Dance with neighbors: What have we learned about species coexistence in tree communities from the global stem-mapped forest plots

Principal Investigators:

Fangliang He, Richard Condit, Stephen P. Hubbell, and Thorsten Wiegand

Over the past 30 years, the Center for Tropical Forest Sciences has established a global stem-mapping forest plots network consisting of 5 million trees representing nearly 9000 species. This network has fundamentally changed the way forest biodiversity is studied. The fully mapped plots contain complete spatial locations of every single tree in a plot of, typically, 50 ha in size. Such spatial data are essential for inferring mechanisms of species coexistence. We seek to achieve two objectives. The first is to synthesize our understanding of the... more

Participants and Meetings

Working Group Participants
ActivityDatesFurther Information
Working Group14th—16th February 2013Participant List  
Working Group6th—8th September 2013Participant List  

Participant Contact Information

Tania Brenes-Arguedastaniabrenes@gmail.comSmithsonian Tropical Research Institute
Lei Chenchenlei@ibcas.ac.cnChinese Academy of Sciences
Liza S. Comitacomita.2@osu.eduOhio State University
Richard Conditconditr@gmail.comSmithsonian Tropical Research Institute
Matteo DettoDettoM@si.eduSmithsonian Tropical Research Institute
Fangliang Hefhe@ualberta.caUniversity of Alberta
Stephen P. Hubbellshubbell@eeb.ucla.eduUniversity of California, Los Angeles
Andreas Huthandreas.huth@ufz.deHelmholtz Centre for Environmental Research - UFZ
Monica Morenommoreno@ualberta.caUniversity of Alberta
Stephen J. Murphymurphy.1132@osu.eduOhio State University
Guochun Shenshenguochun255@hotmail.comEast China Normal University
Anna Sugiyamaanzu@ucla.eduUniversity of California, Los Angeles
Xinghua Suiqrqr5@163.comSun Yat-sen University
I-Fang Sunifsun@mail.ndhu.edu.twNational Dong Hwa University
Junfeng Tangtangjf09@lzu.edu.cnLanzhou University
Maria Uriartemu2126@columbia.eduColumbia University
Igor Volkovigor.volkov@gmail.comPennsylvania State University
Thorsten Wiegandthorsten.wiegand@ufz.deHelmholtz Centre for Environmental Research - UFZ
Chenjing Chucjchu@lzu.edu.cnUtah State University
Jian Zhangzjian@ualberta.caUniversity of Alberta

Products: Publications, Reports, Datasets, Presentations, Visualizations

This working group has no products yet.
"Dance with neighbors: What have we learned about species coexistence in tree communities from the global stem-mapped forest plots" is project ID: 12668