Conceptualizing an Institute for Sustainable Earth and Environmental Software (ISEES)

Principal Investigators:

Matthew B. Jones, and Mark P. Schildhauer

Investigators envision an Institute for Sustainable Earth and Environmental Software (ISEES) that coordinates development and sustainable support of innovative and interoperable scientific software tools that can transform science at the intersection of earth, environmental, and life sciences. ISEES will advance the state of science software by engaging earth and environmental research communities to address the software barriers that most impede grand challenge earth science. At ISEES, researchers will collaboratively address the entire software... more

Participants and Meetings

Working Group Participants
ActivityDatesFurther Information
Workshop11th—13th March 2013Participant List  
Workshop13th—14th August 2013Participant List  
Workshop10th—11th September 2013Participant List  
Meeting12th—12th September 2013Participant List  
Meeting3rd—4th February 2014Participant List  
Training Workshop2nd—4th September 2014Participant List  

Participant Contact Information

M. Lee Allisonlee.allison@azgs.az.govArizona Geological Survey
Daniel P. Amesdan.ames@byu.eduBrigham Young University
Jayne Belnapjayne_belnap@usgs.govUS Geological Survey (USGS)
Gabriel J. Bowengabe.bowen@utah.eduPurdue University
Bruce Caronbruce@tnms.orgNew Media Studio
Jeannine M. Cavender-Barescavender@umn.eduUniversity of Minnesota, Twin Cities
Scott L. Collinsscollins@sevilleta.unm.eduUniversity of New Mexico
Frank W. Davisfrank.davis@nceas.ucsb.eduUniversity of California, Santa Barbara
John A. Gamongamon@ualberta.caUniversity of Alberta
Nancy B. Grimmnbgrimm@asu.eduArizona State University
Stephanie E. Hamptons.hampton@wsu.eduUniversity of California, Santa Barbara
Matthew B. Jonesjones@nceas.ucsb.eduUniversity of California, Santa Barbara
Chris Mattmannchris.a.mattmann@nasa.govJet Propulsion Laboratory of the National Aeronautics and Space Administration (NASA)
Peter McCartneypmccartn@nsf.govNational Science Foundation
Carol B. Meyercarolbmeyer@esipfed.orgFoundation for Earth Science
William K. Michenerwilliam.michener@gmail.comUniversity of New Mexico
Margaret A. Palmermpalmer@sesync.orgUniversity of Maryland
Claire B. Paris-Limouzycparis@rsmas.miami.eduUniversity of Miami
Malin L. Pinskypinsky@princeton.eduPrinceton University
Andrea Porras-Alfaroa-porras-alfaro@wiu.eduWestern Illinois University
Jim Regetzregetz@nceas.ucsb.eduUniversity of California, Santa Barbara
Mark P. Schildhauerschild@nceas.ucsb.eduUniversity of California, Santa Barbara
Rodrigo Vargasrvargas@udel.eduUniversity of Delaware
John W. Williamsjww@geography.wisc.eduUniversity of Wisconsin, Madison
Elizabeth M. Wolkovichwolkovich@fas.harvard.eduUniversity of British Columbia
Ilkay Altintasaltintas@sdsc.eduUniversity of California, San Diego
Robert Arkoarko@ldeo.columbia.eduColumbia University
Marissa L. Baskettmlbaskett@ucdavis.eduUniversity of California, Davis
Carl Boettigercboettig@gmail.comUniversity of California, Santa Cruz
Annie Bryantannie.bryant@utah.eduUniversity of Utah
Patricia Crusepatricia.cruse@ucop.eduUniversity of California, Office of the President
Gregory Ederergregory.ederer@sigmaspace.comNASA Goddard Institute for Space Studies
Denny Fernandez del Visogamezdenny.fernandez@upr.eduUniversity of Puerto Rico, Humacao
Peter Foxpfox@cs.rpi.eduRensselaer Polytechnic Institute
Yolanda Gilanava@isi.eduUniversity of Southern California
Bryan Heidornpbryan.heidorn@gmail.comUniversity of Arizona
Andrew Hillsandrew@vizzuality.comVizzuality
Erik Jasiakerik.jasiak@nsidc.orgUniversity of Colorado, Boulder
Jessie Kennedyj.kennedy@napier.ac.ukNapier University
Chris Lynneschristopher.s.lynnes@nasa.govNational Aeronautics and Space Administration (NASA)
Suresh Marrusmarru@iu.eduIndiana University
Sylvia J. Murphysylvia.murphy@noaa.govNOAA, Earth System Research Laboratory (ESRL)
Karthik Ramkarthik.ram@gmail.comUniversity of California, Berkeley
Adam Shepherdashepherd@whoi.eduWoods Hole Oceanographic Institution
Curt TilmesCurt.Tilmes@nasa.govNational Aeronautics and Space Administration (NASA)
Ian Trusloveian.truslove@nsidc.orgUniversity of Colorado
Nicholas Webernmweber@illinois.eduUniversity of Illinois, Urbana Champaign
Christine Whitecwhite@esri.comEnvironmental Systems Research Institute (ESRI)
Anne Wilsonanne.wilson@lasp.colorado.eduUniversity of Colorado, Boulder
Dawn WrightDwright@esri.comEnvironmental Systems Research Institute (ESRI)
Betsy Aokibetsya@microsoft.comMicrosoft
Jennifer S. Arrigojarrigo@cuahsi.orgConsortium of Universities for the Advancement of Hydrologic Science, Inc. (CUAHSI)
Karl Benedictkbene@edac.unm.eduUniversity of New Mexico
Amber E. Buddenaebudden@gmail.comUniversity of New Mexico
Dave Coledave@mapbox.comMapBox
Cecelia DeLucacecelia.deluca@noaa.govNOAA, Earth System Research Laboratory (ESRL)
Stephen Diggssdiggs@ucsd.eduUniversity of California, San Diego
Ruth Duerrrduerr@nsidc.orgUniversity of Colorado, Boulder
Jim Frewfrew@bren.ucsb.eduUniversity of California, Santa Barbara
David Fulkerdfulker@opendap.orgOpen-source Project for a Network Data Access Protocol (OPeNDAP)
Nancy Glennnancyglenn@boisestate.eduBoise State University
Louis J. Grossgross@tiem.utk.eduUniversity of Tennessee, Knoxville
Edmund M. Hartedmund.m.hart@gmail.comUniversity of British Columbia
Rebecca R. Hernandezrebeccarhernandez@berkeley.eduStanford University
Elizabeth E. Holmeseli.holmes@noaa.govNOAA, National Marine Fisheries Service (NMFS)
Richard P. Hooperrhooper@cuahsi.orgConsortium of Universities for the Advancement of Hydrologic Science, Inc. (CUAHSI)
Leslie Hsulhsu@ldeo.columbia.eduColumbia University
Lucas Joppalujoppa@microsoft.comMicrosoft Research Ltd.
Sarah W. Kansaskansa@alexandriaarchive.orgAlexandria Archive Institute
Puneet Kishorpunkish@creativecommons.orgCreative Commons
Tamara S. Ledleytamara_ledley@terc.eduTechnical Education Research Centers (TERC)
W. Christopher Lenhardtclenhardt@renci.orgRenaissance Computing Institute (RENCI)
Tess Mayalltess@mayall.comScience Exchange
George Oatesglo@abitofgeorge.comStamen Design
Jonathan Pollakjpollak@cuahsi.orgConsortium of Universities for the Advancement of Hydrologic Science, Inc. (CUAHSI)
Amina PollardPollard.Amina@epamail.epa.govUS Environmental Protection Agency (EPA)
Mohan K. Ramamurthymohan@ucar.eduUniversity Corporation for Atmospheric Research
Jacob Reddingjacobredding@gmail.comDrupal Association
Mark D. Scheuerellmark.scheuerell@noaa.govNOAA, National Marine Fisheries Service (NMFS)
Rachel S. Smithninmah@gmail.comGrove Consultants International
Thornton StaplesStaplesT@si.eduSmithsonian Institution
Carly Strassercarly.strasser@ucop.eduUniversity of California, Office of the President
David Tarbotondavid.tarboton@usu.eduUtah State University
Kaitlin Thaneykaitlin@mozillafoundation.orgMozilla Science Lab
Michael B. Twidaletwidale@illinois.eduUniversity of Illinois
Maria José Viñas Garciamj.vinas@nasa.govNational Aeronautics and Space Administration (NASA)
Leah Wasserlwasser@neoninc.orgNational Ecological Observatory Network, Inc. (NEON)
Brian Weebwee@neoninc.orgNational Ecological Observatory Network, Inc. (NEON)
Parker Abercrombieparker.abercrombie@gmail.comAbercrombie Consulting
Jamie Afflerbachafflerbach@nceas.ucsb.eduUniversity of California, Santa Barbara
Bugra Akyildizbugraa@live.comNew York University
Sean S. Andersonsean.anderson@csuci.eduCalifornia State University Channel Islands
George Azzarigazzari@uci.eduUniversity of California, Irvine
Sarah Bagbybagby@geol.ucsb.eduUniversity of California, Santa Barbara
Leanne Bakerbakerleannef@gmail.comBaylor University
Ryan Bartryanrbart@berkeley.eduUniversity of California, Berkeley
Alexandra Benjaminalexandra.benjamin@gmail.comUniversity of California, Santa Barbara
Benjamin D. Bestbest@nceas.ucsb.eduUniversity of California, Santa Barbara
Maziyar Boustaniboustani@jpl.nasa.govJet Propulsion Laboratory of the National Aeronautics and Space Administration (NASA)
Nick Brandbrand@nceas.ucsb.eduUniversity of California, Santa Barbara
Abigail Cabunocabigail.cabunoc@gmail.comOntario Institute for Cancer Research
Scott A. Chamberlainscott@ropensci.orgUniversity of California, Berkeley
Cynthia Chandlercchandler@whoi.eduWoods Hole Oceanographic Institution
Aashish Chaudharyaashish.chaudhary@kitware.comKitware, Inc.
Ying-Jung Chenhc10024@gmail.comUniversity of California, Santa Barbara
Janet Choatejschoate@gmail.comUniversity of California, Santa Barbara
Laura Christophersonlaura@renci.orgRenaissance Computing Institute (RENCI)
Tyler Clavelletclavelle@bren.ucsb.eduUniversity of California, Santa Barbara
Larry Cooperlarryc@sccwrp.orgSouthern California Coastal Water Research Project
Jorge Cornejo-Donosojcornejo@lifesci.ucsb.eduUniversity of California, Santa Barbara
Jessica Couturecouture@nceas.ucsb.eduUniversity of California, Santa Barbara
Alex Crossabcross@calpoly.eduCalifornia Polytechnic State University, San Luis Obispo
John Czaplewskijczaplewski@wisc.eduUniversity of Wisconsin, Madison
Jeff Dozierdozier@bren.ucsb.eduUniversity of California, Santa Barbara
Stevan Earlstevan.earl@asu.eduLong Term Ecological Research (LTER)/Central Arizona-Phoenix (CAP)
Vyki Englertvyki.englert@gmail.comNationBuilder
Kate Ettingerkme@muralinstitute.comMural Institute
Francesco Ferrettiferretti@stanford.eduStanford University
Alessandro Filazzolaalex.filazzola@hotmail.comYork University
Cameron Graycgray@sustain3.comSustain3
Corinna Griescgries@wisc.eduUniversity of Wisconsin, Madison
William Gunnwilliam.gunn@mendeley.comMendeley
Lauren M. Hallettlauren.hallett@berkeley.eduUniversity of California, Berkeley
Xueying Hanxhan@lifesci.ucsb.eduUniversity of California, Santa Barbara
David J. HarrisDavHarris@ucdavis.eduUniversity of California, Davis
Jefferson Heardjeff@renci.orgUniversity of North Carolina, Chapel Hill
Thomas Hetmankhetmank@nceas.ucsb.eduUniversity of California, Santa Barbara
James Howisonjhowison@ischool.utexas.eduUniversity of Texas, Austin
Margarita Huesca-Martinezmhuescamartinez@ucdavis.eduUniversity of California, Davis
Grant Humphrieshumphries.grant@gmail.comUniversity of California, Davis
Ryan Huntryanhunt@hugllc.comMFMP/Hunt Utilities Group
Ray Idaszakrayi@renci.orgUniversity of North Carolina, Chapel Hill
Aline Jaimesajaimes@udel.eduUniversity of Delaware
Sydney Jonessyd@sevilleta.unm.eduUniversity of New Mexico
Michael Joycemichael.j.joyce@jpl.nasa.govJet Propulsion Laboratory of the National Aeronautics and Space Administration (NASA)
Kotrina Kajokaitekotrina@gmail.comUniversity of California, Los Angeles
Shakeh Khudikyanshakeh.e.khudikyan@jpl.nasa.govJet Propulsion Laboratory of the National Aeronautics and Space Administration (NASA)
Ben Leinfelderleinfelder@nceas.ucsb.eduUniversity of California, Santa Barbara
Jennifer Linjlin@plos.orgPublic Library of Science (PLoS)
Sophia Liusophialiu@usgs.govUS Geological Survey (USGS)
Catherine S. Longolongo@nceas.ucsb.eduUniversity of California, Santa Barbara
Andrew Lyonsajlyons@stanford.eduStanford University
Stephanie Mastephanie.ma@lifesci.ucsb.eduUniversity of California, Santa Barbara
John MacCuishjohn.maccuish@mesaac.comMesa Analytics & Computing, Inc.
Andrew MacDonalda.a.m.macdonald@gmail.comUniversity of British Columbia
William McClintockmcclintock@msi.ucsb.eduUniversity of California, Santa Barbara
Lewis John McGibbneylewis.j.mcgibbney@jpl.nasa.govJet Propulsion Laboratory of the National Aeronautics and Space Administration (NASA)
Vanessa Micheloumichelou@hawaii.eduUniversity of Hawaii, Manoa
Brian Milesbrian_miles@unc.eduUniversity of North Carolina, Chapel Hill
Bill Millsmills.wj@gmail.comIndependent
Joseph Mudgejoe.mudge@ttu.eduTexas Tech University
Brian Muirbmuir001@ucr.eduUniversity of California, Riverside
Camilla Novagliocamilla.novaglio@gmail.comUniversity of Tasmania
Margaret O'Brienmargaret.obrien@ucsb.eduUniversity of California, Santa Barbara
Nidal Odatodatnidal@hotmail.comAl Hussein Bin Talal University
Kristen Peachkristenpeach@lifesci.ucsb.eduUniversity of California, Santa Barbara
Heather Piwowarheather@impactstory.orgImpact Story
Afshin Pourmokhtarianapourmok@bu.eduBoston University
Jason Priemjason@impactstory.orgImpact Story
Tom Quiseltom.quisel@gmail.comData Science Consultant
Paul Ramirezpramirez@jpl.nasa.govJet Propulsion Laboratory of the National Aeronautics and Space Administration (NASA)
Sarah Rataysratay@ucla.eduUniversity of California, Los Angeles
Jordan S. Readjread@usgs.govUS Geological Survey (USGS)
Stacy Rebich Hespanhahespanha@nceas.ucsb.eduUniversity of California, Santa Barbara
Jordan Reesejsreese@cs.unc.eduUniversity of North Carolina, Chapel Hill
David Rheinheimerdrheinheimer@ucmerced.eduUniversity of California, Merced
Stephen Richardsteve.richard@azgs.az.govUS Geoscience Information Network (USGIN)
Julie Ripplingerjulie.ripplinger@asu.eduArizona State University
Erin Robinsonerinrobinson@esipfed.orgFoundation for Earth Science
Keely Rothklroth@geog.ucsb.eduUniversity of California, Davis
Peter Slaughterslaughter@nceas.ucsb.eduUniversity of California, Santa Barbara
Paul Smithpauls@sccwrp.orgSouthern California Coastal Water Research Project
Noah Spahnnoah@gus.ucsb.eduUniversity of California, Santa Barbara
Michael StarchMichael.D.Starch@jpl.nasa.govJet Propulsion Laboratory of the National Aeronautics and Space Administration (NASA)
Michael Stealeystealey@renci.orgUniversity of North Carolina, Chapel Hill
Julia Stewart Lowndesjstewart@nceas.ucsb.eduUniversity of California, Santa Barbara
Nick Stoddartnstoddar@gmail.comKaizen SCN
Cody Szuwalskicszuwalski@bren.ucsb.eduUniversity of California, Santa Barbara
Jing Taotao@nceas.ucsb.eduUniversity of California, Santa Barbara
Andy Terrelaterrel@continuum.ioContinuum Analytics
Shivira Tomarshivira@iersweb.comIndustrial Ecology Research Services (IERS)
Mark Turnermturner1001@gmail.comCalifornia Institute of Technology
Rishi Vermarishi.verma@jpl.nasa.govJet Propulsion Laboratory of the National Aeronautics and Space Administration (NASA)
David A. Vieglaisvieglais@ku.eduUniversity of Kansas
Lauren Walkerwalker@nceas.ucsb.eduUniversity of California, Santa Barbara
Chhaya Wernercwerner@ucdavis.eduUniversity of California, Davis
Mary Whittonwhitton@renci.orgRenaissance Computing Institute (RENCI)
Mark Wilbermark.wilber@lifesci.ucsb.eduUniversity of California, Santa Barbara
Angela Willcocksangela_willcocks@redlands.eduUniversity of Redlands
Gregory Wilsongvwilson@third-bit.comSoftware Carpentry
Luke Winslowlwinslow@usgs.govUS Geological Survey (USGS)
Kara Woowoo.kara@gmail.comUniversity of California, Santa Barbara
Zoe Woodzwood@calpoly.eduCalifornia Polytechnic State University, San Luis Obispo
Kevin Wukevin.wu@gmail.comUniversity of California, Santa Barbara
Hong Yihongyi@renci.orgUniversity of North Carolina, Chapel Hill
Dan Yocumdanyocum@gmail.comUniversity of California, Santa Barbara
Naupaka Zimmermannaupaka@email.arizona.eduUniversity of Arizona

Products: Publications, Reports, Datasets, Presentations, Visualizations

TypeProducts of NCEAS Research
Software Chamberlain, Scott A. 2015. R package pangear. GitHub. (Online version)
Journal Article Hampton, Stephanie E.; Anderson, Sean S.; Bagby, Sarah; Gries, Corinna; Han, Xueying; Hart, Edmund M.; Jones, Matthew B.; Lenhardt, W. Christopher; MacDonald, Andrew; Michener, William K.; Mudge, Joseph; Pourmokhtarian, Afshin; Schildhauer, Mark P.; Woo, Kara; Zimmerman, Naupaka. 2014. The Tao of Open Synthesis for Ecology. PeerJ. Vol: 2. Pages e549v1. (Online version)
Software Hart, Edmund M. 2014. Coverage Extractor. GitHub. (Online version)
Software Jones, Matthew B. 2015. Datapackage. GitHub . (Online version)
Presentations Treglia, Michael; Chang, Tony. 2014. Assesing Ecohydrological Impacts of Forest Disturbance using Open Source . American Geophysical Union; San Fransisco, CA; 15 December 2014. (Abstract)
Software Treglia, Michael. 2014. OSS-2014. GitHub. (Online version)
"Conceptualizing an Institute for Sustainable Earth and Environmental Software (ISEES)" is project ID: 12671