SNAP:Western Amazonia: Balancing Infrastructure Development among Conservation of Waters, Wetlands and Fisheries

Principal Investigators:

Michael Goulding, Craig Groves, and Mariana Varese

The Amazon Basin is the largest river system in the world, and the Western Amazon (including the Andes-Amazon slopes and western Brazil) contains the largest areas of flooded forests, floodplain lakes, and other wetlands in the Basin. These rivers and floodplains are critical to livelihoods, providing, among other things, important sources of high-protein food (fish, caimans and turtles), employment in a major fisheries industry, a vast inland transportation network, and drinking water for rural populations and growing cities. Large-scale infrastructure... more

Participants and Meetings

Working Group Participants
ActivityDatesFurther Information
Working Group24th—26th September 2013Participant List  
Working Group10th—14th February 2014Participant List  
Working Group7th—11th April 2014Participant List  
Working Group26th—26th June 2015Participant List  

Participant Contact Information

Avecita ChicchonAvecita.Chicchon@moore.orgGordon and Betty Moore Foundation
Steve Corneliusscorneli@macfound.orgJohn D. and Catherine T. MacArthur Foundation
Carlos C. Durigancdurigan@wcs.orgFundação Vitória Amazônica (FVA)
Bruce R. Forsbergbrforsberg@gmail.comInstituto Nacional de Pesquisas Amazonas
LeeAnne Frenchfrench@nceas.ucsb.eduUniversity of California, Santa Barbara
Michael Gouldingmgoulding@wcs.orgWildlife Conservation Society
Craig Grovescraig_groves@tnc.orgThe Nature Conservancy
Stephanie E. Hamptons.hampton@wsu.eduUniversity of California, Santa Barbara
Jane Carter Ingramcingram@wcs.orgColumbia University
Julie Kunenjkunen@wcs.orgWildlife Conservation Society
Charo Lanaocharolanao@gmail.comEquality Commission for Northern Ireland
John M. Melackmelack@bren.ucsb.eduUniversity of California, Santa Barbara
Mariana Montoyammontoya@wcs.orgWildlife Conservation Society
Victor Montreuilvictor_montreuil@yahoo.comUniversidad Nacional de la Amazonia Peruana
Paulo Petryppetry@tnc.orgThe Nature Conservancy
Natalia Pilandnpiland@wcs.orgWildlife Conservation Society
Emma Torresemma.torres@undp.orgUnited Nations Development Programme
Mariana Varesemvarese@wcs.orgWildlife Conservation Society
Oriana Trindade de Almeidaoriana@ufpa.brUniversidade Federal do Pará
Roxana Barrantesroxbarrantes@iep.org.peInstituto de Estudios Peruanos
Ronaldo Barthembarthem@superig.com.brMuseu Paraense Emilio Goeldi
Carlos Cañasccanas@wcs.orgWildlife Conservation Society
Leandro Castelloleandro@vt.eduVirginia Polytechnic Institute and State University
Diego Colldcoll@wcs.orgWildlife Conservation Society
Guillermo Estupiñánguillermo.moises@gmail.comWildlife Conservation Society
Edenise Garciaegarcia@TNC.ORGThe Nature Conservancy
Manuel Glavemglave@grade.org.peGroup for the Analysis of Development
Sergio Luiz de Medeiros Riverosergiolmrivero@gmail.comUniversidade Federal do Pará
Armando Mercadoamercado@wcs.orgWildlife Conservation Society
Luis Moyalumoya1@hotmail.comGobierno Regional Loreto
Carlos Reyescdreyesramirez@hotmail.comGobierno Regional Loreto
Mauro Ribeiromaurolambert@gmail.comInstituto Brasileiro de Geografía e Estatística
Juan Carlos Riverosjc.riveros@wwfperu.orgWorld Wildlife Fund
Luis Paz Soldanlpazsoldan@wcs.orgWildlife Conservation Society
Micaela Varesemvaresezimic@wcs.orgWildlife Conservation Society
Eduardo Venticinqueeduardo.venticinque@gmail.comUniversidade Federal do Rio Grande do Norte
Edward Beighleyr.beighley@neu.eduUniversity of California, Santa Barbara
Leila Carvalholeila@eri.ucsb.eduUniversity of California, Santa Barbara
Walter Collischonncollischonn@uol.com.brUniversidade Federal do Rio Grande do Sul
Marcos Costamhcosta@ufv.brFederal University of Viçosa
Charles Jonescjones@eri.ucsb.eduUniversity of California, Santa Barbara
Rodrigo Paivarodrigocdpaiva@gmail.comOhio State University
Frank W. Davisfrank.davis@nceas.ucsb.eduUniversity of California, Santa Barbara
Robert Lalaszrlalasz@tnc.orgThe Nature Conservancy
Jensen Montambaultjmontambault@tnc.orgThe Nature Conservancy
John Robbinsonjrobinson@wcs.orgWildlife Conservation Society
Cristian Sampercsamper@wcs.orgWildlife Conservation Society

Products: Publications, Reports, Datasets, Presentations, Visualizations

This working group has no products yet.
"SNAP:Western Amazonia: Balancing Infrastructure Development among Conservation of Waters, Wetlands and Fisheries" is project ID: 12679