Spatial statistical models for stream networks: Synthesis and new directions

Principal Investigators:

Erin E. Peterson, Daniel J. Isaak, and Jay M. Ver Hoef

Spatial autocorrelation quantitatively represents the degree of statistical dependency between random variables using spatial relationships (Cressie 1993). It is an intrinsic characteristic of freshwater stream environments, where watersheds are nested within one another and sites are connected by stream flow through directed networks. Analyzing spatially correlated data requires the use of spatial statistical methodologies because the assumption of independence is violated, making many conventional statistical methods inappropriate (Cressie 1993).... more

Participants and Meetings

Working Group Participants
ActivityDatesFurther Information
Working Group4th—8th April 2011Participant List  
Working Group8th—12th August 2011Participant List  

Participant Contact Information

Noel A. Cressiencressie@stat.osu.eduOhio State University
Jason B. Dunhamjdunham@usgs.govUS Geological Survey (USGS)
Jeffrey A. Falkejeffrey.falke@noaa.govOregon State University
Marie-Josée Fortinmariejosee.fortin@utoronto.caUniversity of Toronto
Daniel J. Isaakdisaak@fs.fed.usUSDA Forest Service
Chris E. Jordanchris.jordan@noaa.govNOAA, Northwest Fisheries Science Center
Kristina M. McNysetkristina.mcnyset@noaa.govOregon State University
Pascal Monestiezpascal.monestiez@avignon.inra.frINRA, Unité Biostatistique et Processus Spatiaux
Erin E. Petersonerin.peterson@csiro.auCommonwealth Scientific and Industrial Research Organisation (CSIRO)
Aaron S. Rueschasruesch@uw.eduUniversity of Washington
Aritra Senguptasengupta.11@osu.eduOhio State University
Nicholas A. Somnicholas.som@oregonstate.eduOregon State University
E. A. Steelasteel@fs.fed.usNOAA, Northwest Fisheries Science Center
David M. Theobalddavid_theobald@nps.govColorado State University
Christian E. Torgersenctorgersen@usgs.govUniversity of Washington
Jay M. Ver Hoefjay.verhoef@noaa.govNOAA, National Marine Mammal Laboratory
Seth J. Wengerswenger@tu.orgTrout Unlimited

Products: Publications, Reports, Datasets, Presentations, Visualizations

TypeProducts of NCEAS Research
Journal Article Isaak, Daniel J.; Peterson, Erin E.; Ver Hoef, Jay M.; Wenger, Seth J.; Falke, Jeffrey A.; Torgersen, Christian E.; Sowder, Colin; Steel, E. A.; Fortin, Marie-Josée; Ruesch, Aaron S.; Som, Nicholas A.; Monestiez, Pascal. 2014. Applications of spatial statistical network models to stream data . Wiley Interdisciplinary Reviews: Water. Vol: 1. Pages 277-294.
Journal Article McGuire, Kevin J.; Torgersen, Christian E.; Likens, Gene; Buso, Donald C.; Lowe, Winsor H.; Bailey, Scott W. 2014. Network analysis reveals multiscale controls on streamwater chemistry. Proceedings of the National Academy of Sciences of the United States of America. Vol: 111(19). Pages 7030-7035.
Software Peterson, Erin E. 2011. Spatial Tools for the Analysis of River Systems (STARS) ArcGIS Toolset.
Presentations Peterson, Erin E.; Ver Hoef, Jay M.; Last, A. 2011. STARS and the SSN Package: Analysis tools for spatial statistical modeling in stream networks. Spatial Statistical Conference, Queensland University of Technology, May 10, 2011.
Presentations Peterson, Erin E.; Ver Hoef, Jay M.; Last, A. 2012. STARS and the SSN Package: Analysis tools for spatial statistical modeling in stream networks. Presentation at the International Envirometrics Society Meeting, Hyderabad, India, January 3, 2012.
Journal Article Peterson, Erin E.; Ver Hoef, Jay M.; Isaak, Daniel J.; Falke, Jeffrey A.; Fortin, Marie-Josée; Jordan, Chris E.; McNyset, Kristina M.; Monestiez, Pascal; Ruesch, Aaron S.; Sengupta, Aritra; Som, Nicholas A.; Steel, E. A.; Theobald, David M.; Torgersen, Christian E.; Wenger, Seth J. 2013. Modeling dendritic ecological networks in space: An integrated network perspective. Ecology Letters. Vol: 16(5). Pages 707-719. (Online version)
Journal Article Peterson, Erin E.; Ver Hoef, Jay M. 2014. STARS: An ArcGIS toolset used to calculate the spatial information needed to fit spatial statistical models to stream network data. Journal of Statistical Software. Vol: 56(2). Pages 1-17.
Journal Article Ruesch, Aaron S.; Torgersen, Christian E.; Lawler, Joshua J.; Olden, Julian D.; Peterson, Erin E.; Volk, Carol J.; Lawrence, David J. 2012. Projected climate-induced habitat loss for Salmonids in the John Day River Network, Oregon, U.S.A.. Conservation Biology. Vol: 26. Pages 873-882. (Online version)
Journal Article Som, Nicholas A.; Monestiez, Pascal; Ver Hoef, Jay M.; Zimmerman, Dale; Peterson, Erin E. 2014. Spatial sampling on streams: Principles for inference on aquatic networks. Environmetrics. Vol: 25(5). Pages 306-323.
Presentations Ver Hoef, Jay M.; Peterson, Erin E.; Isaak, Daniel J. 2012. Spatial statistical models for stream networks. OneNOAA Science Seminar (Webinar), NOAA Northwest Fisheries Science Center, Seattle, April 26, 2012. Seattle.
Journal Article Ver Hoef, Jay M.; Peterson, Erin E.; Clifford, David; Shah, Rohan. 2014. SSN: An R package for spatial statistical modeling on stream networks. Journal of Statistical Software. Vol: 56(3). Pages 1-45.
Software Ver Hoef, Jay M.; Peterson, Erin E. 2014. The SSN Package: An R package used to fit spatial statistical models to stream network data.
"Spatial statistical models for stream networks: Synthesis and new directions" is project ID: 12637