Tropical coral reefs of the future: Modeling ecological outcomes from the analyses of current and historical trends

Principal Investigators:

Peter J. Edmunds, and Ruth D. Gates

Climate change and local impacts are driving unprecedented global declines in the integrity of marine ecosystems. Although reefs generally exemplify this biome degradation, some reefs and individuals corals on reefs appear surprisingly resistant or resilient to environmental disturbances. This suggests that they are better adapted, or possess community and/or organismic attributes that make them less vulnerable or better equipped to recover. We propose to synthesize data from long-term coral monitoring projects and the primary literature to identify... more

Participants and Meetings

Working Group Participants
ActivityDatesFurther Information
Working Group21st—26th February 2011Participant List  
Working Group6th—9th July 2011Participant List  
Working Group29th—31st August 2012Participant List  

Participant Contact Information

Mehdi Adjeroudmehdi.adjeroud@ird.frInstitut de Recherche pour le Développement
Marissa L. Baskettmlbaskett@ucdavis.eduUniversity of California, Davis
Julia K. Baumbaum@uvic.caUniversity of California, Santa Barbara
Iliana B. Baumsbaums@psu.eduPennsylvania State University
Ann F. Buddann-budd@uiowa.eduUniversity of Iowa
Robert Carpenterrobert.carpenter@csun.eduCalifornia State University, Northridge
Peter J. Edmundspeter.edmunds@csun.eduCalifornia State University, Northridge
Nicholas S. Fabinansfabina@ucdavis.eduUniversity of California, Davis
Tung- Yung Fantyfan@nmmba.gov.twNational Museum of Marine Biology and Aquarium
Erik Franklinerik.franklin@hawaii.eduUniversity of Hawaii
Ruth D. Gatesrgates@hawaii.eduUniversity of California, Santa Barbara
Kevin Grosskevin_gross@ncsu.eduNorth Carolina State University
Xueying Hanxhan@lifesci.ucsb.eduUniversity of California, Santa Barbara
Lianne Jacobsonliannejacobson@gmail.comCalifornia State University, Northridge
Timothy R. McClanahantmcclanahan@wcs.orgWildlife Conservation Society Kenya
Jennifer K. O'Learyoleary.biology@gmail.comUniversity of California, Santa Barbara
Xavier Pochonpochon@hawaii.eduUniversity of Hawaii, Mānoa
Hollie M. Putnamhputnam@hawaii.eduUniversity of Hawaii
Tyler B. Smithtsmith@uvi.eduUniversity of the Virgin Islands
Michael Statstat@hawaii.eduUniversity of Hawaii, Mānoa
Madeleine J.H. van Oppenm.vanoppen@aims.gov.auAustralian Institute of Marine Science
Robert van Woesikrvw@fit.eduFlorida Institute of Technology
Amanda Fishbinafishbin@yahoo.com
Chandler Jenningsiluvwhales21@gmail.com
Sarah Kaufmanskaufman1102@aol.com
James S. Klausj.klaus@miami.eduUniversity of Miami
Lorenzo Bramantiphilebo@gmail.comCalifornia State University, Northridge
Scott Burgessscburgess@ucdavis.eduUniversity of California, Davis
Michael Lessermlesser@nsf.govUniversity of New Hampshire
Chris Wallcbw0047@gmail.comCalifornia State University, Northridge
Denise Yostdmyost@hawaii.eduHawaii Institute of Marine Biology

Products: Publications, Reports, Datasets, Presentations, Visualizations

TypeProducts of NCEAS Research
Journal Article Baskett, Marissa L.; Fabina, Nicholas S.; Gross, Kevin. 2014. Response diversity can increase ecological resilience to disturbance in coral reefs. American Naturalist. Vol: 184(2). Pages E16-E31.
Journal Article Edmunds, Peter J.; Baskett, Marissa L.; Bramanti, Lorenzo; Burgess, Scott; Fabina, Nicholas S.; Han, Xueying; Lesser, Michael; Putnam, Hollie M.; Wall, Chris; Yost, Denise; Gates, Ruth D. 2014. Evaluating the causal basis of ecological success within the Scleractinia:An integral projection model approach. Marine Biology. Vol: 6(12). Pages 2719-2734.
Journal Article Edmunds, Peter J.; Adjeroud, Mehdi; Baskett, Marissa L.; Baums, Iliana B.; Budd, Ann F.; Carpenter, Robert; Fabina, Nicholas S.; Fan, Tung- Yung; Franklin, Erik; Gross, Kevin; Han, Xueying; Jacobson, Lianne; Klaus, James S.; McClanahan, Timothy R.; O'Leary, Jennifer K.; van Oppen, Madeleine J.H.; Pochon, Xavier; Putnam, Hollie M.; Smith, Tyler B.; Stat, Michael; Sweatman, H.; van Woesik, Robert; Gates, Ruth D. 2014. Persistence and change in community composition of reef corals through present,past and future climates. PLoS ONE. Vol: 9(10). Pages e107525.
Journal Article Fabina, Nicholas S.; Putnam, Hollie M.; Franklin, Erik; Stat, Michael; Gates, Ruth D. 2012. Transmission mode predicts specificity and interaction patterns in coral-symbiodinium networks. PLoS ONE. Vol: 7. Pages e44970-e44970. (Online version)
Journal Article Fabina, Nicholas S.; Baskett, Marissa L.; Gross, Kevin. in press. The differential effects of increasing frequency and magnitude of extreme events on coral populations. Ecological Applications.
Journal Article Franklin, Erik; Stat, Michael; Pochon, Xavier; Putnam, Hollie M.; Gates, Ruth D. 2011. GeoSymbio: A hybrid, cloud-based web application of global geospatial bioinformatics and ecoinformatics for Symbiodinium-host symbioses. Molecular Ecology Resources. Vol: 12(2). Pages 369-373. (Online version)
Data Set Franklin, Erik. 2011. GeoSymbio: Symbiodinium-host symbioses. (Online version)
Data Set Franklin, Erik. 2011. GeoSymbio: Symbiodinium-host symbioses. (Online version)
Journal Article Gross, Kevin; Edmunds, Peter J. 2015. Stability of Caribbean coral communities quantified by long-term monitoring and autoregression models . Ecology. Vol: 96. Pages 1812-1822.
Data Set Han, Xueying. 2011. Expert opinion on coral tolerance, recovery, and resilience. (Online version)
Data Set Han, Xueying. 2011. Long term coral cover changes from six sites around the world. (Online version)
Journal Article Smith, Tyler B.; Brandt, Marilyn E.; Calnan, J. M.; Nemeth, Richard S.; Blondeau, J.; Kadison, E.; Taylor, M.; Rothenberger, P. 2013. Convergent mortality responses of Caribbean coral species to seawater warming. Ecosphere. Vol: 4(7). Pages 1-40. (Online version)
Journal Article van Woesik, Robert; Franklin, Erik; O'Leary, Jennifer K.; McClanahan, Timothy R.; Klaus, James S.; Budd, Ann F. 2012. Hosts of the Plio-Pleistocene past reflect modern-day coral vulnerability. Proceedings of the Royal Society B-Biological Sciences. Vol: 279(1737). Pages 2448-2456. (Online version)
"Tropical coral reefs of the future: Modeling ecological outcomes from the analyses of current and historical trends" is project ID: 12595