Global impacts of climate change on kelp forest ecosystems

Principal Investigators:

Jarrett E. Byrnes, Sean D. Connell, and Mark Novak

We propose a working group to examine the global impact of climate change on kelp forest ecosystems. Kelp forests are temperate and boreal rocky reefs dominated by macroalgae from the order Laminariales. Kelps currently dominate temperate near shore ecosystems, covering 25% of the world's coastline (Steneck et al 2002, Cavanaugh Unpublished Data). They are critically important species, forming the foundation of many temperate and boreal coastal ecosystems(Dayton 1985). Anticipated change to kelps and their associated communities could have a large... more

Participants and Meetings

Working Group Participants
ActivityDatesFurther Information
Working Group9th—13th January 2013Participant List  
Working Group28th May—1st June 2013Participant List  

Participant Contact Information

John BoltonJohn.Bolton@uct.ac.zaUniversity of Cape Town
Jarrett E. Byrnesjarrett.byrnes@umb.eduUniversity of Massachusetts-Boston
Kyle Cavanaughkyle@eri.ucsb.eduUniversity of California, Santa Barbara
Sean D. Connellsean.connell@adelaide.edu.auUniversity of Adelaide
Craig JohnsonCraig.Johnson@utas.edu.auUniversity of Tasmania
Kwang Young Kimkykim@chonnam.ac.krChonnam National University
Brenda Konarbhkonar@alaska.eduUniversity of Alaska, Fairbanks
Kira Krumhanslkira.krumhansl@dal.caDalhousie University
Scott LingScott.Ling@utas.edu.auUniversity of Tasmania
Fiorenza Michelimicheli@stanford.eduStanford University
Kjell Magnus NorderhaugKjell.Norderhaug@niva.noNorwegian Institute for Water Research
Mark Novakmark.novak@science.oregonstate.eduOregon State University
Alejandro Perez-Matusalejandro.perezmatus@gmail.comPontificia Universidad Católica de Chile
Andrew Rassweilerrassweil@lifesci.ucsb.eduUniversity of California, Santa Barbara
Anne Salomonanne.salomon@sfu.caSimon Fraser University
Nick Shearsn.shears@auckland.ac.nzUniversity of Auckland
Isabel Sousa Pintoispinto@ciimar.up.ptUniversity of Porto
Thomas Wernbergthomas.wernberg@uwa.edu.auUniversity of Western Australia
Daniel Okamotodaniel.okamoto@lifesci.ucsb.eduUniversity of California, Santa Barbara

Products: Publications, Reports, Datasets, Presentations, Visualizations

TypeProducts of NCEAS Research
Journal Article Byrnes, Jarrett E. In press. Global synthesis of climate impacts on kelp forest ecosystems.
Journal Article Connell, Sean D. In press. Synthetic review of multiple stressor impacts on kelp forest communities.
Presentations Johnson, Craig. In press. Theoretical analysis of interactions between climate change and multiple local stressors in kelp ecosystems.
Journal Article Krumhansl, Kira. In press. Rates of change of global kelp abundance over 35 years.
Journal Article Novak, Mark. In press. Food web propogation of climate impacts in kelp forests systems.
Journal Article Perez-Matus, Alejandro. In press. Meta-analysis of kelp impacts on fish abundance.
Journal Article Wernberg, Thomas. In press. Global biogeography of kelps.
"Global impacts of climate change on kelp forest ecosystems" is project ID: 12660