Arctic options: Holistic integration for arctic coastal-marine sustainability

Principal Investigators:

Paul Berkman, Frank W. Davis, Jean Claude Gascard, Christine Provost, and Oran R. Young

Interests are awakening globally to take advantage of extensive energy, shipping, fishing, and tourism opportunities associated with diminishing sea ice in the Arctic Ocean. This 3-year research project will develop and demonstrate an international, interdisciplinary and inclusive process to enhance the practice of governance for sustainability in Arctic coastal-marine systems, balancing: (a) national interests and common interests; (b) environmental protection, social equity and economic prosperity; and (c) needs of present and future generations.... more

Participants and Meetings

Working Group Participants
ActivityDatesFurther Information
Working Group5th—6th December 2013Participant List  
Working Group20th—24th October 2014Participant List  

Participant Contact Information

Jenifer Austin-Foulkesjenifer@google.comGoogle Inc
Paul Berkmanberkman@bren.ucsb.eduUniversity of California, Santa Barbara
Lawson W. Brighamlwb48@aol.comUniversity of Alaska, Fairbanks
Frank W. Davisfrank.davis@nceas.ucsb.eduUniversity of California, Santa Barbara
Hajo Eickenhajo.eicken@gi.alaska.eduUniversity of Alaska, Fairbanks
LeeAnne Frenchfrench@nceas.ucsb.eduUniversity of California, Santa Barbara
Jean Claude Gascardjga@locean-ipsl.upmc.frUniversité Pierre et Marie Curie
Benjamin S. Halpernhalpern@bren.ucsb.eduUniversity of California, Santa Barbara
Karen P. Pletnikoffkarenp@apiai.orgAleutian Pribilof Islands Association (APIA)
Christine Provostcp@locean-ipsl.upmc.frUniversité Pierre et Marie Curie
Nathalie Sennechaelnas@locean-ipsl.upmc.frUniversité Pierre et Marie Curie
Charlotte Vickcharlotte.vick@gmail.comSylvia Earle Alliance (SEA)
David Wrighthdcamera@me.comPlanet Earth Pictures
Oran R. Youngyoung@bren.ucsb.eduUniversity of California, Santa Barbara
Jamie Afflerbachafflerbach@nceas.ucsb.eduUniversity of California, Santa Barbara
Jenifer Austinjaustin@google.comGoogle Ocean Program
Sara Denkasdenka@bren.ucsb.eduUniversity of California, Santa Barbara
Jon L. Fuglestadjon.fuglestad@amap.noArctic Monitoring and Assessment Programme
Art Ivanoffivanoffart49@gmail.comBering Sea Alliance
Brendan Kellybkelly@mbayaq.orgMonterey Bay Aquarium
Igor Krupnikkrupniki@si.eduSmithsonian National Museum of Natural History
Olivia Leeolivia.lee@gi.alaska.eduUniversity of Alaska, Fairbanks
Dino Lorenzinidino@spacequest.comSpaceQuest, Ltd.
Ed Lorenzinied@analyzecorp.comAnalyze Corp.
Russell Luttmanrussell.luttman@crowley.comCrowley Marine Services, Inc.
Denise Michelsdmichels@nomealaska.orgCity of Nome, Alaska
Elena Norkinalennorkina@gmail.comUniversity Moscow State Institute of International Relations
Greg Pavellasgreg.pavellas@crowley.comCrowley Marine Services, Inc.
Julie Raymond-YakoubianJRaymond-Yakoubian@kawerak.orgKawerak, Inc.
Lars-Otto Reiersenlars-otto.reiersen@amap.noArctic Monitoring and Assessment Programme
Martin Robardsmrobards@wcs.orgWildlife Conservation Society
Jimmy Stottsjimmy@iccalaska.orgInuit Circumpolar Council-Alaska
Dennis Thurstondennis.thurston@boemre.govBureau of Ocean Energy Management
Fran Ulmerfran.ulmer@uaa.alaska.eduUniversity of Alaska, Anchorage
Alexander Vylegzhaninsopspravo@mail.ruMGIMO University
Dan Yocumdanyocum@gmail.comUniversity of California, Santa Barbara

Products: Publications, Reports, Datasets, Presentations, Visualizations

This working group has no products yet.
"Arctic options: Holistic integration for arctic coastal-marine sustainability " is project ID: 12682