Ecotoxicology of the gulf oil spill: A holistic framework for assessing impacts

Principal Investigators:

Sean S. Anderson, Gary Cherr, and Charles H. Peterson

The largest oil spill in U.S. history, infused with dispersants released into the waters of the northern Gulf of Mexico in response to this still-unfolding disaster, has created an unprecedented threat to the ecology of coastal and marine communities. To date, most efforts have been directed towards halting the spill or documenting its current state. With apparently limited ecotoxicological information, governmental and private entities are preparing to create and fund large-scale and long-term monitoring efforts across the Gulf. We propose... more

Participants and Meetings

Working Group Participants
ActivityDatesFurther Information
Working Group14th—17th September 2010Participant List  
Working Group14th—16th December 2010Participant List  

Participant Contact Information

Richard F. Ambroserambrose@ucla.eduUniversity of California, Los Angeles
Sean S. Andersonsean.anderson@csuci.eduCalifornia State University Channel Islands
Shelly Angherasanghera@anchorqea.comAnchor QEA
Steven Baysteveb@sccwrp.orgSouthern California Coastal Water Research Project
Gary Cherrgncherr@ucdavis.eduUniversity of California, Davis
Robert H. Condoncondonr@uncw.eduBermuda Institute of Ocean Sciences (BIOS)
Thomas A. Deantomdean@coastalresources.usCoastal Resources Associates Inc.
William M. Grahammonty.graham@usm.eduDauphin Island Sea Laboratory
Michael Guzyguzym@engr.orst.eduOregon State University
Stephanie E. Hamptons.hampton@wsu.eduUniversity of California, Santa Barbara
Samantha Joyemjoye@uga.eduUniversity of Georgia
John Lambrinoslambrinj@hort.oregonstate.eduOregon State University
Bruce Matebruce.mate@oregonstate.eduOregon State University
Douglas Meffertdmeffert@tulane.eduTulane University
Charles H. Petersoncpeters@email.unc.eduUniversity of North Carolina, Chapel Hill
Sean P. Powersspowers@usouthal.eduUniversity of South Alabama
Christopher Reddycreddy@whoi.eduWoods Hole Oceanographic Institution
Ponisseril Somasundaranps24@columbia.eduColumbia University
Robert Spiesspies.b@gmail.comApplied Marine Sciences
Caroline M. Taylorcaz@tulane.eduTulane University
Ronald S. Tjeerdemarstjeerdema@ucdavis.eduUniversity of California, Davis
Joseph Torresjtorres@marine.usf.eduUniversity of South Florida
Kimberly A. Trustkim_trust@fws.govUS Fish and Wildlife Service (FWS)
Nancy Baronnbaron@compassonline.orgCommunication Partnership for Science and the Sea (COMPASS)
Michael Blummjblum@tulane.eduTulane University

Products: Publications, Reports, Datasets, Presentations, Visualizations

TypeProducts of NCEAS Research
Journal Article Anderson, Sean S.; Peterson, Charles H.; Cherr, Gary; Hampton, Stephanie E.; Blum, Michael. 2012. Casual observations on DWH dispersant effects expose the lack of rigorous science: Response to Rorick and colleagues. BioScience. Vol: 62(12). Pages 1010-1011. (Online version)
Book Chapter Anderson, Sean S.; Peterson, Charles H.; Cherr, Gary; Ambrose, Richard F.; Anghera, Shelly; Bay, Steven; Blum, Michael; Condon, Robert H.; Dean, Thomas A.; Graham, William M.; Guzy, Michael; Hampton, Stephanie E.; Joye, Samantha; Lambrinos, John; Mate, Bruce; Meffert, Douglas; Powers, Sean P.; Somasundaran, Ponisseril; Spies, Robert; Taylor, Caroline M.; Tjeerdema, Ronald S. 2014. Understanding and properly interpreting the 2010 deepwater horizon blowout. Edited by Somasundaran, S., Parta, P., Farinato, R.S., Papadopoulos, K. Oil Spill Remediation: Colloid Chemistry-Based Principles and Solutions. John Wiley & Sons, Inc.. Hoboken. Pages 19-58.
Journal Article Peterson, Charles H.; Anderson, Sean S.; Cherr, Gary; Ambrose, Richard F.; Anghera, Shelly; Bay, Steven; Blum, Michael; Condon, Robert H.; Dean, Thomas A.; Graham, William M.; Guzy, Michael; Hampton, Stephanie E.; Joye, Samantha; Lambrinos, John; Mate, Bruce; Meffert, Douglas; Powers, Sean P.; Somasundaran, Ponisseril; Spies, Robert; Taylor, Caroline M.; Tjeerdema, Ronald S.; Adams, Edward E. 2012. A tale of two spills: Novel science and policy implications of an emerging new oil spill model. BioScience. Vol: 62(5). Pages 461-469. (Online version)
"Ecotoxicology of the gulf oil spill: A holistic framework for assessing impacts" is project ID: 12605