Synthesizing top-down and bottom-up approaches to ecological energetics

Principal Investigators:

Jane Shevtsov

Our proposed workshop involves synthesizing and cross-pollinating metabolic ecology and the older lines of research in ecological energetics and thermodynamics. These research areas offer different approaches to closely related problems; yet little collaboration exists between them. The workshop will bring together scientists from energy-centered lines of research, help them come to understand each other's research areas (particularly their conceptual and theoretical aspects), and ask what emerges when we try to bring metabolic ecology and ecological... more

Participants and Meetings

Working Group Participants
ActivityDatesFurther Information
Working Group8th—13th July 2013Participant List  

Participant Contact Information

Kristina J. Anderson-Teixeirateixeirak@si.eduSmithsonian Conservation Biology Institute
Gwendolyn C. Bachmangbachman@unl.eduUniversity of Nebraska, Lincoln
Joanna R. Bernhardtjoey.bernhardt@biodiversity.ubc.caUniversity of British Columbia
James H. Brownjhbrown@unm.eduUniversity of New Mexico
Anthony I. Delladell@gwdg.deUniversity of Göttingen
S. K. Morgan Ernestmorgane@biology.usu.eduUtah State University
Brian D. Fathbfath@towson.eduTowson University
James F. Gilloolygillooly@zoo.ufl.eduUniversity of Florida
John M. Gradyjgrady@unm.eduUniversity of New Mexico
Charles A. S. Hallchall@esf.eduState University of New York (SUNY), College of Environmental Science and Forestry
Sven Jørgensenmsijapan@hotmail.comUniversity of Copenhagen
Mary I. O'Connoroconnor@zoology.ubc.caUniversity of British Columbia
Dorion Sagangradientor@yahoo.comChelsea Green Publishing
Van M. Savagevsavage@ucla.eduUniversity of California, Los Angeles
Eric Schneiderhawkwood@wispwest.net
John Schramskijschrams@uga.eduUniversity of Georgia
Jane Shevtsovjane.eco@gmail.comUniversity of California, Los Angeles
Richard Siblyr.m.sibly@reading.ac.ukUniversity of Reading

Products: Publications, Reports, Datasets, Presentations, Visualizations

This working group has no products yet.
"Synthesizing top-down and bottom-up approaches to ecological energetics" is project ID: 12666