The future of publishing in ecology, evolutionary biology, and environmental science

Principal Investigators:

Christopher J. Lortie, and Jarrett E. Byrnes

The primary goal of this project is to explore the adoption of alternative publication models to promote more open science and to create a new system of disseminating completed research publications. What we hope to produce need not serve as an wholesale replacement for current journals but as an alternative to promote faster reviews, more transparency, collaboration, and more open access to the science we produce in every form. We are using the physics model of arXiv, the open access policy common in evidence-based medicine, and the data sharing... more

Participants and Meetings

Working Group Participants
ActivityDatesFurther Information
Working Group25th—29th June 2012Participant List  
Working Group23rd—26th January 2013Participant List  

Participant Contact Information

Lonnie W. Aarssenaarssenl@queensu.caQueen's University
Stefano Allesinasallesina@uchicago.eduUniversity of Chicago
Edward B. Baskervilleebaskerv@umich.eduUniversity of Michigan
Charles Bazermanbazerman@education.ucsb.eduUniversity of California, Santa Barbara
Phil Bournepbourne@ucsd.eduUniversity of California, San Diego
Amber E. Buddenaebudden@gmail.comUniversity of New Mexico
Jarrett E. Byrnesjarrett.byrnes@umb.eduUniversity of California, Santa Barbara
Bruce Caronbruce@tnms.orgNew Media Studio
Patricia Crusepatricia.cruse@ucop.eduUniversity of California, Office of the President
Jonathan Eisenjaeisen@ucdavis.eduUniversity of California, Davis
Michael B. Eisenmbeisen@berkeley.eduUniversity of California, Berkeley
Michael E. Hochbergmhochber@univ-montp2.frUniversité de Montpellier II
Doug Jacksondougjack@umich.eduUniversity of Michigan
Nikolaus Kriegeskortenikolaus.kriegeskorte@mrc-cbu.cam.ac.ukMRC Cognition and Brain Sciences Unit (CBU)
Christopher J. Lortiechris@christopherlortie.infoUniversity of California, Santa Barbara
David Morrisonchair@math.ucsb.eduUniversity of California, Santa Barbara
Cameron Neyloncneylon@plos.orgPublic Library of Science (PLoS)
Owen Petcheyo.petchey@sheffield.ac.ukUniversity of Sheffield
Mark P. Schildhauerschild@nceas.ucsb.eduUniversity of California, Santa Barbara
Paula Stephanpstephan@gsu.eduGeorgia State University
Carol Tenopirctenopir@utk.eduUniversity of Tennessee, Knoxville
Joseph Gendenjgenden@gmail.com

Products: Publications, Reports, Datasets, Presentations, Visualizations

TypeProducts of NCEAS Research
Journal Article Aarssen, Lonnie W.; Lortie, Christopher J. 2012. Science Open Reviewed: An online community connecting authors with reviewers for journals. Ideas in Ecology and Evolution. Vol: 5(2). Pages 78-83. (Online version)
Journal Article Allesina, Stefano. 2012. Modeling peer review: An agent-based approach. Ideas in Ecology and Evolution. Vol: 5(2). Pages 27-35. (Online version)
Journal Article Bertram, Susan M.; Katti, Madhusudan. 2013. The social biology professor: Effective strategies for social media engagement. Ideas in Ecology and Evolution. Vol: 6. Pages 22-31. (Online version)
Journal Article Byrnes, Jarrett E.; Baskerville, Edward B.; Caron, Bruce; Neylon, Cameron; Tenopir, Carol; Schildhauer, Mark P.; Budden, Amber E.; Aarssen, Lonnie W.; Lortie, Christopher J. 2013. The four pillars of scholarly publishing: The future and a foundation. PeerJ. Vol: 1. Pages e11v1.
Journal Article Cooke, Steven J.; Lapointe, Nicolas W.R. 2012. Addressing editor(ial) malpractice in scientific journals. Ideas in Ecology and Evolution. Vol: 5(2). Pages 84-92. (Online version)
Journal Article Darling, Emily S.; Shiffman, David; Cote, Isabelle M.; Drew, Joshua A. 2013. The role of Twitter in the life cycle of a scientific publication. Ideas in Ecology and Evolution. Vol: 6. Pages 32-43. (Online version)
Journal Article Fox, Jeremy W. 2012. Can blogging change how ecologists share ideas? In economics, it already has.. Ideas in Ecology and Evolution. Vol: 5(2). Pages 74-77. (Online version)
Journal Article Hassall, Christopher. 2012. "Going green": Self-archiving as a means for dissemination of research output in ecology and evolution. Ideas in Ecology and Evolution. Vol: 5(2). Pages 93-98. (Online version)
Journal Article Lortie, Christopher J. 2012. Hansel und gretel: The future of publishing wicked witch-free. Ideas in Ecology and Evolution. Vol: 5. Pages 99-102. (Online version)
Journal Article Tenopir, Carol; Volentine, Rachel. 2012. The value of scholarly reading in the life sciences. Ideas in Ecology and Evolution. Vol: 5(2). Pages 63-73. (Online version)
"The future of publishing in ecology, evolutionary biology, and environmental science" is project ID: 12651