Synthesizing frontiers in modeling drought- and insect-induced tree mortality with climate change

Principal Investigators:

William R. L. Anderegg, Rosie A. Fisher, and Jeffrey A. Hicke

Forest ecosystems store large amounts of carbon and absorb nearly a quarter of human emissions of carbon dioxide annually. Yet recent drought and insect-induced, widespread forest die-offs highlight that climate change could threaten these carbon sinks from boreal regions to the tropics. Consequently, drought/insect-induced forest mortality constitutes a major uncertainty terrestrial ecosystem carbon cycling and climate change impacts. Despite its importance, current climate-vegetation models do not accurately capture forest die-off due to limitations... more

Participants and Meetings

Working Group Participants
ActivityDatesFurther Information
Working Group12th—15th February 2013Participant List  
Working Group26th—28th August 2013Participant List  

Participant Contact Information

Craig D. Allencraig_allen@usgs.govFort Collins Science Center, USGS
William R. L. Anderegganderegg@stanford.eduStanford University
Juliann E. Aukemajaukema@gmail.comUniversity of California, Santa Barbara
Barbara Bentzbbentz@fs.fed.usUSDA Forest Service
Rosie A. Fisherrfisher@ucar.eduNational Center for Atmospheric Research
Jeffrey A. Hickejhicke@uidaho.eduUniversity of Idaho
Jeremy W. Lichsteinjlichstein@ufl.eduUniversity of Florida
Alison K. MacaladyAmacalad@email.arizona.eduUniversity of Arizona
Nathan G McDowellmcdowell@lanl.govLos Alamos National Laboratory
Paul Moorcroftpaul_moorcroft@harvard.eduHarvard University
Yude Panypan@fs.fed.usUSDA Forest Service
Ken Raffaraffa@entomology.wisc.eduUniversity of Wisconsin
Anna Salaasala@mso.umt.eduUniversity of Montana
John D Shawjdshaw@fs.fed.usUSDA Forest Service
Nate Stephensonnstephenson@usgs.govUS Geological Survey (USGS)
Christina Taguectague@bren.ucsb.eduUniversity of California, Santa Barbara
Melanie Zeppelmelanie.zeppel@mq.edu.auMacquarie University
Matthew AyresMatthew.P.Ayres@dartmouth.eduDartmouth College

Products: Publications, Reports, Datasets, Presentations, Visualizations

This working group has no products yet.
"Synthesizing frontiers in modeling drought- and insect-induced tree mortality with climate change" is project ID: 12665