Establishing an open-source animal-tracking analysis platform for archival geolocators

Principal Investigators:

Eli S. Bridge, Eldar Rakhimberdiev, Nathaniel E. Seavy, and David W. Winkler

Light-level geolocation data loggers (henceforth geologgers), are simple animal-tracking devices that record light-levels over short time intervals and allow for the inference of location based on the timing of sunrise and sunset. Although these devices have long been used to track marine vertebrates, they have only recently achieved a level of miniaturization sufficient for use on small (<50g) land birds. For centuries, we have lacked the capability to determine how small birds move between breeding and wintering sites, and the few recent studies... more

Participants and Meetings

Working Group Participants
ActivityDatesFurther Information
Working Group15th—20th December 2012Participant List  
Working Group4th—8th April 2013Participant List  

Participant Contact Information

Eli S. Bridgeebridge@ou.eduUniversity of Oklahoma
Simeon Lisovskislisovski@deakin.edu.auDeakin University
Eldar RakhimberdievEldar.Rakhimberdiev@nioz.nlRoyal Netherlands Institute for Sea Research (NIOZ)
Jim Regetzregetz@nceas.ucsb.eduUniversity of California, Santa Barbara
Michael D. Sumnermdsumner@gmail.comUniversity of Tasmania
David W. Winklerdww4@cornell.eduCornell University
Sarah Davidsonsdavidson@orn.mpg.deMax-Planck Institute for Ornithology
Philip Dowphil@phildow.netUniversity of Oklahoma
Jonah M. Ducklesjduckles@ou.eduUniversity of Oklahoma
Steffen Hahnsteffen.hahn@vogelwarte.chSwiss Ornithological Institute
Jeffrey Hostetlerhostetlerj@si.eduSmithsonian Conservation Biology Institute
Heiko Schmaljohannheiko.schmaljohann@ifv-vogelwarte.deInstitute of Avian Research
Nathaniel E. Seavynseavy@prbo.orgPoint Blue Conservation Science (formally Point Reyes Bird Observatory (PRBO))
Caroline M. Taylorcaz@tulane.eduTulane University
Simon Wotherspoonsimon.wotherspoon@utas.edu.auUniversity of Tasmania
Michael Wundermichael.wunder@ucdenver.eduUniversity of Colorado

Products: Publications, Reports, Datasets, Presentations, Visualizations

TypeProduct of NCEAS Research
Presentations Bridge, Eli S.; Dow, Philip; Duckles, Jonah M.; Davidson, Sarah; Hahn, Steffen; Rakhimberdiev, Eldar; Schmaljohann, Heiko; Seavy, Nathaniel E.; Sumner, Michael D.; Wotherspoon, Simon; Winkler, David W. 2013. A simple online tool for geolocater analysis. American Ornithological Union conference, Chicago, Illinois, August 15, 2013.
"Establishing an open-source animal-tracking analysis platform for archival geolocators" is project ID: 12663