Marine debris: Scale and impact of trash in ocean ecosystems

Principal Investigators:

Frank W. Davis

To construct the theory of marine debris incorporating the needs of nonscientific constituencies, this working group will accomplish the following goals: 1) compile and synthesize existing information to determine how much harmful debris is in our ocean; 2) compile and synthesize existing information to determine impacts of marine debris on ocean populations and ecology; 3) compile and synthesize existing information to determine impacts of marine debris on human populations; 4) identify the three most prominent sources/items of plastic debris for... more

Participants and Meetings

A group photo is coming soon.
ActivityDatesFurther Information
Postdoctoral Fellow20th October—18th November 2011Participant List  
Working Group25th—27th October 2011Participant List  
Postdoctoral Fellow13th February 2012—31st January 2014Participant List  
Working Group5th—8th March 2012Participant List  
Working Group8th—12th October 2012Participant List  
Working Group25th—29th March 2013Participant List  
Working Group5th—8th November 2013Participant List  

Participant Contact Information

Mark A. Brownebrowne@nceas.ucsb.eduUniversity College Dublin
Satie Airameairame@bren.ucsb.eduUniversity of California, Santa Barbara
Linda Amaral Zettleramaral@mbl.eduMarine Biological Laboratory
Gee Chapmangee.chapman@sydney.edu.auUniversity of Sydney
Patty Debenhampattydebenham@gmail.comOcean Conservancy
Mary J. Donohuedonohuem@hawaii.eduUniversity of Hawaii
Betsy Dornbdorn@stewardedge.caStewardEdge USA Inc.
Cristiane T. Elfeselfes@nceas.ucsb.eduUniversity of California, Santa Barbara
Steven D. Gainesgaines@bren.ucsb.eduUniversity of California, Santa Barbara
Francois Galganifrancois.galgani@ifremer.frInstitut Français de Recherche pour l'exploitation de la Mer
Miriam Goldsteinmgoldstein@ucsd.eduUniversity of California, San Diego
Benjamin S. Halpernhalpern@bren.ucsb.eduUniversity of California, Santa Barbara
Xueying Hanxhan@lifesci.ucsb.eduUniversity of California, Santa Barbara
K. David Hyrenbachkhyrenba@u.washington.eduHawaii Pacific University
Jenna Jambeckjjambeck@uga.eduUniversity of Georgia
Hrissi Karapanagiotikarapanagioti@upatras.grUniversity of Patras
Kara Lavender Lawklavender@sea.eduSea Education Association
George Leonardgleonard@oceanconservancy.orgOcean Conservancy
Nicholas Mallosnmallos@oceanconservancy.orgOcean Conservancy
Nikolai Maximenkomaximenk@hawaii.eduUniversity of Hawaii
Skye Moret-Fergusonsmoret@sea.eduSea Education Association
Ramani Narayannarayan@msu.eduMichigan State University
Giora Proskurowskigiora@uw.eduUniversity of Washington
Chelsea Rochmancmrochman@ucdavis.eduSan Diego State University
David A. Siegeldavey@icess.ucsb.eduUniversity of California, Santa Barbara
Ted SieglerTed@dsmenvironmental.comDSM Environmental Services, Inc.
Hideshige Takadashige@cc.tuat.ac.jpTokyo University of Agriculture and Technology
Tony Underwoodaju@sydney.edu.auUniversity of Sydney
Erik Zettlerezettler@sea.eduSea Education Association
Anthony Andradyandrady@andrady.comHelix Science LLC
Morton Barlazbarlaz@ncsu.eduNorth Carolina State University
Roland Geyergeyer@bren.ucsb.eduUniversity of California, Santa Barbara
Jan Hafnerjhafner@hawaii.eduUniversity of Hawaii
Richard Thompsonrcthompson@plymouth.ac.ukPlymouth University
Jan van Franekerjan.vanfraneker@wur.nlInstitute for Marine Resources and Ecosystem Studies
Rob Williamsrmcw@st-andrews.ac.ukUniversity of British Columbia
James Brownej-browne@northwestern.eduNorthwestern University
B D. HardestyDenise.Hardesty@csiro.auCSIRO Marine and Atmospheric Research
Chris Wilcoxchris.wilcox@csiro.auCSIRO Marine and Atmospheric Research

Products: Publications, Reports, Datasets, Presentations, Visualizations

TypeProducts of NCEAS Research
Journal Article Browne, Mark A.; Underwood, Tony; Chapman, Gee; Williams, Rob; Thompson, Richard; van Franeker, Jan. 2015. Linking effects of anthropogenic debris to ecological impacts. Proceedings of the Royal Society B-Biological Sciences. Vol: 282. Pages 20142929.
Journal Article Browne, Mark A.; Chapman, Gee; Thompson, Richard; Amaral Zettler, Linda; Jambeck, Jenna; Mallos, Nicholas. in press. Spatial and temporal patterns of stranded intertidal marine debris: is there a picture of global change?. Environmental Science & Technology.
Journal Article Jambeck, Jenna; Geyer, Roland; Wilcox, Chris; Siegler, Ted; Perryman, Miriam; Andrady, Anthony; Narayan, Ramani; Lavender Law, Kara. 2015. Plastic waste inputs from land into the ocean. Science Magazine. Vol: 347(6223). Pages 768-771.
Journal Article Lavender Law, Kara; Thompson, Richard. 2014. Microplastics in the seas. Science. Vol: 345(6193). Pages 144-145.
Journal Article van Franeker, Jan; Lavender Law, Kara. 2015. Seabirds, gyres and global trends in plastic pollution. Environmental Pollution. Vol: 203. Pages 89-96.
"Marine debris: Scale and impact of trash in ocean ecosystems" is project ID: 12645