turnerbillie.l.turner@asu.eduArizona State University
Martin Cadena Salgadomcadena@oikos.unam.mxUniversidad Nacional Autónoma de México (UNAM)
Eva Kaye-Zwiebelevainkenya@gmail.comPrinceton University
Omar Maseraomasera@gmail.comUniversidad Nacional Autónoma de México (UNAM)
Francisco Mora Ardilafmora@oikos.unam.mxUniversidad Nacional Autónoma de México (UNAM), Morelia
Tuyeni Mwampambathmwampamba@gmail.comUniversidad Nacional Autónoma de México (UNAM)
Karen Allenkarenallenporras@gmail.comUniversity of Georgia
Patrick Ewingewing069@umn.eduUniversity of Minnesota
Bryan Runckrunck014@umn.eduUniversity of Minnesota

Products: Publications, Reports, Datasets, Presentations, Visualizations

TypeProducts of NCEAS Research
Presentations Cadena Salgado, Martin. 2012. Applying an analytical framework for sustainability science across contrasting biophysical, cultural, and institutional contexts. EcoSummit 2012, Columbus, Ohio, 30 September 2012 to 5 October 2012.
Presentations Cavender-Bares, Jeannine M. 2012. Applying an analytical framework for sustainability science across contrasting biophysical, cultural, and institutional contexts. EcoSummit 2012 Symposium, Columbus, Ohio, 1 October 2012 .
Presentations Cavender-Bares, Jeannine M. 2012. Innovations and lessons learned in distributed graduate education on sustainability science. Long Term Ecological Research National Science Foundation Symposium, Arlington, VA, 1 March 2012. (Online version)
Book Chapter Cavender-Bares, Jeannine M.; Heffernan, James; King, Elizabeth; Polasky, Stephen; Balvanera, Patricia; Clark, William. 2013. Sustainability and biodiversity. Edited by Levin, Simon Encyclopedia of Biodiversity. Academic Press. Oxford. Pages 71-84.
Journal Article Cavender-Bares, Jeannine M.; Polasky, Stephen; King, Elizabeth; Balvanera, Patricia. 2015. A sustainability framework for assessing trade-offs in ecosystem services . Ecology and Society. Vol: 20(1). Pages 17.
Journal Article Cavender-Bares, Jeannine M.; Balvanera, Patricia; King, Elizabeth; Polasky, Stephen. 2015. Ecosystem service trade-offs across global contexts and scales. Ecology and Society. Vol: 20(1). Pages 22.
Journal Article Ewing, Patrick; Runck, Bryan. 2015. Optimizing nitrogen rates in the midwestern United States for maximum ecosystem value. Ecology and Society. Vol: 20(1). Pages 18.
"Developing curricula and model systems for sustainability science" is project ID: 12584