SNAP: Integrating natural defenses into coastal disaster risk reduction

Principal Investigators:

Michael W. Beck, and Jane Carter Ingram

The world’s coastal zones are changing rapidly and their rate of change is predicted to increase from coastal development and climate change; both of which will dramatically increase risks of catastrophic damage to coastal communities. Already, the proportion of the world’s GDP annually exposed to tropical cyclones has increased from 3.6 % in the 1970s to 4.3 % in the first decade of the 2000s (UNISDR 2011). In 2011, insured losses from natural disasters (especially coastal and riverine hazards) reached an all-time high and impacts will continue... more

Participants and Meetings

Working Group Participants
ActivityDatesFurther Information
Working Group28th—30th October 2013Participant List  
Working Group22nd—24th April 2014Participant List  
Working Group21st—23rd October 2014Participant List  
Working Group14th—15th April 2015Participant List  

Participant Contact Information

Michael W. Beckmbeck@tnc.orgThe Nature Conservancy
Jessica Couturecouture@nceas.ucsb.eduUniversity of California, Santa Barbara
LeeAnne Frenchfrench@nceas.ucsb.eduUniversity of California, Santa Barbara
Judy Hanerjhaner@tnc.orgThe Nature Conservancy
Jane Carter Ingramcingram@wcs.orgWildlife Conservation Society
Jim Jarviejjarvie@hq.mercycorps.orgMercy Corps
Stacy D. Jupitersjupiter@wcs.orgWildlife Conservation Society
Jaap C.J. Kwadijkjaap.kwadijk@deltares.nlDeltares
Robert Lalaszrlalasz@tnc.orgThe Nature Conservancy
Glenn-Marie Langeglange1@worldbank.orgWorld Bank
Caleb McClennencmcclennen@wcs.orgWildlife Conservation Society
Imèn Melianeimeliane@tnc.orgThe Nature Conservancy
Siddharth Narayansnarayan@nceas.ucsb.eduUniversity of Southampton
Borja Regueroborja_reguero@tnc.orgThe Nature Conservancy
Fabrice Renaudrenaud@ehs.unu.eduUnited Nations University
Inigo Losada J. Rodriguezinigo.losada@unican.esInstituto de Hidráulica Ambiental de Cantabria
Cristina M. Rumbaitis del RioCRumbaitisdelrio@rockfound.orgRockefeller Foundation
James N. Sanchiricojsanchirico@ucdavis.eduUniversity of California, Davis
Bregje van Wesenbeeckbregje.vanwesenbeeck@deltares.nlDeltares
Montserrat Acosta-Morelmacosta-morel@tnc.orgThe Nature Conservancy
Eron Bloomgardeneron@ekoamp.comEKO Asset Management Partners
David Breschdavid_bresch@swissre.comSwiss Re
Mark A. Brownebrowne@nceas.ucsb.eduUniversity of California, Santa Barbara
Christina ChanChanC1@state.govUS Department of State
Carolina Aguirre Echeverricarolina.aguirre@TNC.ORGTufts University
Guillermo FrancoGuillermo.E.Franco@guycarp.comGuy Carpenter
Nigel PonteeNigel.Pontee@ch2m.comCH2M HILL
Vera N. Agostinivagostini@tnc.orgThe Nature Conservancy
Todd BridgesTodd.S.Bridges@erdc.usace.army.milUS Army Engineer Research and Development Center
Kelly A. Burks-CopesKelly.A.Burks-Copes@usace.army.milUS Army Engineer Research and Development Center
Fernando Secairafsecaira@TNC.ORGThe Nature Conservancy
Ashley Gearyashley.anna.geary@gmail.com
Sarah Murdocksmurdock@tnc.orgThe Nature Conservancy

Products: Publications, Reports, Datasets, Presentations, Visualizations

This working group has no products yet.
"SNAP: Integrating natural defenses into coastal disaster risk reduction" is project ID: 12678