Ocean tipping points (formerly Ecosystem thresholds and indicators for marine spatial planning)

Principal Investigators:

Carrie V. Kappel, Benjamin S. Halpern, and Kimberly A. Selkoe

The Ocean Tipping Points collaborative research project seeks to understand and characterize tipping points in ocean ecosystems. This idea is not new. Many scientists before us have studied the complex dynamics of marine ecosystems, highlighting the potential for rapid, dramatic changes in ocean conditions. However, past science has done little to influence the way we manage marine ecosystems. We have an opportunity to change this, as promising new science converges with a paradigm shift toward ecosystem-based management of our coasts and oceans.... more

Participants and Meetings

Working Group Participants
ActivityDatesFurther Information
Working Group7th—10th October 2013Participant List  
Working Group5th—7th November 2013Participant List  
Working Group20th—23rd May 2014Participant List  
Working Group10th—12th June 2014Participant List  
Working Group1st—5th December 2014Participant List  

Participant Contact Information

Adina Abelesabeles@stanford.eduCenter for Ocean Solutions
Willow Battistawillowbe@gmail.comEnvironmental Defense Fund
Meaghan Calcarimeaghan.calcari@moore.orgGordon and Betty Moore Foundation
Margaret Caldwellmegc@law.stanford.eduStanford University
Larry B. Crowderlarry.crowder@stanford.eduStanford University
Nora Deansndeans@stanford.eduStanford University
Ashley L. Erickson Reinemanashleye1@stanford.eduStanford University
Rod Fujitarfujita@edf.orgEnvironmental Defense Fund
Benjamin S. Halpernhalpern@bren.ucsb.eduUniversity of California, Santa Barbara
Mary Hunsickerhunsicker@nceas.ucsb.eduUniversity of California, Santa Barbara
Carrie V. Kappelkappel@nceas.ucsb.eduUniversity of California, Santa Barbara
Ryan P. Kellyrpk@stanford.eduStanford University
John N. Kittingerjkittinger@gmail.comStanford University
Phillip Levinphil.levin@noaa.govNational Oceanic and Atmospheric Administration (NOAA)
Megan E. Machmmach@stanford.eduStanford University
Rebecca Martonermartone@stanford.eduCenter for Ocean Solutions
Lindley Measelamease@stanford.eduCenter for Ocean Solutions
Jameal Samhourijameal.samhouri@noaa.govNOAA, National Marine Fisheries Service (NMFS)
Courtney E. Scarboroughscarborough@nceas.ucsb.eduUniversity of California, Santa Barbara
Kimberly A. Selkoeselkoe@nceas.ucsb.eduUniversity of California, Santa Barbara
Adrian C. Stieradrian.stier@gmail.comNOAA, Northwest Fisheries Science Center
Molly Troupmolly.troup@gmail.comUniversity of California, Santa Barbara
Crow Whitecrowsfeather@gmail.comCalifornia Polytechnic State University, San Luis Obispo
Kate Wingkate.wing@moore.orgGordon and Betty Moore Foundation
Thorsten Blencknerthorsten.blenckner@su.seStockholm Resilience Center
Stephen R. Carpentersrcarpen@facstaff.wisc.eduUniversity of Wisconsin, Madison
Timothy E. Essingtonessing@u.washington.eduUniversity of Washington
James A. Estesjestes@ucsc.eduUniversity of California, Santa Cruz
John Lynhamlynham@hawaii.eduUniversity of Hawaii, Mānoa
Nathan J. Mantuanate.mantua@noaa.govNOAA, National Marine Fisheries Service (NMFS)
Anne Salomonanne.salomon@sfu.caSimon Fraser University
George Sugiharagsugihara@ucsd.eduUniversity of California, San Diego
Philip B. Williamsp.williams@pwa-ltd.comPhilip Williams And Associates, Ltd.
Joy Zedlerjbzedler@wisc.eduUniversity of Wisconsin
Meaghan Calcari Campbellmeaghan.calcari.campbell@moore.orgGordon and Betty Moore Foundation
Mary Donovandonovan.maryk@gmail.comUniversity of Hawaii, M?noa
Melissa Foleymmfoley@stanford.eduCenter for Ocean Solutions
Alan M. Friedlanderfriedlan@hawaii.eduUniversity of Hawaii, Mānoa
Jamison Govejamison.gove@noaa.govNational Oceanic and Atmospheric Administration (NOAA)
Kirsten Olesonkoleson@hawaii.eduUniversity of Hawaii, M?noa
Mary Turnipseedmary.turnipseed@moore.orgGordon and Betty Moore Foundation
Lisa M. Weddinglwedding@stanford.eduCenter for Ocean Solutions
Gareth Williamsg1williams@ucsd.eduUniversity of California, San Diego
Carl Boettigercboettig@gmail.comUniversity of California, Santa Cruz
Bruno Nkuiyarobenybruno@ucsb.eduUniversity of California, Santa Barbara
Jean-Baptiste Jouffrayjean-baptiste.jouffray@su.seStockholm University

Products: Publications, Reports, Datasets, Presentations, Visualizations

This working group has no products yet.
"Ocean tipping points (formerly Ecosystem thresholds and indicators for marine spatial planning)" is project ID: 12670