Fungal pathogens and disease-induced extinction: Are fungal diseases different?

Principal Investigators:

Jamie Voyles, Cheryl J. Briggs, and Auston M. Kilpatrick

Fungi have not traditionally been regarded as a conservation threat. Yet emerging fungal diseases have caused mass-mortality events and multiple extinctions in vertebrate hosts. Some of the most notable examples include white-nose syndrome in bats and amphibian chytridiomycosis, which has been well studied for over a decade. Our working group will consider the theoretical mechanisms that could predispose host populations to extinction from fungal pathogens. We will use pre-existing datasets to address specific questions regarding transmission, rate... more

Participants and Meetings

Working Group Participants
ActivityDatesFurther Information
Working Group18th—22nd March 2013Participant List  
Working Group12th—15th September 2013Participant List  

Participant Contact Information

David Blehertdblehert@usgs.govUS Geological Survey (USGS)
Benjamin Bolkerbolker@mcmaster.caMcMaster University
Cheryl J. Briggsbriggs@lifesci.ucsb.eduUniversity of California, Santa Barbara
Tina Chengtinalcheng@gmail.comUniversity of California, Santa Cruz
James P. Collinsjcollins@asu.eduArizona State University
Matthew Fishermatthew.fisher@imperial.ac.ukImperial College, London, St Mary's Campus
Winifred F. Frickwfrick@ucsc.eduUniversity of California, Santa Cruz
Auston M. Kilpatrickakilpatr@ucsc.eduUniversity of California, Santa Cruz
Aaron A. Kingkingaa@umich.eduUniversity of Michigan
Kate Langwigklangwig@gmail.comBoston University
Daniel Lindnerdlindner@fs.fed.usUSDA Forest Service
Hamish McCallumh.mccallum@griffith.edu.auGriffith University
Jessica Metcalfcharlotte.metcalf@zoo.ox.ac.ukUniversity of Oxford
Kris Murraymurray@ecohealthalliance.orgEcoHealth Alliance
Robert Puschendorfrobert.puschendorf@gmail.comJames Cook University
Erica Bree Rosenblumrosenblum@berkeley.eduUniversity of California, Berkeley
Jamie Voylesjvoyles@nmt.eduUniversity of California, Berkeley
Craig Willisc.willis@uwinnipeg.caUniversity of Winnipeg
Mary Toothmanmary.toothman@lifesci.ucsb.eduUniversity of California, Santa Barbara
Mark Wilbermark.wilber@lifesci.ucsb.eduUniversity of California, Santa Barbara

Products: Publications, Reports, Datasets, Presentations, Visualizations

TypeProduct of NCEAS Research
Journal Article Voyles, Jamie. in press. Beyond too little, too late: Managing emerging infectious diseases requires coordinated, international action. Ecohealth.
"Fungal pathogens and disease-induced extinction: Are fungal diseases different?" is project ID: 12661