Synthesizing theory and databases to advance a general framework for how warming affects trophic interactions

Principal Investigators:

Mary I. O'Connor, and Hamish S. Greig

Environmental changes affect species by changing their physiology and thus activity rates and population growth rates. These rate changes affect trophic interactions among members of the community. Such higher-order, indirect effects are notoriously difficult to predict, leading to great uncertainty about how species abundance, food web structure and ecosystem function will respond to a changing climate. We will combine ecological theory, such as the Metabolic Theory of Ecology (MTE) and its descendants, with available databases to test predictions... more

Participants and Meetings

Working Group Participants
ActivityDatesFurther Information
Working Group9th—12th December 2012Participant List  
Working Group3rd—7th June 2013Participant List  

Participant Contact Information

John P. DeLongjpdelong@unl.eduUniversity of Nebraska, Lincoln
Benjamin Gilbertbenjamin.gilbert@utoronto.caSmithsonian Tropical Research Institute
Hamish S. Greighamish.greig@maine.eduUniversity of Canterbury
Kevin S. McCannksmccann@uoguelph.caUniversity of Guelph
Mary I. O'Connoroconnor@zoology.ubc.caUniversity of British Columbia
Van M. Savagevsavage@ucla.eduUniversity of California, Los Angeles
Tyler D. Tunneyttunney@uoguelph.caUniversity of Guelph
David A. VasseurDavid.Vasseur@yale.eduYale University
Priyanga Amarasekareamarasek@eeb.ucla.eduUniversity of California, Los Angeles
Brandon T. Bartonbtbarton@wisc.eduUniversity of Wisconsin, Madison
Julia L. of Sheffield
Christopher of Sheffield
Anthony I. Delladell@gwdg.deUniversity of Göttingen
Chris D.G. Harleyharley@zoology.ubc.caUniversity of British Columbia
Heather Kharoubakharouba@zoology.ubc.caUniversity of British Columbia
Pavel Kratinapkratina@ucdavis.eduUniversity of California, Davis
Jonathan B. Shurinjshurin@ucsd.eduUniversity of California, San Diego

Products: Publications, Reports, Datasets, Presentations, Visualizations

TypeProducts of NCEAS Research
Journal Article DeLong, John P.; Gilbert, Benjamin; Shurin, Jonathan B.; Savage, Van M.; Barton, Brandon T.; Clements, Christopher; Dell, Anthony I.; Greig, Hamish S.; Harley, Chris D.G.; Kratina, Pavel; McCann, Kevin S.; Tunney, Tyler D.; Vasseur, David A.; O'Connor, Mary I. 2015. The body size dependence of trophic cascades. American Naturalist. Vol: 185(3). Pages 354-366.
Journal Article Gilbert, Benjamin; Tunney, Tyler D.; McCann, Kevin S.; DeLong, John P.; Vasseur, David A.; Savage, Van M.; Shurin, Jonathan B.; Dell, Anthony I.; Barton, Brandon T.; Harley, Chris D.G.; Kharouba, Heather; Kratina, Pavel; Blanchard, Julia L.; Clements, Christopher; Winder, Monika; Greig, Hamish S.; O'Connor, Mary I. 2014. A bioenergetic framework for the temperature dependence of trophic interaction. Ecology Letters. Vol: 17(8). Pages 902-914.
Journal Article Tunney, Tyler D.; McCann, Kevin S.; Lester, Nigel P.; Shuter, Brian J. 2014. Effects of differential habitat warming on complex communities. Proceedings of the National Academy of Sciences of the United States of America. Vol: 111(22). Pages 8077-8082.
Journal Article Vasseur, David A.; DeLong, John P.; Gilbert, Benjamin; Greig, Hamish S.; Harley, Chris D.G.; McCann, Kevin S.; Tunney, Tyler D.; O'Connor, Mary I. 2014. Increased temperature variation poses a greater risk to species than climate warming . Proceedings of the Royal Society B-Biological Sciences. Vol: 281. Pages 20132612. (Online version)
"Synthesizing theory and databases to advance a general framework for how warming affects trophic interactions" is project ID: 12664