A standard assessment framework for ecosystem services

Principal Investigators:

Dean Urban, Patrick Comer, and Lydia P. Olander

Ecosystems services—the benefits that natural ecosystems provide to society—are increasingly the focus of public and private land management decisions. There is a growing demand for standardization of assessment tools (measures, metrics and standards) that can be applied in a consistent manner across ecoregions and by practitioners from agencies with differing programmatic mandates. This task will require agreement across ecologists, economists, social scientists, and practitioners from academia, state and federal agencies, nonprofits, and the... more

Participants and Meetings

Working Group Participants
ActivityDatesFurther Information
Working Group25th February—1st March 2013Participant List  
Working Group20th—22nd August 2013Participant List  

Participant Contact Information

Ken Bagstadkjbagstad@usgs.govUS Geological Survey (USGS)
Frank Caseyccasey@usgs.govUS Geological Survey (USGS)
Patrick Comerpat_comer@natureserve.orgNatureServe
Frank W. Davisfrank.davis@nceas.ucsb.eduUniversity of California, Santa Barbara
Anne D. Guerryanne.guerry@stanford.eduStanford University
Kenna HalseyKenna@ecometrixsolutions.comEcoMetrix Solutions Group
Kevin Halseykhalsey@parametrix.comParametrix
Dylan Harrison-Atlasdylan.hatlas@gmail.comColorado State University
Bruce Jonesbruce.jones@dri.eduDesert Research Institute
Jimmy Kaganjimmy.kagan@pdx.eduPortland State University
Lynn A. Maguirelmaguire@duke.eduDuke University
Anne Nealeneale.anne@epa.govUS Environmental Protection Agency (EPA)
Lydia P. Olanderlydia.olander@duke.eduDuke University
Paul Ringoldringold.paul@epamail.epa.govEnvironmental Protection Agency
David Saahdsaah@sig-gis.comUniversity of San Francisco
Paul Sandiferpaul.sandifer@noaa.govNational Oceanic and Atmospheric Administration (NOAA)
Emily Schiefferemily.schieffer@duke.eduDuke University
David M. Theobalddavid_theobald@nps.govNational Park Service
Howard Townsendhoward.townsend@noaa.govNational Oceanic and Atmospheric Administration (NOAA)
Dean Urbandeanu@duke.eduDuke University
Sara Vickermansvickerman@defenders.orgDefenders of Wildlife
Lisa A. Waingerwainger@cbl.umces.eduUniversity of Maryland
Stewart D. Allensdallen@blm.govUS Department of the Interior
Janet CushingJanet.A.Cushing@usace.army.milUS Army Corps of Engineers
Robert Dealrdeal@fs.fed.usUSDA Forest Service
Micah Effronmicah.effron@noaa.govNational Oceanic and Atmospheric Administration (NOAA)
John Fayjohn.fay@duke.eduDuke University
Sarah Howellshowell@blm.govBureau of Land Management
Christy M. Ihlochristy.ihlo@duke.eduDuke University
Edward J. Maillettedward_maillett@fws.govUS Fish and Wildlife Service (FWS)
Rebecca MooreRMoore@blm.govUS Department of the Interior
Trista Pattersontmpatterson@fs.fed.usUSDA Forest Service
Mark L. Plummermark.plummer@noaa.govNOAA, Northwest Fisheries Science Center
Samantha SifleetSifleet.Samantha@epa.govUS Environmental Protection Agency (EPA)

Products: Publications, Reports, Datasets, Presentations, Visualizations

This working group has no products yet.
"A standard assessment framework for ecosystem services" is project ID: 12669