Development and application of scientific knowledge to ecosystem-based management of coastal marine systems

Principal Investigators:

Edward McCauley

Two complementary projects supporting this initiative aim to develop scientific knowledge about ecological, social, and economic processes that affect ecosystem-based management and governance of coastal-marine ecosystems. To achieve these goals, we support synthetic and often multidisciplinary work conducted by collaborative teams of researchers, managers, and policy-makers and by postdoctoral associates. We emphasize translation of results to end users and decision-makers by collaborating with communications professionals and by ensuring that... more

Participants and Meetings

ActivityDatesFurther Information
Training Workshop14th—15th December 2010Participant List  
Training Workshop16th—18th March 2011Participant List  

Participant Contact Information

Tundi Agardytundiagardy@earthlink.netSound Seas
Deerin Babb-Brottdeerin.babb-brott@state.ma.usMassachusetts Ocean Action Coalition
Michael W. Beckmbeck@tnc.orgThe Nature Conservancy
Chris Caldowchris.caldow@noaa.govNational Oceanic and Atmospheric Administration (NOAA)
Margaret Caldwellmegc@law.stanford.eduStanford University
Laura Cantrallcantral@merid.orgMeridian Institute
Sarah Chasisschasis@nrdc.orgNatural Resources Defense Council
Simon Crippsscripps@dorsetwildlife.co.ukDorset Wildlife Trust
Larry B. Crowderlarry.crowder@stanford.eduDuke University
Jon Dayj.day@gbrmpa.gov.auGreat Barrier Reef Marine Park Authority
Jordan Diamonddiamond@eli.orgEnvironmental Law Institute
Paul Doremuspaul.n.doremus@noaa.govNational Oceanic and Atmospheric Administration (NOAA)
Euan Dunneuan.dunn@rspb.org.ukRoyal Society for the Protection of Birds
Guilherme Dutrag.dutra@conservation.org.brConservation International
William Eichbaumbill.eichbaum@wwfus.orgWorld Wildlife Fund
Steven D. Gainesgaines@bren.ucsb.eduUniversity of California, Santa Barbara
Stefan Gelcichsgelcich@bio.puc.clPontificia Universidad Católica de Chile
Mary Gleasonmgleason@tnc.orgThe Nature Conservancy
Benjamin S. Halpernhalpern@nceas.ucsb.eduUniversity of California, Santa Barbara
Simon JenningsSimon.Jennings@uea.ac.ukCentre for Environment, Fisheries and Aquaculture Science
Sarah E. Lesterlester@msi.ucsb.eduUniversity of California, Santa Barbara
Kathleen Leydenkathleen.leyden@maine.govState of Maine
Andrew Lipskyandrew_a._lipsky@ceq.eop.govOcean and Coastal Policy
Jane Lubchencolubchenco@oregonstate.eduNational Oceanic and Atmospheric Administration (NOAA)
Jennifer Lukensjennifer.lukens@noaa.govNOAA Coastal and Marine Spatial Planning Program
Amber Maceamber.mace@resources.ca.govCalifornia Ocean Protection Council
Laurence McCookl.mccook@gbrmpa.gov.auGreat Barrier Reef Marine Park Authority
Karen L. McLeodkaren.mcleod@compassonline.orgOregon State University
Kathryn J. Mengerinkmengerink@eli.orgEnvironmental Law Institute
Nick Napolinnapoli@massoceanpartnership.orgUniversity of Massachusetts
Kit Rawsonkrawson@tutaliptribes-nsn.govTulalip Tribes
Jake Ricericej@dfo-mpo.gc.caFisheries and Oceans Canada
Andrew A. Rosenbergarosenberg@ucsusa.orgConservation International
Mary Ruckelshausmary.ruckelshaus@stanford.eduNOAA, Northwest Fisheries Science Center
Bettina Saierbsaier@wwfcanada.orgWorld Wildlife Fund Canada
Paul Sandiferpaul.sandifer@noaa.govNational Oceanic and Atmospheric Administration (NOAA)
Astrid Scholzajscholz@ecotrust.orgEcotrust
David Steindave.stein@noaa.govNational Oceanic and Atmospheric Administration (NOAA)
Charles Wahlecharles.wahle@noaa.govNational Oceanic and Atmospheric Administration (NOAA)
Malcolm Williamsmalcolm.j.williams@uscg.milUS Coast Guard Academy
Sally Yozellsally.yozell@noaa.govNational Oceanic and Atmospheric Administration (NOAA)
Anna Zivianazivian@oceanconservancy.orgOcean Conservancy
Sean S. Andersonsean.anderson@csuci.eduCalifornia State University Channel Islands
Nancy Baronnbaron@compassonline.orgCommunication Partnership for Science and the Sea (COMPASS)
Julia K. Baumbaum@uvic.caUniversity of California, Santa Barbara
Christopher J. Brownchris.brown@griffith.edu.auUniversity of Queensland
Gary Cherrgncherr@ucdavis.eduUniversity of California, Davis
William Cravenwilliam.craven@sen.ca.govCalifornia State Senate
Chad Englishcenglish@packard.orgCommunication Partnership for Science and the Sea (COMPASS)
David Festadfesta@edf.orgEnvironmental Defense Fund
Ruth D. GatesUniversity of California, Santa Barbara
Stephanie E. Hamptonshampton@nsf.govUniversity of California, Santa Barbara
Carrie V. Kappelkappel@nceas.ucsb.eduUniversity of California, Santa Barbara
Dane Klingerdhklinger@stanford.eduStanford University
Catherine S. Longokatie.longo@msc.orgUniversity of California, Santa Barbara
David Malakoffmalakoff@comcast.netNational Public Radio
Edward McCauleymccauley@ucalgary.caUniversity of California, Santa Barbara
Toni Mizerektmizerek@compassonline.orgCommunication Partnership for Science and the Sea (COMPASS)
Chris Mooneymoonecc@gmail.comUnknown
Max A. Moritzmmoritz@ucanr.eduUniversity of California, Santa Barbara
Elizabeth Neeleyeneeley@compassonline.orgUniversity of Washington
Mary I. O'Connoroconnor@zoology.ubc.caUniversity of British Columbia
Jennifer K. O'Learyoleary.biology@gmail.comUniversity of California, Santa Barbara
Lance Orozcokclunews@aol.comKCLU Radio Station
Stephanie Pauspau@fsu.eduUniversity of California, Santa Barbara
Charles H. Petersoncpeters@email.unc.eduUniversity of North Carolina, Chapel Hill
Elvira Poloczanskaelvira.poloczanska@csiro.auCSIRO Marine and Atmospheric Research
Lindsay Scheefscheef@utexas.eduUniversity of California, Santa Barbara
Kimberly A. Selkoeselkoe@nceas.ucsb.eduUniversity of California, Santa Barbara
Sarah Simpsonsimpson@nasw.orgNational Association of Science Writers
Mark W. Stonebds050@co.santa-cruz.ca.usState Assembly Member, District 29
Carly Strassercarly@fredhutch.orgUniversity of California, Santa Barbara
Michael Toddmichael.todd@miller-mccune.comPacific Standard (formally Miller-McCune Magazine)
Mary Turnipseedmary.turnipseed@moore.orgDuke University
Jennifer L. Williamsjwilliams@nceas.ucsb.eduUniversity of California, Santa Barbara

Products: Publications, Reports, Datasets, Presentations, Visualizations

TypeProduct of NCEAS Research
Data Set Turnipseed, Mary. 2012. Interagency ocean policy task force data. (Online version)
"Development and application of scientific knowledge to ecosystem-based management of coastal marine systems" is project ID: 12609