Plants for planting

Principal Investigators:

Kerry O. Britton

This working group will evaluate data availability and quality for an assessment of the costs and benefits of implementing changes to USDA Plants for Planting regulations to prevent the unintentional importation of invasive pests carried on plants into the United States.. Three scenarios will be considered: 1) status quo, in which the U.S. mainly relies on a black list system and port of entry inspections; 2) status quo plus a new category of “grey listed” plants called NAPPRA (Not Authorized for Importation Pending Pest Risk Analysis); and... more

Participants and Meetings

Working Group Participants
ActivityDatesFurther Information
Working Group12th—16th July 2010Participant List  

Participant Contact Information

Clive Brasierclive.brasier@forestry.gsi.gov.ukCentre for Forestry and Climate Change
Kerry O. Brittonkbritton01@fs.fed.usUSDA Forest Service
Eckehard G. Brockerhoffeckehard.brockerhoff@scionresearch.comNew Zealand Forest Research Institute
Lynn J. Garrettlynn.j.garrett@aphis.usda.govUSDA Animal and Plant Health Inspection Service (APHIS)
Andrew M. Liebholdaliebhold@gmail.comUSDA Forest Service
Frank Lowensteinflowenstein@tnc.orgThe Nature Conservancy
Carissa Marassascarissa.marasas@aphis.usda.govUSDA Animal and Plant Health Inspection Service (APHIS), PPQ
Amelia Nudingamelia.nuding@gmail.comUniversity of California, Santa Barbara
Jennifer Parkejennifer.parke@oregonstate.eduOregon State University
Scott E. Pfisterscott.e.pfister@aphis.usda.govUSDA Animal and Plant Health Inspection Service (APHIS), PPQ
Michael Springbornmspringborn@ucdavis.eduUniversity of California, Davis
Karen Suslowksuslow@hineshort.comUnknown
John Peter Thompsonipetrus@msn.comUnknown
James A. Turnerjames.turner@agresearch.co.nzScion

Products: Publications, Reports, Datasets, Presentations, Visualizations

TypeProducts of NCEAS Research
Presentations Britton, Kerry O. 2011. Plants for planting: How many pests, and at what price? . USDA Interagency Forum on Invasive Species. Annapolis, Maryland.
Presentations Garrett, Lynn J. 2011. Trends in live plant imports. 22nd USDA Interagency Research Forum on Invasive Species. Annapolis, Maryland.
Presentations Garrett, Lynn J. 2011. Trends in live plant imports. USDA, Animal and Plant Health Inspection Service, Plant Protection and Quarantine.
Journal Article Liebhold, Andrew M.; Brockerhoff, Eckehard G.; Garrett, Lynn J.; Parke, Jennifer; Britton, Kerry O. 2012. Live plant imports: The major pathway for forest insect and pathogen invasions of the US. Frontiers in Ecology and the Environment. Vol: 10(3). Pages 135-143. (Online version)
Data Set Liebhold, Andrew M. 2012. Live plant imports: The major pathway for forest insect and pathogen invasions of the US. (Online version)
"Plants for planting" is project ID: 12587