Climate change and invasive species: Are non-natives poised for greater success in future climatic conditions?

Principal Investigators:

Cascade Sorte, Jeffrey S. Dukes, and Joshua J. Lawler

Climate change and biological invasions are two of the primary causes of biodiversity loss, and it has been hypothesized that these factors may operate synergistically in the future. We propose a working group composed of experimentalists and modelers whose objective will be to quantitatively evaluate the interaction between climate change and species invasions. First, we will conduct the first cross-ecosystem meta-analysis of non-native and native species’ physiological tolerances and impacts of changing climatic conditions on demographic rates.... more

Participants and Meetings

Working Group Participants
ActivityDatesFurther Information
Working Group24th—28th January 2011Participant List  
Working Group21st—25th May 2011Participant List  
Working Group10th—14th October 2011Participant List  
Working Group21st—24th February 2012Participant List  

Participant Contact Information

Dana M. Blumenthaldana.blumenthal@ars.usda.govUSDA Agricultural Research Service (ARS)
Bethany A. Bradleybbradley@eco.umass.eduUniversity of Massachusetts
Carla M. D'Antoniodantonio@es.ucsb.eduUniversity of California, Santa Barbara
Jeffrey M. Diezjdiez@umich.eduUniversity of Michigan
Jeffrey S. Dukesjsdukes@purdue.eduPurdue University
Regan I. Earlyregan.early@gmail.comUniversidade de Évora
Edwin D. Grosholztedgrosholz@ucdavis.eduUniversity of California, Davis
Inés Ibañeziibanez@umich.eduUniversity of Michigan
Sierra J. Jonessierra.jenell@gmail.comNational Oceanic and Atmospheric Administration (NOAA)
Joshua J. Lawlerjlawler@u.washington.eduUniversity of Washington
Luke P. Millermillerlp@gmail.comNortheastern University Marine Science Institute
Julian D. Oldenolden@u.washington.eduUniversity of Washington
Cascade Sortecjsorte@ucdavis.eduNortheastern University Marine Science Institute
Wilfried Thuillerwilfried.thuiller@ujf-grenoble.frUniversité Joseph Fourier
Nicole Molinarimolinari@lifesci.ucsb.eduUniversity of California, Santa Barbara

Products: Publications, Reports, Datasets, Presentations, Visualizations

TypeProducts of NCEAS Research
Journal Article Bradley, Bethany A.; Blumenthal, Dana M.; Early, Regan I.; Grosholz, Edwin D.; Lawler, Joshua J.; Miller, Luke P.; Sorte, Cascade; D'Antonio, Carla M.; Diez, Jeffrey M.; Dukes, Jeffrey S.; Ibañez, Inés; Olden, Julian D. 2011. Global change, global trade, and the next wave of plant invasions. Frontiers in Ecology and the Environment. Vol: 10(1). Pages 20-28. (Online version)
Data Set Bradley, Bethany A. 2012. Global change, global trade, and the next wave of plant invasions: Data. (Online version)
Presentations Bradley, Bethany A.; Early, Regan I.; Sorte, Cascade. 2013. How far from equilibrium are non-native plants? Implication for modeling invasion risk. (Abstract)
Journal Article Bradley, Bethany A.; Early, Regan I.; Sorte, Cascade. in press. Space to invade? Comparative range infilling and potential range of invasive an native plants. Global Ecology and Biogeography.
Journal Article Diez, Jeffrey M.; D'Antonio, Carla M.; Dukes, Jeffrey S.; Grosholz, Edwin D.; Olden, Julian D.; Sorte, Cascade; Blumenthal, Dana M.; Bradley, Bethany A.; Early, Regan I.; Ibañez, Inés; Jones, Sierra J.; Lawler, Joshua J.; Miller, Luke P. 2012. Will extreme climatic events facilitate biological invasions? . Frontiers in Ecology and the Environment. Vol: 10(5). Pages 249-257.
Journal Article Ibañez, Inés; Diez, Jeffrey M.; Miller, Luke P.; Olden, Julian D.; Sorte, Cascade; Blumenthal, Dana M.; Bradley, Bethany A.; D'Antonio, Carla M.; Dukes, Jeffrey S.; Early, Regan I.; Grosholz, Edwin D.; Lawler, Joshua J. 2014. Integrated assessment of biological invasions. Ecological Applications. Vol: 24(1). Pages 25-37. (Online version)
Presentations Sorte, Cascade; Ibañez, Inés; Molinari, Nicole; Miller, Luke P.; Grosholz, Edwin D.; Diez, Jeffrey M.; D'Antonio, Carla M.; Olden, Julian D.; Jones, Sierra J.; Dukes, Jeffrey S. 2012. Poised to prosper: do demographic outcomes favor non-native species in a changing climate?. (Abstract)
Journal Article Sorte, Cascade; Ibañez, Inés; Blumenthal, Dana M.; Molinari, Nicole; Miller, Luke P.; Grosholz, Edwin D.; Diez, Jeffrey M.; D'Antonio, Carla M.; Olden, Julian D.; Jones, Sierra J.; Dukes, Jeffrey S. 2013. Poised to prosper? A cross-system comparison of climate change effects on native and non-native species performance. Ecology Letters. Vol: 16(2). Pages 261-270. (Online version)
"Climate change and invasive species: Are non-natives poised for greater success in future climatic conditions?" is project ID: 12622